We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13 very happy people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lenchford Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lenchford Inn to your Saves list
The Lenchford Inn
Stourport Road | Shrawley, Worcester WR6 6TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Worcester B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“13 very happy people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked 6 rooms for friends and family for a celebration as I had previously visited in May and thought it was a lovely Inn and had a very nice stay. Its a lovely old Inn with furniture and surroundings which fits its charm., and right on the river with views that would be hard to match. To wake up in the morning and look out at the lovely peaceful setting was heaven. Rooms have patio or a shared long balcony which was a very pleasant surprise and an added bonus as these are not mentioned on the site.and a private garden in front of the rooms which has a table with chairs and benches for guests to enjoy the views.

When I stay at a hotel and I stay at quite a few my priority is its cleanliness and comfort and this it had, comfy beds (a good nights sleep was had by all) lovely warm rooms,lots of tea/coffee not like some hotels when you get just a couple of sachets.plenty of toiletries, flat screen TV's. .

We arrived early as I had asked for lunch for 13 people to be served at 1 pm -1.30 pm and all our rooms were ready and we were given our keys right away.
A large area for all of us to sit together was set up and a lovely buffet table.
The lunch I ordered could not be faulted the filling in the sandwiches was very very generous lovely chicken wings & spring rolls served HOT,and mixed cakes, service was top notch.

We were served our evening meal at 7.30pm as I had asked. The food was piping HOT lasagne, garlic bread. Curry & chips all help yourself and staff kept topping up with plenty of extra food .

Breakfast was fruit juice, Cereals, help yourself, and waiter service for a full English with some of us asking for different requests ie: soft boiled eggs, eggs on toast, all was served piping hot well cooked and loads of toast which was also kept topped up

Can't understand the picky negative comments. Don't be put off by them give it a try

Thank you Lenchford Inn for a wonderful stay and it won't be our last

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    46
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
23
88
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for a drive and thought we'd pop in as we haven't been here for a while since moving into town. Friendly staff, a great peaceful setting by the river and a lovely snack lunch. We had a steak baguette, club sandwich and a classic basket of scampi and chips. All delicious and good value, next time the suns out we'll be straight back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at the Lenchford Inn this summer - but would definitely NOT revisit in its current state!!
A stunning location was totally wasted by a tired and unaccommodating property and regime. The bathroom displayed a loose and ill-fitting loo seat, total absence of a towel rail for the bath (just the taunt of its broken brackets remaining!), a single towel ring placed high on an opposite wall was totally out of reach of both bath or wash-basin, and its window could not be reached to open (at least by one person) - all finished in so last-century peach.
‘Peachy’ it was not, as far as the rest was concerned. Our bedroom was not only very dated, but inexcusably lacked even easily-resolvable basics – the list of which included: almost no coathangers in the wardrobe (the door of which also almost fell off - but which, inexplicably, did house an old TV or computer monitor??), drawer handle fell off the (tiny) dressing-table (with just one shallow drawer, that could not take clothes)! An excellent terrace did directly overlooked the River Severn - but unfortunately, whilst desperately needing a few licks of paint, there was in any case no way of enjoying it, being completely unusable due to lack of furniture to do so (see pics), and neither was there any seating in the bedroom that could have been deployed outdoors.
How could a list of the above nature, that was almost insulting, be thought acceptable, or worse, not noticed...? (I have to add that all was not lost, however - they had managed to origami the toilet roll!)
The final ‘disappointments’ were that, although (through no fault of our own) we needed to cancel one of our two-room reservations, the deposit was withheld even though they’d been informed well over one year in advance. (Yes, I understand the meaning of a ‘deposit’ – but firstly, I reiterate that the 2nd room was cancelled within days of our original booking; and secondly, we were still spending money with them, which for the whole of our party amounted to some £1,000 in total!) Further, on checkout, we were being charged top rate above what had at the outset been agreed in writing!
I wonder why it was virtually empty on a midsummer weekend, especially for a wedding venue? Most definitely not on our ‘return to’ list!!!
I understand the Lenchford was the subject of Channel 5 TV’s ‘THE HOTEL INSPECTOR’ a few years ago (can’t imagine what it was like before, if our stay was after any improvements!!), but have been unable to trace the relevant transmission, which we would love to see – does anyone have a copy they could send, please? (expenses reimbursed). Many thanks in hope – E: brenda_shepherd@talk21.com, T: 01539 720040.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I went for a meal last night 23rd July. The setting is lovely, the bar staff really helpful and pleasant but when our food arrived, steak & kidney pie, chips and peas, it was cold. Having drawn it to the attention of the waitress she apologized and returned it to the kitchen. When it came back it was still cold. She did apologize and offer to take it back again but I requested to see the manager.
When he came he was totally negative claiming he had checked the food and in his view it was "hot enough to eat". He did eventually give a refund but the whole experience means we will never go there again.
As we left two other customers who had eaten there that night also told us that their food was cold when it arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We eat at the Lenchford after an evening walk on 16th July. I was extremely disappointed as the previous ratings on Trip Advisor were good and don't reflect our experience. It was chip night so we ordered battered cod and chips. The fish portion was substantial but ruined by the thick heavy batter. The fish for other members of the group were the same. The chips were overcooked rather than golden. The fish was served on top of the mushy peas. Unappetizing. We will avoid the Lenchford Inn in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Myself and my partner had our wedding reception at this Hotel, Beautiful location next to the river Severn, everything went to plan and they worked round all the changes we made at very short notice, very friendly staff were very helpful, Breakfast was also just the ticket.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a 2-nighter at this Hotel, and it is the second time we have stayed here. This was a Groupon deal to include breakfast on both mornings, so excellent value.

This booking had been re-arranged from January, when they experienced flooding. We were greeted warmly and taken to our room, which turned out to be the 4-poster which we had previously. This room being on the corner of the building is so light due to 4 windows and a patio door, so there was light coming in all the way round. A great room and I was thrilled with it.

There is a kind of communal balcony which overlooks the garden and the river. Excellent views. The only criticism, if you can call it that, is that the water temperature is unpredictable, so prepare to jump around a bit in the shower!

The food was of very high quality and all in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We would definitely return as we love the countryside it sits in too.

Room Tip: If you want a large, airey 4-poster experience, ask for Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lenchford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lenchford Inn

Address: Stourport Road | Shrawley, Worcester WR6 6TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lenchford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lenchford Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lenchford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.