We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms eat out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Foley Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Foley Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   14 Worcester Road, Great Malvern WR14 4QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great rooms eat out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very good rooms recently refurbished.
Good shower and a nice bathroom and a very comfortable bed ,Great Value as booked at the last minute.
Food is cheap but not very good, would not recommend the bar as although the real ale choice looks impressive most of the choice is usually unavailable.

Room Tip: Be aware parking near hotel is very limited long stay car park is a good walk from hotel so drop off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    83
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
41
83
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I ordered some cheesy chips today which cost me £3.50. (I paid an extra pound for the cheese)
When the food came out, no exaggeration there was literally 2 chips sprinkled with cheese and the portion size of the chips were shocking.
When I took them back the response I got was that the cheese is measured per bowl and I would have to pay for more cheese. Personally it is a joke!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night . But from Booking ovet the phone to Checking out. We were treated like any other paying guest . In arrival the Receprionist was very Helpful our Room was Spacious and Clean . Over looking the road but we didnt get bothered by it at all . We had our Dinner sitting by an open fire si was warm and welcoming and had a Lovely Breakfast nxt Morning . We Really enjoyed our Stay and would definately Stay Again . Thank You Team Foley ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable room at a decent price. Bathroom ok with a good shower.
Wetherspoons pub downstairs has an enticing selection of real ales. I enjoyed one in a relaxing armchair by the fire.
Friendly reception team were helpful.
My only moan is that there is no car park. You have to use the public one a brisk walk away. Fine for a reasonably fit middle aged bloke but older customers may find the hill a bit of challenge. Apparently Best Western wouldn't sell Wetherspoons the adjacent car park when the hotel changed hands.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I think we can be a bit sniffy about Wetherspoons. And I am as bad as the next person, however, this was pretty faultless, the greeting was friendly, warm and helpful, the room was small but lovely with everything needed and breakfast was excellent. I work in the license trade and recognise the extra work that goes in to making a place stand out and this stood out- well done , highly recommended and all at a good price

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have never done a Wetherspoons hotel before so had some trepidation, but what a nice surprise this was!.
No noise, grant it was a Tuesday in late October, but still.

Nicely appointed room, clean, lovely shower, WifI worked for me, telly worked, it all worked.
Good food in the evening and for breakfast.
No quibbles from me.
Bed was very comfy!

Room Tip: I had room 11, which I booked as a single but had a double room, at the back so nice views and at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager5562, Manager at Foley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that you also enjoyed the food!

We do hope you stay with us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was exactly what I would expect from a Wetherspoons hotel. Clean and efficient. Although they had lost my request for a 'room with a view' the reception staff soon moved things around for me and were always friendly.
There was one draw back to having a view in that the kitchen extractor ran until 10pm every night and started early in the morning, this meant that it was not really possible to have a lay in especially with the windows open! Having said that I would go back but maybe make do with a view of the road which would hopefully be quieter.
The food was good and the beer even better!

Room Tip: Ask for the road view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager5562, Manager at Foley Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review :)

We are glad everything got sorted with your room. Next time we hope we can accomodate you with a quieter room.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Arms Hotel

Address: 14 Worcester Road, Great Malvern WR14 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Georgian architecture of this old coaching inn has been a feature of the Victorian spa town of Malvern for 200 years.Situated right in the heart of the town, we have 23 individual bedrooms, many of which have wonderful views across the Severn Plain. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area and in most of our rooms however signal can sometimes be lost due to the style of the building. The Foley Arms Hotel is set in a wonderful location from which to explore the stunning Malvern countryside, the Midlands and the Welsh Marches areas.The area has a wide range of stately homes, beautiful gardens, lively farm parks and award-winning museums for you to explore, along with a host of modern-day attractions for all the family such as the Morgan's Visitors centre. It is also perfect for those visiting Worcester and Hereford races. Please note WE DO NOT HAVE A CAR PARK! Guests may park outside the front of the hotel to unload, then please ask reception for directions to the nearest car park. Some street parking is available free of charge , this is around a 10-15 minute walk to the hotel. Due the the building being listed we do not have a lift to our rooms so if you require a room on the reception floor (which still requires climbing some stairs) please notify us when booking. Our hotel is situated above our lovely, busy pub restaurant. Food is served from 7am-11pm and the bar is open till midnight 7 days a week. Large tables may be pre-booked so if you are celebrating let reception know or pop down and see us! Please be advised we are a very busy pub so some noise form our outside areas may carry to the room, especially at weekends. We do monitor customers and do try to keep distruption to a minimum but it is useful to bear this in mind when booking. Many thanks, and we look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worcester
Worcester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foley Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.