We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory bowls tour hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fownes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fownes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fownes Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   City Walls Road, Worcester WR1 2AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Worcester
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Satisfactory bowls tour hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On the positive side the meals were good (breakfast & dinner) in terms of choice,quality & qanitity. Our final formal (ish) dinner was nicely set out and we had the restaurent for our exclusive use ( not always available to touring parties).
The one problem was the buffet breakfast, when the hotel had another bus tour in, the very young and inexprienced staff could'nt cope. The coffee machine broke down and they ran out of a number of items (ie fruit,orange juice,butter,jam,hot breakfast items). Also the buffet had no service, one had to get drinks,juice,toast as well as the fry-up. The main problem was the young staff, who tried to be helpful, but lacked proper supervision. Only one 'mature' person (the Manager?) seemed to have any idea of organisation. Also some clients may not like selecting their dinner the day before!

The hotel was situated in the city centre, handy for the cathedral, two museums and the shops.
I occupied a double room on the ground floor (as a single disabled person, but had to clamber into the shower in the bath with no handles, a definite H&S risk, despite being advised that the room was one for the disabled!) The room itself was quite large & comfortable, although the repro. funiture had seen better days.

The sad thing is that if staff training was improved, partlcularly for the young supervisors, the hotel could be great.

Room Tip: The disabled should check-out the facilities before registering
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    95
    82
    55
    67
See reviews for
19
125
18
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, GTr Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Fownes overnight for a trip to worcester to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is a great central location. Staff nice. Rooms a little shabby but clean. Perhaps in need of a little decorating or lick of paint and furniture updating. Comfy mattresses. Breakfast delicious and piping hot.

Room Tip: We chose a room over the car park at back of hotel which was very quiet (apart from lots of seagulls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

3 night stay.location good,room good.staff exc, food exc,value for money exc. plus a good size car park.our stay faultless.This was a gem of a find for us. Not all like this.so central too.i needed a sat nav not knowing the area.

Room Tip: Canal side best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five days whilst on a bowls tour of forty+ members. Check in was very organised and in no time we were in our very spacious, well furnished room on the first floor. Everything was very clean and continued to be very well serviced thoughout our stay. Breakfast had everything you could ask for juices, fruit, cereals, hot servery with plenty of choice quickly replenished. We never had lunch the whole stay! Dinner was equally very good with plenty of choices for three courses with serve yourself coffee in the lounge afterwards. We both enjoyed every meal.
The location was very convenient for shops, the cathedral, the river and canals so plenty to do. The only criticism we could make is only 5 hangars in a twin room! and £5 per day for WiFi, ridiculous

Room Tip: For a twin room 201 is spacious and quiet but does not have the best view. One window faces a wall b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has deteriorated over the last few years. It was drab, needed some upkeep and refurbishment and the room I was in smelt. It was unpleasant - and even the open windows did nothing to help.
Check out took too long - and was not really friendly - and I was late leaving for an appointment.

I did not have breakfast - but wasn't really impressed the last time I stayed at this hotel - so wasn't worried about not being able to get anything before 7am. I have stayed at other hotels that would provide a light cold breakfast before 7am though.

I won't be returning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in May '13 at the Fownes Hotel as a GroupOn deal, which I have to say I am glad we didn't pay full price, although they insist on charging car parking fees, even though they have an adequate car park, so just another way to make money. The room was OK, could do with a bit of TLC, but comfortable enough. Our problem was with the Reception staff. They hide in a room behind reception and make you feel they are doing you a favour when they actually come to the reception desk. We had a problem with our safe, which clearly had the wrong instructions on it. However, even after the House Keeper reported this to Reception (having tried to work it out herself), they were not interested. Breakfast is run of the mill, help yourself from luke warm food. On a positive note, the location of the hotel is perfect, right in the City Centre and we had a nice weekend walking around Worcester. If visiting Worcester again, we would look for an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a lovely hotel situated on an old glove factory. Easy walking distance from city center, the breakfast was delicious, and the rooms where nice. It was a bit hot though, had to leave the window open all night but I think you get that in hotels sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fownes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fownes Hotel

Address: City Walls Road, Worcester WR1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fownes Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Fownes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fownes Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fownes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.