We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashleys Restaurant

Ashleys Restaurant
11 The Tything, Worcester WR1 1HD, England
+44 1905 611747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 253 Restaurants in Worcester
Price range: $19 - $78
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ashleys Restaurant is situated on The Tything in Worcester, a main arteial route into the City. The restaurant is located within a Grade 2 listed building from the 1700's and exposed wooden beams can be found inside. A modern decor runs throughout giving a clean but cosy feel. It must be stated that the modern look does not take away from the character of the building but rather adds to the atmosphere and the ambience of the restaurant. Find us on facebook for more information as well as the latest offers.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Really tasty food, friendly staff and a nice atmosphere with reasonable prices - can't really ask for more! I had possibly the nicest lamb rogan josh ever on my last visit- my number one choice for an Indian in Worcester.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevenerablepontiff, Manager at Ashleys Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you Sarah for your positive review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience at Ashleys many times and look forward to seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

You cannot knock this restaurant for anything! Always great service with excellent food. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Well done and will certainly reccommend you to friends and family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevenerablepontiff, Owner at Ashleys Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As always reading such positive feedback inspires to continue improving and ensuring your experience is a memorable one at Ashleys. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Jalapeno chicken balti never fails. Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have been going to Ashley's restaurant for the past year or so now and has never failed to deliver! My favourite is the jalapeno chicken balti. Very well seasoned, spiced and chicken very delicate with good chunks. The portions are good and it's a winner every time. My boyfriend has tried more things and I have tried some of it such as the jalfrezi which was not too bad and the new tawa on a sizzler good. Staff always very attentive and helpful. We spoke to the chef and owners to commend them on the food. They can often tell what we want when they see us. You can also bring your own alcohol even though some people say the wine here is overpriced. I think wine is pricey anywhere you go so let's not expect alcohol to be cheap anyway, some people are quite unrealistic as to the prices anyway of alcohol these days. Overall a great atmosphere and experience. Would highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevenerablepontiff, Manager at Ashleys Restaurant, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Its a pleasure to read such an endorsement and serves to provide us with added motivation to continue providing excellent food and service. We look forward to welcoming you many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menith Wood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As Indian experts we thought average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Indian veterans but this was disappointing meals not individually spiced and when asked for no potato we got potato And aloo carefull when you order For what it is the wine is overpriced; they got their chance

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevenerablepontiff, Manager at Ashleys Restaurant, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We were disappointed to learn that you found your evening out at Ashleys 'average'. My colleague who took your order was a trainee but made a mistake in failing to mention to the chef to prepare the said dish without potato. When you quite rightly pointed out an error had been made on your dish, and were offered a replacement immediately which you declined, and finished your meal leaving the potato's to one side. At the end of the meal my colleague in question purchased and drink for your partner and yourself by way of apology, out of his own pocket, as he was disappointed to have made a mistake. As for dishes being individually spiced we use at least 114 different spices in different dishes, and it would be difficult to judge the variety of spicing used on one occasion from a choice of two main courses. For future reference feel free to request a manager to either advise on selection, or to air with us any observations you may have. We welcome all constructive criticism and strive to use the opportunity to improve our product and the delivery of it. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

A fantastic favorite with all the family. Couldn't recommend this high enough. I have two boys 8 and 14 and they always choose Ashleys.

Well done and see you soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevenerablepontiff, Owner at Ashleys Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We always welcome positive feedback and we hope you continue enjoying our food and service. We look forward to welcoming you in the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashleys Restaurant also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Ashleys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashleys Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.