We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an amazing set of real ales in astonishingly wonderful building.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Charles II

King Charles II
King Charles House | 29 New Street, Worcester WR1 2DP, England (Formerly King Charles II Restaurant)
+44 1905 726100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 252 Restaurants in Worcester
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wales
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Just an amazing set of real ales in astonishingly wonderful building.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I didn't eat as 6pm, but it's now owned by a small local Brewery they have 10 local beers all in line on tap.

The bar maid gave us shot glasses of three to help us to decide which to have (what a clever idea just one taste helps). So we picked 2 halves and then tried another two halves.

They had home made bar nibbles had we wanted some sort of Worcestershire Tapas. If you are there do try it fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pie eyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Amazing pie and mash washed down with great ales . Perfect place a real surprise find we will be going back for sure

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pub on Worcester!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing oldy worldy pub that would look out of place in Stratford upon Avon! Amazing range of ale's and very friendly staff, more importantly no lager louts! Rich in history it retains all of it's periodically charm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“pie and mash in old tudor building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last time I ate here it was a very upmarket restaurant,now it is a lovely pub selling real ales and good "pub food" There is a selection of pies you choose your pie then choose the mash finally a choice of peas. A large meal nicely presented in truly historic surroundings they also serve sandwiches and what looked like a very good ploughman's and at weekends they serve brunch

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An evening out for pie and mash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I visited the King Charles II pub for the first time yesterday and was not disappointed. It had been recommended by a friend's husband who had said that the pies were great. We had a brief look in at the weekend and loved the look of the place, with its authentic dark wood panelling and overall 16th century vibe. So it ticked a lot of boxes where the look and atmosphere were concerned, but what we were intrigued by was the pies...they had a very good selection and the one I went for was a traditional steak and kidney served with garlic mash, peas and gravy...though it was thoroughly delicious and a good hearty meal. What was great to was that it was £7.95 which seemed good value in this day and age! My husband went for the venison pie which he said was also very good and my brother chose the steak and ale pie with mushy peas rather than garden peas: also enjoyed. We would all recommend this venue for food in Worcester.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Charles II also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to King Charles II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Charles II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.