We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Commandery

The Commandery
Sidbury, Worcester WR1 2HU, England
44-01905 361821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 76 things to do in Worcester
Attraction details
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a must visit for anyone interested in history or not
Right by the canal so lots of other things to walk to & see

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    14
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Empty Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

If you are happy to look around a very historic building that is just about completely empty, you'll enjoy this museum with its long history. Not for me: I hope the problems with damp can be overcome so that the furnishings can be returned safely to provide interest, character and history. Access for wheel chair users is excellent, ramps and two lifts.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A dismal visit to what could be an outstanding museum. I'm not sure of their target audience but a patronising audio guide to a series of mainly empty rooms is hardly inspiring. I was really looking forward to the visit but was seriously underwhelmed. I filled in a comment form, no response.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burhaniye
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A plac to visit whatever your age or interests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Commandery in Worcester is one of the best historical sites in the UK, somewhere where all those who visit or live in the area should go. Not only does it give a unique insight into the English Civil War, but it traces the history of others who lived in the house before and since this momentous event until the 1950s.
It is a beautiful venue, well maintained and staffed by friendly, helpful people. There is something for everyone be they old, young or in the middle! Wonderful on a wet day with so many rooms to explore.
The Commandery is not a museum in the accepted sense . Rooms are scantily furnished, you get much of the information via an audio link but this allows for choice and the opportunity for you to use your intelligence and imagination. So if you want history handed to you without you having to think about it stick to regular museums by if you want a historical experience go to The Commandery.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well gotta say really disappointed I don't mind listening to audio but please let us see some interesting things all rooms are empty and you have to use imagination which is just bearable but hopeless for kids also weird having to choose what era you want to listen to thank god I didn't pay as a Worcester citizen otherwise I think I'd want a refund !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Commandery also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Commandery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commandery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.