We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic olde world pub and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Talbot

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde Talbot to your Saves list
Ye Olde Talbot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Worcester
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic olde world pub and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

What a find! Please ignore all the negative comments there are more positives than minuses. Staff extremely pleasant and hardworking. We were in the new part of the hotel and the rooms were beautiful, bed and linen spotless, towels fab and the power showers excellent with plenty of hot water. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice of everything. We had 2 meals for £10.45 in the evening and was exceptional value for money. The hotel was on the edge of town 2 min walk plus the cathedral was opposite. PARKING was 2 mins opposite and cost £6 a day and has cctv. Will definately be comin back when the next race meeting is on. Well done Joe and Staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel i think they are bigger and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    157
    76
    32
    16
See reviews for
32
147
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

The staff were pleasant, but the main entrance was filthy with fag ends and requires running the gauntlet of people smoking outside the bar - not good for someone with asthma problems like me. This area was not cleaned overnight either - really, this isn't on. And no, it wasn't possible to avoid it, because this is the way into the restaurant. The room we were allocated was right over this entrance, again a problem for us asthma sufferers when windows have to be open because it's sunny & hot. We were moved efficiently and pleasant, although the bathroom of the room we were moved to was fairly grim & needs gutting. No, I wouldn't stay again, nor recommend the place to anyone, until the smoking problem is sorted out. Is this a hotel or a bar with smokers & fag-ends outside? Please make up your mind!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at Ye Olde Talbot. I am glad you have taken the time to highlight a few issues with our smoking solution. Due to our location and the lay-out of the Hotel there is only one area in which customers may smoke. All guests are invited to smoke in the courtyard area as to not be stood outside the main entrance on the main road. Currently this area is swept every morning by the breakfast staff. Taking your comments into consideration there may be an opportunity for this to be completed first thing, as to eliminate any morning guests seeing the mess that our evening customers sometimes leave. It's nice to hear that the staff handled your requests efficiently during your stay. There is a route from the bedrooms that brings you directly into the restaurant that avoids the courtyard area altogether, which could have been explained to you at the time. We welcome all comments, as it only through constructive comments that we can improve our service going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I stayed here on for 3 nights on Business. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The highlight was the breakfast. This was not the usual mass produced breakfast fare, but actually had flavour. Yes, I know it'll have been purchased in bulk, but to have a breakfast sausage that had taste and wasn't grey inside was a treat!

The pub food was as expected and on the better side of things for chain pub food. However, another positive was that there was no tray charge for room service. I had quite a bit of work to do, so was able to eat in my room with paying a premium.

Wifi was free in the room and very reliable. The Laptop got in very easily. My iPhone was a bit more of a challenge, but more to do with Apple than the WiFi.

I have stayed in bigger, much more expensive chains that could learn from the Green King Chain.

The down sides? Well the decor is a little jaded, to be honest, and there is no on site carpark. There is plenty of parking with a 5 minute walk though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye old Talbot or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

when we came last year for our annual cricket tour it was the first time we had stopped in worcester ,usually stop in a small village nearby. But we had a brilliant weekend and the staff could not do enough for us (and there was about 30 of us ) we will be back in july 2011 and we cant wait to come back ,just make sure you dont run out of the greene king ipa chilled
thanks mark nlackpool evh cricket team

Room Tip: did not notice the noise as we were last in bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye Olde Talbot Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

what a find,i was working in worcester and booked into a b&b, i wont mention the name,lets just say i walked in and back out .I remembered seeing the ye olde talbot with a bit of luck they had 1 room left,i could'nt fault the staff the room the food my only fault was that i was'nt staying longer ,i aim to return but this time for pleasure

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye Olde Talbot or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night upon a second visit to Worcester. The building itself dates from the 13th century, and both the interior and exterior is very in-keep with the age of the building.
We stayed in a standard room, and even though quite a basic set-up, completely accomodated for our needs. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. We also paid for breakfast, which had as much as what you'd expect. Hot food was made to order, with also a buffet of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and drinks. It was worth paying the little extra so you could fill up for the day.
The Talbot does back onto a busy street in Worcester for resteraunts and pubs/bars. This is convenient if you're looking for something to do in the evening, but can be a little noisy at night. The windows didn't block out much of the morning traffic, but it would not put me off from staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye Olde Talbot or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Well appointed clean bedroom. Good food in the restaurant, and a great breakfast.
Expensive overnight parking
Avoid rooms on the street unless you have a very early start

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from early street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Ye Olde Talbot, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ye Olde Talbot Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Talbot

Address: Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ye Olde Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Talbot Worcester
Ye Olde Talbot Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Talbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.