We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli

Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli
44 Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA, England
01905 731331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 234 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are an independent, family run café – deli situated in historic Friar Street Worcester. Our fully licensed Café – restaurant serves a great breakfast, diverse lunch and twice a month we host our popular supper evenings. In our shop and deli we sell a range of artisan products made by us including our breads, tarts, cakes and pastries, all baked in house daily using the best British organic flour. We also stock a range of artisan products from local producers as well as fine food and drink from further afield.With a fantastic range of teas, gorgeous Illy coffee and located just a short distance from the shops and attractions in the centre of Worcester, Mac & Jac’s is a great place to meet, eat and visit!
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Perfect for deli items for presents or as a treat, really nice cafe and the window seats are good for people watching!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    27
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Lovely Cafe and Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fabulous bite to eaton a cold autumn evening. Helpful and well trained staff ensure the quirky Tudor building has a grat use 600 year s after it was built. Do try the chocalate and beetroot cake , wondderful selection of Teapigs tea!! Also look atthe original frescos

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pixley
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been their twice in the last week,the first visit wasnt bad,decent chicken salad of sorts,the second just not up to scratch.I had a Halounmi cheese salad,bit stringy on the veg side but passable my wife had a small quich with salad,call that a salad a few sprigs of something or other placed next to the quich oh dear me please do better than this.
Worcester is short of decent places to have a lunch time meal and we thought this place might do the trick,sadly not.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little cafe with wonderful cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I always enjoy my visits to Mac and Jac's . The cakes are lovely,particularly the Bakewell and the lemon tarts, warmed up with creme fraiche on the side. The coffee is good and is served in sensible sized cups that are European in size and not the giant American sizes that everyone has come to know in recent years. Good for light lunches that have a deli quality to them and set in a lovely Tudor building. It has a really lovely,individual feel as opposed to the corporate offerings that are generally on the high street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stopped here for a quick lunch, having used TripAdvisor to find somewhere that came highly recommended - not knowing Worcester, we didn't want to spend ages wandering around and then end up having a rubbish meal! The food was really good - not massive portion sizes for the price, but excellent quality. The ingredients were clearly high quality, and the flavours well-considered. Would recommend as a place for a tasty, quick lunch. Close to carpark too!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli also viewed

Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mac & Jac's Cafe-Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.