We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YE Olde Talbot warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Save Saved
You added Ye Olde Talbot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde Talbot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Worcester
South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YE Olde Talbot warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Booked a weekend at the Talbot as our annual childfree getaway. were warned about lack of parking so used Worcester Cricket Ground car park which cost £8 for 48 hours and was just a short walk away.
Arrived two hours before check-in and were able to leave luggage in our room which left us free to wander. Cannot speak highly enough of the hotel staff who were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, particularly the waitress in the restaurant where we had a great meal both evenings from their two for £10 menu.
The room we had was small but nicely decorated, warm and cosy with a fabulously comfy bed. The bathroom was a little shabby and could have done with regrouting, but the shower was excellent.
The hotel bar was lively with a great atmosphere and good beer.
Worcester itself was a bit of a revelation-lots of unusual shops alongside the usual high street stores and dozens of bars and clubs in the evening. We had a briliant night at The Bossa Nova Club a few hundred yards down the road, which has live bands on a Friday night.
Breakfast was very good although much busier on the Sunday than the Saturday which did affect the service.
All in all a great little hotel in a prime location, worth a visit.

  • Liked — The bed, lively bar,location and helpful staff!
  • Disliked — Lack of parking.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    124
    66
    26
    14
See reviews for
21
118
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

well, i would first like to say thank you to all of the staff what an amazing stay!!!
the hotel is in the right place for everything!! its a bit noisey but the staff made up for the stupid o clock wake up call from the bin men.
my room was clean and tidy hotel could do with a lick of paint aswell but the atmosphere was amazing the staff were incredible was well worth the money!
stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and on both days the staff were friendly and the food was amazing.
if your looking for a place that sells fantastic ale and cheap meals this is the place to go the 2 meals for 9.94(not 9.95) was well worth the money great portions and it was cooked perfectly.
would recommend the breakfast the waitress was really pleasent and very helpful although it seemed she never had any time off!
worcester has a great atmospher especially with the xmas fair as it seems to make it feels like christmas!!
thank you again to all the talbot staff for a really amazing stay would recommend this hotel and will be staying again

  • Liked — the staff and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — the noisey bin men
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

We stayed in this hotel at the last minute.After reading several reviews we didn't expect much.Afer checking in we walked down a grotty corridor fearing the worst but to be fair the room was great with an excellent shower and fully functioning tv.The pub that's part of the hotel was a really pleasant surprise,lovely atmosphere.The hotel was in a good location and the room was quiet at night despite reading reviews of it being very noisy.
We didn't sample the included breakfast as we were too tired but there was nobody trying to kick you out at 10.30am either.
Pleasant,friendly staff,would definately stay here again.
Was quoted £80 on the phone but charged £70 when we arrived and the blackboard outside said £55 I think!
Overall a good hotel and excellent bar.Parking is in the multistorey next door,£9.40 for 24 hours which isn't bad at all,safe car park with security too.

  • Liked — Bed,shower,tv,location,bar next door,great towels,very clean,friendly staff,nice decor.
  • Disliked — Corridor to rooms needs sprucing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

We booked this because we wanted a weekend near the Malvern Hills but in a city, and also because there was an offer through Old English Inns. Having read the poor reviews I was a bit apprehensive, but when we arrived we found our room to be fine, clean with a great shower. It was also in a good location, right opposite the cathedral and close to all the shops, restaurants etc. Breakfast was really good (and I'm fussy!) with a good choice. The radiator in our room didn't work; they suggested a change of room but we had already unpacked so didn't bother, but asked for a reduction. We were pleased on checking out that they had deducted £30, which was great customer service. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. I don't think we'd go to Worcester again, but Ye Olde Talbot was a great place and v good value. But noisy, but we were warned on the confirmation email, and it is a city centre location, so take ear plugs!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

I booked to stay for 1 night at Ye Olde Talbot and then went onto trip advisor .after reading the reviews i was in 2 minds whether to cancel my reservation but I did stay and i'm glad i did. The room was a big double room and the power shower was brilliant definately woke me up in the morning!

I ate in the bistro and was surprised at how busy the bar and bistro were it is obviously a popular choice I had one of the stone baked pizzas which was amazing

GOOD POINTS- All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, big room, great shower

BAD POINTS- The room was a bit noisy but then again it is city centre

Overall I had a good stay and am glad I didn't cancel the room.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — a bit noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

If you can stomach the instant coffee deceitfully served in cafetieres, then you'll find the breakfast is the best part of the experience here.

The hotel room was clean, but the rest of the hotel was grubby and poorly decorated with a horrible musty smell throughout.

Most of the staff were appallingly rude and unhelpful. Without even a "thank you," or "hope you enjoyed your stay" on the way out: evidently they hadn't expected us to. The three overweight girls at the desk continued their conversation with little time for us.

  • Liked — location (and that was by a noisy dual carriageway)
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We arrived in Worcester just after lunch and was intending on going the races in the evening so we were looking for 1 nights stay. Unfortuantely for us Ye Olde Talbot was the only hotel left in Worcester with availabiltiy (Very surprised how busy Worcester is). We telephoned first about the reservation and was informed the rate was £90 per night ( more than we wanted to pay but seen as it was the only room left we were willing to pay it). On arriving I was shocked how dirty the communal areas were not just walls that needed repainting but also wood work that obviously hadnt seen water for a while. Our room was a decent size but again dirty the net curtains were black the bathroom was dirty and although I realise the building is old there were large cracks in the walls and vanity units. The toilet moved when you sat on it and it did not flush properly. Overall I felt we had been charged a lot for the accommodation. On the evening we drank in the pub which was a nice atmosphere. Advertised in the pub on black board was the room rates Singles £55 and doubles £70, when I asked the following morning why we were not charged the amount advertised I was informed we had had the last room and they pretty much charge what they want when they know other hotels are full !! Disgraceful way to treat customers. I would not return and would definately not recommend this hotel simply because othe the attitude to their customers!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The mangement attitude to its customers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Talbot 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Talbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.