We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oast House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidelow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidelow House
Save
You added Hidelow House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Acton Green | Acton Beauchamp, Worcester WR6 5AH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Oast House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I stayed here the first week in August. The Oast House is an upside down cottage. The bedrooms and shower room are on the ground floor and the kitchen diner and lounge is on the first floor. The views are fabulous. We took our dog Maggie with us and she enjoyed running in the field with Poppy and Ebony the collies.
We found the owners to be very accommodating and helpful. We did some of the walks suggested and found a few lovely pubs. We especially enjoyed "The live and let live".
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just had fortnight's holiday at Hidelow Lodge and cannot recommend it highly enough.
We have often sought "disabled friendly" properties as one of our party is a wheelchair user and have so often been disappointed. Hidelow Lodge on the other hand lived up to its billing and was ideal, spacious and well equipped for a disabled person.
Good ramped level access to the property and to the large rear patio.
Walk-in shower was very good with well placed grab rails etc. There were a number of disabled aids available at no additional cost e.g. Shower chair, bed leaver, raised toilet seat. A riser/recliner chair was also provided at a reasonable extra cost which was much used and appreciated.
Rooms were spacious and well furnished and the whole place was spotlessly clean.
The owners were friendly, helpful and efficient without being intrusive.
Small shop on site with wine, ciders, beers and various food items was a bonus as were the free laundry facilities.
Lovely views from the patio and extensive garden/ paddock which guests could use.
Two friendly dogs and a cat only added to the experience. Just beware that Ebony will play fetch all day!
Wifi much appreciated as though we are city folk and came for a rest in the country it was useful to be able to check the weather and details of local attractions.
Had a lovely holiday in a very attractive part of England and will definitely look to return to this superior accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked 4 nights B&B with our 9 month old daughter. We chose the Hidelow due to the very good reviews and star rating. We had very high expectations given all the wonderful comments and feedback.
On arrival We did not receive a warm welcome and the owner looked at us as if we had come to the wrong place. This was shortly followed by an explanation that he was having difficulties in locating a cot for my daughter. Luckily we had brought our own travel cot, otherwise I am not sure what she would have been sleeping in. I wouldn't have minded but they said they had a cot available. On entering the main house the lady of the house immediately stated she was on her way out and could only spare 5 minutes to show us around.
On the second night we were all woken up at 3am by the sound of barking dogs and someone loading a car and walking on the cobbles. My daughter was also woken and became very unsettled.
We asked for some recommendations for good places to eat nearby to which we were met with a blank stare and the only place mentioned was the The Nag's Head, which was said to be inappropriate for a baby. They did have brochures available but - it appeared - no knowledge of local eateries.
Breakfast was of a high quality and very tasty. However there was no variety in the menu with only a full English being offered, no porridge, pancakes etc. As my daughter is only 9 months old we fed her baby porridge and milk but at no time did the owner ask if we needed any extra, we bought our own bananas so she would have something at the table.
On departure we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if everything was ok. What is more when we made the booking the price quoted was £38.50 per person per night and when we went to pay we were told it had increased to £39.50. We did change our original dates but at no time were we told that there was a change in price. We were simply told it has gone up recently and it is on the website.
The room itself was fine but the bathroom needed a overhaul. The shower was a trickle, there was no bathmat and only one bottle of water between the two of us.
All in all, we were pretty disappointed in our stay here and in particular with the demeanour of the owner, who it felt like had taken some kind of dislike to us. Certainly we have stayed in other places where people couldn't do enough for guests - that wasn't the case at Hidelow. Perhaps the self-catering cottages offer a better experience but we certainly wouldn't go here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulineDiplock2012, Owner at Hidelow House, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are also disappointed: when people forget the good things, allow their judgment of the whole experience to be clouded by an awkward one-off initial intrusion of (personal) events and overlook that we are human too! Disappointed that they don’t seem to have looked in any of our literature – neither the guest folder in their room containing a breakfast menu for which we have won the coveted Enjoy England Breakfast Award, nor in the comprehensive folder in the dining room entitled “Where to Eat around Here”. Their daughter was delightful and I enjoyed playing with her at breakfast time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My daughter, who is a wheelchair user and I have stayed in Katherine's Cottage several times during the last few years. This is a wonderfully quiet location and is comfortably furnished with a large wet room. Thought has gone into accessibility. The views are clear across the fields to the Malvern hills. Numerous birds visit the bird table which can be viewed through the patio doors. We always feel fully relaxed and refreshed after a stay, and would highly recommend Hidelow Cottages for a self-catering holiday.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from staying at Hopbine fantastic location and views.
Great 2 acre paddock to run dogs in we enjoyed the company of the resident Border Collies.
The cottage was lovely only downside not much natural light and needed to keep a light on most of the time. otherwise every thing was fab would recommend to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in the Hop Pocket, which is an upside down cottage with the bathroom and bedroom downstairs and the open plan lounge / kitchen upstairs. This allowed us to make the most of the great country-side views across to the Malverns. It had everything we needed, and we arrived to be greeted with a delicious bottle of local Apple Juice in the fridge, and some cakes.

The owners were really friendly, and welcoming, as were their lovely two dogs and cat who always came to say hello!

The on site shop had some of the basics that we needed, and there was a supply of maps etc. that could be borrow if you wanted to go out for a day exploring.

The location was great - it was really quiet, but close enough to places we wanted to visit - we went to the Malverns, Worcester, Hereford and some local national trust properties - and none of these places were more than 45 minutes away.

If we are in the area again in the future, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A most comfortable stay at Hidelow- lots of nice touches such as a quality hot drinks tray in the room, fresh milk in a flask and a lovely breakfast all in a beautiful and quiet location. Thank you for a great weekend- I'm sure that we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidelow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidelow House

Address: Acton Green | Acton Beauchamp, Worcester WR6 5AH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Worcester
Hotel Class:4 star — Hidelow House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIDELOW HOUSE COTTAGES, just 2hrs from London and Manchester in beautiful undulating Malvern Hills countryside offers an opportunity to relax, unwind, or meet up with family and friends and celebrate.May we suggest......For couples......log-fires, 4-poster bed, a spa-bath or hot tub?For groups......pampering, wine tasting, a gourmet dinner party, then a dip in the hot tub?For everyone......Riding, golf, fishing, the races, quad-biking, laser clay shooting, canoeing, belly dancing lessons, theatre, a breakfast hamper of local goodies, your own chef, Pauline’s delicious freezer meals, buffets delivered to your door.We have free WiFi, widescreen digital TV’s, hot tubs, log-fires, BBQ’s, free laundry, shop, bike store, children’s play area and wonderful views.…our lovely landscaped gardens are available to all.Pauline and Stuart are always around to help.There is plenty to enjoy locally: cheese-making, wine, beer and cider-making; the historic Black and White Village trail, Eastnor Castle, Elgar’s Birthplace, Morgan Cars, West Midlands Safari Park, Severn Valley Steam Railway; Cotswolds, Warwick Castle, Shakespeare Country, Cadbury World, Ironbridge Museum.If you are Disabled or a carer, we have 16 years experience providing award-winning specialist disabled facilities and personal care. Please contact us to discuss your particular needs.THE FARMHOUSE Sleeps 12/Dines 20. Wheelchair Accessible; Private Hot Tub. Perfect for large groups.6 en-suite bedrooms: 2 king-size 4-posters, 2 ground floor twins with wet-rooms and 2 twin/super kings. Lounge and dining room each seating 20 guests.THE CIDER HOUSE Sleeps/Dines 10. Private Hot Tub…. Ideal for large groups.5 en suite bedrooms: 2 king-size, 2 twins and 1 ground floor twin/super king.HIDELOW LODGE Sleeps 5/Dines 6. Spacious wheelchair-accessible single storey cottage.2 spacious bedrooms; family and twin; bathroom and wet-room.THE OAST HOUSE Sleeps/Dines 4. Tall ‘Upside-down’ former stone hop kilns.Vaulted lounge, 2 bedrooms: double 4-poster and twin.KATHERINE'S COTTAGE Sleeps 2/Dines 4. Spacious wheelchair-accessible single storey cottage. Super-king/twin bedroom and wet-room.THE HOP POCKET Sleeps 2/Dines 4. ‘Upside-down’ Honeymoon cottage with double spa bath. Spacious, vaulted beamed cottage with king-sized carved mahogany 4-poster bed.HOPBINESleeps 2/Dines 4. Hideaway apartment with private circular Hot Tub. Split-level, open-plan with 4-poster bed and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidelow House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.