We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but needs a few improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lenchford Inn

Save Saved
You added The Lenchford Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lenchford Inn
Stourport Road | Shrawley, Worcester WR6 6TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 35 Worcester B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Okay but needs a few improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on a Groupon deal. We were apprehensive about our stay having seen the hotel on the Hotel Inspector but we were pleasantly surprised. Yes, it did have its faults (the construction noise was a very big no, no for a Saturday morning!!) and it did feel like we were staying with Grandma but for one night, it was okay.

Positives
• Friendly staff
• Clean (apart from a bit of mould by the window)
• Warm
• Breakfast was nice and served very quickly

Negatives
• The most awful shower- a drip (that is no exaggeration)
• Hairdryer- you have to hold a tiny button down- not good if you have longer hair (take
your own hairdryer)
• Construction noise which started at 7:30am directly below us (not great for our planned
Saturday lie in!)
• Thin walls and ceiling- you could hear everyone moving, talking and flushing their loos (it
sounded like they were flushing the one in our room it was that loud)

Room Tip: Well.....the ground floor rooms are being refurbished and so try asking for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
82
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very impressed with the warm welcome and great service. The evening menu had a good variety, catering for all. The setting was picturesque and would be beautiful on a summers day. The rooms on first impression are very large, they are dated in decor but look clean and well cared for. The bathroom was spotless, the bedding was spotless, there was a little dust around and a few cobwebs in the corners but still very clean. Large amount of tea, coffee and milk which is a refreshing change! When we arrived the room was very snug and warm but throughout the night got very cold. The walls are very thin as I could hear people snoring in the room above and the toikets been flushed woke me. Breakfast was beautiful and well cooked and served increadibly quickly. We purchased the deal through groupon, £34 was an exceptional price and well worth a visit as it is very close to Worcester itself.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in a 4 poster room here bought through groupon. When we arrived I was really happy with the room and the view of the river. However, we had no hot water throughout our stay which really just killed it for us. Hot water is a basic. We complained numerous times but had no offer of a free drink or anything. On the evening we ordered steaks medium rare and they came to us mid-well. After 45 minutes of waiting for our food (being the only couple eating) we decided to carry on and eat regardless, it was still excellent steak and we had some money knocked off the price by the propetier. But not really good enough. Such a shame, could b excellent but is just okay. If I paid more than £40 I would have been extremely disappointed to say the least. Breakfast was lovely though, and they accommodated my partners request for scrambled eggs instead of full English breakfast. Would stay again thru groupon but wouldn't pay the £95 asking price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed 2 nights on a groupon break arriving 24/01/13. We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and the locals were very friendly. location is very picturesque , great views from the rooms. Food was excellent with a good choice, compliments to the chef! We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very welcoming staff and regulars, warm bar area with good selection of drinks.

Real coal fire. beautiful views over the River Severn. Very good food for breakfast, carvery lunch and evening meals. Excellent service, made you feel nothing was too much trouble.

Warm comfortable room. Nice balcony overlooking river, shame we went when it was too cold to use it. Only negative is water pressure wasn't brilliant in the shower.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed her for two nights 11 & 12 January. Lovely place and made to feel at home straight away. Ate ther eon second night. Lovely food and good service for a reasonable price. Will definately return later this year.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having read all the good reviews on here we were very impressed and we bought a one night Groupon deal at the hotel a couple of months ago and immediately made our reservation and booked a table for dinner on the evening.
The day before we were due to go my wife went down with the norovirus bug that has been sweeping the nation so i called the hotel informing them that we would be unable to stay because of this and before i could ask if we could rearrange our stay i was told that we had lost the booking.
When i asked why i was told that there was a 72 hour cancellation policy on Groupon deal, i explained that had i known 72 hours in advance that my wife was going to be taken ill i would have cancelled as per the deal conditions but as this was a sudden unforseen illness there was no way i could have complied with the conditions.
The staff member i spoke to was extremely unsympathetic to our situation and refused to allow me to change the date of our stay.
I appreciate that conditions are applied to reservations to prevent losses to hotels but we fully intended to honour our stay at a later date as well as spending additional money in the bar and restaurant so it is beyond me as to why the hotel were so unmoving in their approach to our problem. I suppose if im being synical £39 for providing nothing as opposed to providing a room and breakfast was the easier and more profitable option .
All in all after reading all the positive reviews about the hotel we are extremely disappointed with our dealings with them

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lenchford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lenchford Inn

Address: Stourport Road | Shrawley, Worcester WR6 6TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lenchford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lenchford Hotel Worcester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lenchford Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.