We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Foley Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Foley Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   14 Worcester Road, Great Malvern WR14 4QS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
herefordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stopped here Saturday night with my wife lovely hotel grat room overlooking the Malverns reception staff friendly, slight problem room was cold took breakfast in the bar lovely and great value would return

Room Tip: Book an executive room you have a view of the Malverns
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    83
    36
    21
    10
See reviews for
41
83
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a good weekend in the Foley Arms although the pub was extremely busy on the Saturday night. As another reviewer, I also had an issue with the dust but it didn't spoil our stay. We will try to get a room at the back if we stay again as it was rather noisy at closing time but that was expected. Beautiful views from the lounge. Would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As long as you can find you way, from the recommend car park without needing oxygen, its not a bad hotel for just over £30 a night for a double room. Some parts of the room need a good dusting, but bathroom was spotless. Overall quiet good value, been in more expensive B and B's which were very poor quality compared to the Foley.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited the hotel as part of a wedding party. This is part of the Wetherspoons chain, so the food is reasonable. The room was clean and tidy and comfortable.

We had three issues the first is a relatively minor one:

The room keys are easily loose their information and you have to return to reception to get them reprogrammed. You must all the card done at the same time else the one not being reprogrammed will not work. Keep the cards away from mobile phone and other cards.

Car parking is a MAJOR issue, the nearest car park is a good 5 -0 ten minute walk. Yes you can drop off outside, but the rest of the time there is little or no parking at the hotel.

We were in room 18, and the door was stiff. When went out in the morning we ensured the door was closed and indicating we wished the room to be cleaned. When we returned late that night, the door was ajar and had been like that for most of the day. Who ever had cleaned the room had failed to close the door. The reception was aware of this but had failed to get the door closed, but had simply walk pasts the door a few times and hour to see if all was well.

The car parking and issue with the door is a deal breaker for me, even thought they did reduce the deal by 20%. We will not be staying at the Foley Arm again.

Room Tip: DO NOT TAKE ROOM 18. Lots of stairs and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

absolutely astounded that the hotel didn't have a car park - nearest was almost a mile away and the walk back is almost vertical - don't even consider if you have a disability! Fortunately the weather was good - this could have been a disaster if it had been poor! Wetherspoons also have a complete ban on dogs, not even allowed in the beer garden or patio/terrace (but, paradoxically, they let you drink alcohol from 7.30am ......) - In the hotels defence, the staff were very nice, courteous and as helpful as possible, the room was worth twice what we paid for it and the food really is miraculous - more awards than the british olympic team - get the car park abomination sorted and this would be a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: opt for a superior room - it makes all of the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Called here with my wife for a quick lunchtime snack but decided instead to go for the 2 meals for £6.99 when we saw the menu. It reopened recently as a Weatherspoons establishment but is not apparent unless you look at the small print. My wife had Jacket Potato with five bean chilli and couple of salad leaves. This was rather dry but when it arrived as the waitress had difficulty locating our table number and we believe it had been reheated before serving. I went for the Wiltshire ham, and 2 eggs with chips which was very good.
This with 2 teas for under £9.00 was a fair price and the meal was enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burslem, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited this Hotel for our anniversary in late September for two nights, but thought I would save doing a review until nearer Halloween.
The reason being that the first impression of our room decorated in blood red wallpaper and dowdy coloured net curtain reminded us of something from a horror film, along with the over exaggerated gold painted mirror that I could imagine a vampire sitting in front of preparing itself for a night on the town.
This is what Wetherspoons who own the place call a luxury room, clean but a bit dusty around the skirting boards, the view through the not so clean window was flat and rather bland compared to the Cheshire Plain, not luxury to me I'm afraid and were glad to move on to our next destination.
When we first arrived I pulled the car on to the drop off road at the front of the hotel, I had no sooner put the hand brake on when a chap came out and informed us that we could not park there as it was near the fire escape, fair enough but I could not pull down any further as a sandwich board blocked the way so I had to move it myself, some thing I think this chap who turned out to be a so called duty manager could have done, not a good start.
The hotel was a bit of a noisy shambles for the time we were there with quite a bit of litter on the floors, sticky not properly cleaned tables, which we could have done without as we had invited friends to join us for a meal.
Another sandwich board stood just in side the hotel inviting people to visit the Morgan room downstairs, so I went down on our second day and texted the wife to come and join me, only to be told by the same duty manager as before that there was going to be a meeting, so I moved up and found seats at the top of the stairs and only saw one member of staff go down in the hour that we sat having a drink, strange.
They do charge more than the average for a stay at this hotel which they seem to think is a flagship for there company, but in our opinion it was a spooky grubby unfriendly place to stay.
We moved on to a Travel lodge in Hereford on the third day that was just the opposite from this disaster............. read my review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Arms Hotel

Address: 14 Worcester Road, Great Malvern WR14 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Georgian architecture of this old coaching inn has been a feature of the Victorian spa town of Malvern for 200 years.Situated right in the heart of the town, we have 23 individual bedrooms, many of which have wonderful views across the Severn Plain. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area and in most of our rooms however signal can sometimes be lost due to the style of the building. The Foley Arms Hotel is set in a wonderful location from which to explore the stunning Malvern countryside, the Midlands and the Welsh Marches areas.The area has a wide range of stately homes, beautiful gardens, lively farm parks and award-winning museums for you to explore, along with a host of modern-day attractions for all the family such as the Morgan's Visitors centre. It is also perfect for those visiting Worcester and Hereford races. Please note WE DO NOT HAVE A CAR PARK! Guests may park outside the front of the hotel to unload, then please ask reception for directions to the nearest car park. Some street parking is available free of charge , this is around a 10-15 minute walk to the hotel. Due the the building being listed we do not have a lift to our rooms so if you require a room on the reception floor (which still requires climbing some stairs) please notify us when booking. Our hotel is situated above our lovely, busy pub restaurant. Food is served from 7am-11pm and the bar is open till midnight 7 days a week. Large tables may be pre-booked so if you are celebrating let reception know or pop down and see us! Please be advised we are a very busy pub so some noise form our outside areas may carry to the room, especially at weekends. We do monitor customers and do try to keep distruption to a minimum but it is useful to bear this in mind when booking. Many thanks, and we look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Foley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worcester
Worcester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foley Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.