We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Detroits

Detroits
Castle Street, Worcester, England
01905 619047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #182 of 252 Restaurants in Worcester
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Full American dining experience... Book you table or party with us now!
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I went to Detroits with my partner for a meal (we are both early 20s) and we were faced with terrible service. We were seated at a half cleaned table, our wine glasses were taken away as the man who seated us stated 'we wouldn't be needing them' and we were treated like children. Our evening was uncomfortable as we were constantly being watched by the front of house staff and we were seated in the centre of the room on the most awkward table to eat at. Our steaks were overcooked which is not something we would expect for the price. It's a nice atmosphere but we have been put off by the unfriendly staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    101
    84
    88
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A terrible shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went on Sunday 17th March. The waitresses were lovely but the food was terrible.
the manager/owner needs to take notice, the restaurant was almost empty, I wonder why?
the food was hot but not good quality.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very poor service provided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

we booked a table for 5 on the 15 march for 5 people. It was our sons birthday and we were looking forward to a good evening, when we booked and said it was for a birthday nothing was mentioned about there offers they have, we ordered our food and they managed to get that wrong. Once the food finally arrived the steaks werent cooked as we asked so in the end we just ate them as we couldnt wait any longer, and then i had to go through the bill with the staff as we were being charged for stuff we never had ?. service was very slow and the staff didnt seem to know what was going on.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked a table for my sons 16th and step dads birthday.The food was OK but the service is terrible,staff never came near had to keep going over to them to get drinks order.Really slow service and staff not very chatty at all,was not busy at all when we were there so no excuse.There was 12 of us so wanted to order food on different tabs to make paying easy told cant do that we will have to sort it out our self.small thing but with there prices would have been a lot easyer.They offer a cake with all bookings and we took our own as well,one for each of them.we asked if they could bring out both cakes.But they made a complete mess of it and only done one.We won't be going back.SAD the owners don't look on here and read the reviews.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had read some very poor reviews, so when another family member suggested going here I was a bit apprehensive, I needn't have been - it was very good.
Decor is in style of American diner, Happy Days on the big screen, 50's/60's music playing. Plenty of choice on the menu, waiting staff attentive & polite, food was excellent.
For four adults, a huge starter for 4 people to share, then 4 main meals (including a steak which was really good) 3 deserts and two bottles of wine, a milkshake, and a couple of soft drinks all for £106. Would definately go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detroits also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Detroits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.