We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hoel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Talbot to your Saves list
Ye Olde Talbot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Rhyl
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Hoel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Knowing the pub from when we lived in Worcester, we knew the staff and food in the hotel were good, and staying overnight, confirmed our thoughts, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food at breakfast was good, with a nice choice, and the service at breakfast was also very good.
There are areas of the hotel that are tired, but this added to the quirkiness and charm of the hotel, much more interesting than the antiseptic budget chains. The room was clean with a very comfortable bed, which gave us a great nights sleep.
Definitely would return, and can highly recommend this hotel, the only shame it is fully booked for the Worcester Christmas Fair.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank-you for your comments I will pass them onto all the team who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    141
    72
    29
    15
See reviews for
26
133
26
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just stayed two nights at the hotel. Overall comfortable and nice place though a little tired here and there. Great staff all very friendly and welcoming and helpful. They make the place! Breakfast was a bit slow and chaotic one morning but they got there. Really convenient for the town so would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to leavbe your comments we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Ye olde talbot for our anniversary,we have stayed in a number of hotels in this chain ,as always the food was good, the staff were very busy at breakfast which resulted in us waiting for tables to be cleared & buffet to be replenished only one waitress on one morning, our room was very warm (6) a connecting door to next room was blocked by a wardrobe which was at the bottom of the bed with not much room,the tv was on the wall to the right of the bed, so had to sit on edge of bed to watch it or have a crick in the neck, the towel rail in bathroom was broken, i caught my arm on the bracket a couple of times , shower was fab really powerful our stay in worcester was very pleasant, but hotel rooms needs a bit of TLC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review we are glad that you enjoyed the food. We were sorry to hear that you were not as pleased with the room, thank-you for bringing thhe broken towel rail to my attention this has now been fixed. Sadly due to where the aerial point is we are unable to move the tv to a better position, We hope that you will stay with us again in a different room that is more suitable for your needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset uk
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was convenient for us. The service was good... MUCH better than our last stay, last weekend, at another hotel in the same 'chain'. The receptionist on arrival was efficient and polite. She also doubled as the waitress at table next morning and was equally efficient and polite. I didn't 'get' her name but she should get some accolade!
Some of the décor was a bit dated and shabby but it was a very good value for money stay.

Room Tip: Our room was noisy in the morning but the hotel is in the centre of town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank-you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good location, no parking though! But parked for free overnight on town roads, staff were very professional and nice, room was clean etc and yeh we would be staying here again, beds comfy too and breakfast was cooked to a high standard will be staying here next time as long as we find a good deal again hopefully, this was booked with one days notice!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Ye Olde Talbot hotel
I will pass your feedback onto the staff.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Staff is wonderfull, location is almost perfect. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, bathroom is nice as well. The breakfast is superb! Had a nice wine and cheese plate in the pub: loved it!

When you sleep at the front of the hotel, you have a lot of noise 'till late in the evening from pub guests. When you sleep at the back, there's a night club or so, and street races 'till late at night and...you get woken up by a garbage truck emptying the glass container at 5.30 am! From 6 'o clock on, there's delivery trucks and vans coming and going...

That said, on my next visit, I'm definitely staying here again. I'll just bring earplugs :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Ye olde talbot hotel
We sadly are not able to control the noise we have around us but when you come to stay next time we can try put you in a quieter room.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the ye olde Talbot on the Friday the 16th of august and thought it was amazing we checked in and the member of staff on reception was very friendly and helpful. We also had a table booked in the restraurant and when we got there we were greeted in a polite and friendly manner, the staff on the restaurant were delightful they were friendly kind and very helpful I think there names was Emily and Aaron they work really well together and have a good working relationship and have great customer service skills. Me and my husband were thrilled on how good they handled things even though they were a little busy I recommend coming back again because these two members of staff made our night especially it was our anniversary thank you to all the staff at the ye olde Talbot

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Ye Olde Talbot hotel
I will pass your comments onto emily and aaron as they will be pleased to know you had a great time thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Talbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.