We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henwick House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Henwick House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Henwick House Bed & Breakfast
Jennett Tree Lane | Callow End, Worcester WR2 4UB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Worcester B&B and Inns
Birmingham
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Great little B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in one of the "log cabins" and this was beautifully appointed and very comfortable with every facility you could ask for in a B&B (take you own shampoo and shower gel). The bed was I thought particularly good. Very modern and clean and far better than many hotels that you would pay a lot more for.

The breakfast was first rate too. A good choice of cereals and a super "full English" with everything you would want to set you up for the day. Great service from the proprietors, friendly and efficient.

It's adown a country lane so you will need a good map but your satnav will get you there easily.

All in all I would heartily recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the Malvern area for whatever reason.

Room Tip: Only experienced the "log cabins" but they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
31
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
twickenham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This beautifully set B+B with views both to the Malvern Hills and the city of Worcester offers qulaity comparable with that of many 'luxury' hotels that cost three times the price. The log cabins - properly named lodges - are intriguingly different but also very comfortable and well appointed, and warm even one one of the coldest nights of the year so far.
The breakfast is excellent, the hosts will suply one with recommendations for places to have dinner (and anything else one wishes to know about the area) - and I find the description of their characteristics in a couple of reviews here well nigh unbelievable.
Overall henwick House is an individual one-off, but in very positive ways, and I would certainly be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beds- very clean, fresh, comfortable for a good nights sleep.
Breakfast- nicely presented and good ingredients
Henwick House thus does well on our key criteria for a good B&B.

We were in one of 4 "log cabin" rooms outside the main house- not what we expected, but actually fine as rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. En-suite slighly on the small side.
Rooms equipped with fridge and microwave- as an extra welcoming touch, we would have liked to have had a small jug of fresh milk provided as standard, ratter than UHT.
To be even pickier, would have preferred the knotty pine walls and ceiling to be "knocked back" by over-painting.
Hosts were welcoming and looked after a good number of guests simultaneously. Deserves your business, as a good B&B. Would stay again if in area overnight.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of Malvern Hills, ask to be in main house, rather than a log cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I have stayed here often midweek as I travel to the area for work. All the rooms I have stayed in have been very comfortable wih excellent cleanliness. The breakfast is first class and sets me up for the whole day, and I find the oweners very friendly.

As a city resident I particularly like that this is located in a village in the country which has a couple of nice pubs to walk to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I booked this B&B via Laterooms in May 2011 for a stay in late July. Within 48 hours of booking, I received an email from Laterooms stating (politely) that the B&B was full, despite it showing availability when I booked. This was a shame and actually cost me £30 because I then had to book into a more expensive hotel for the same weekend. But that's no big drama.

In the week following my stay in Ludlow, I received a call from the owner (John) of Henwick House stating that I had not arrived for my stay and they would be charging me the full amount. I was initially surprised and stated that I had received the email from Laterooms. John denied that they were full and asked me for a copy and - as what now turns out to be a huge error! - on searching my email folders, I realised I had deleted it. We tried to retrieve it via our IT company at work but it was too long ago and a chat with Laterooms revealed they don't keep copies either.

We called the owner back and agreed a compromise and said we would pay 65% of the bill - he claimed to have lost out, and so had we, but this seemed a fair resolution...if somewhat skewed in their favour. I gave my card details for payment. A few days later, John called to state that my card was "not a swipe card"...even though it is and I'd just used it to book Eurostar tickets and a lovely, top-quality hotel in Bruges (Grand Hotel Casselbergh if you're interested - I'll be doing a great review on that in coming days!!). I explained that I would try and make a direct payment from my bank if I got a chance before leaving. It happens that I didn't but just TWO DAYS later, a debt collector turned up at my home whilst I was away demanding full payment!

In any kind of scenario, I strongly feel that 2 days is insufficient time to have a debt collector arrive at your home. Moreso when we had been co-operative and openly communicative even though we felt slightly wronged.

This review is primarily to ensure that people are aware of this in case they too are told the B&B is full or decide themselves to cancel. Please beware of the completely over-the-top actions of the owner, who aggressively told my wife he has a background in the debt-collection/judiciary industry and obviously isn't afraid to take advantage of it!

I obviously cannot comment on the accommodation other than to back up the review of Moomey about the actual personalities running this business.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestBandBWorcester, Owner at Henwick House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Birchover did not receive any cancellation notice from either Laterooms or Henwick House.
Birchover booked his accommodation, did not turn up and clearly did not wish to pay for it.
Birchover supplied debit/credit card details on 2 occasions neither of which would authorise for payment.
Birchover were supplied our bank details and still did not pay for the room.
My son called at the address supplied by Birchover at the time of booking when on business in Derby and they subsequently, reluctantly paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dizzydaysout
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

2 colleagues and I needed a place to stay near Worcester, and with the nearby chain hotels full dribbled on this.

In stark contrast to the 1 bad experience a customer had on arrival I had a very warm and helpful welcome at 8.30 pm.

Rooms were small but v clean and had everything you need (except shower gel & shampoo....?!)

The real star turn was the breakfast in the conservatory, very generous and worth taking your time over, followed by extra tea and coffee served up for us on the terrace with a view that was just so beautiful I'll be sending them the panaromic I took!

For a 1 night stay and pre-business meeting prep this was a real surprise, so glad the premier inn was full...

And if anything I'd say they could charge more!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Don't be put off by the exterior of the rooms (they all look like a cross between a sauna and a Centre Parcs chalet). Inside everything is clean, practical and welcoming. Good breakfast in the main house. Good pub walking distance but take a torch for nighttime visits. Only negative I can think of is difficult to find (google earth is too far west) and the longish drive to the place is very rough on tyres and suspension.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestBandBWorcester, Owner at Henwick House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for the review but it seems a little misleading. We offer 10 Bedrooms, 6 in the Period Victorian House and 4 large bedrooms in 2 Lodges, all finished to a very high standard, double glazed, centrally heated, all en-suite with power showers.
We are on an unadopted road that is about 100 metres long and enhances our tranquil surroundings.
We are glad that we scored so well given the wording of the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henwick House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henwick House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Jennett Tree Lane | Callow End, Worcester WR2 4UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Getaway. Welcome to Henwick House Bed & Breakfast in Callow End. Nestling on the side of the Old Hills overlooking the Historic town of Worcester and with dramatic views to the Malvern Hills. Henwick House offers a traditional Bed & Breakfast serving both a Full English and Continental Breakfast. All rooms are en-suite with their own televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and centrally heated with some suites available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Henwick House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henwick House Hotel Worcester
Henwick House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henwick House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.