We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Cusine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Connection

Thai Connection
4 St Ann's Road, Great Malvern WR14 4, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 87 Restaurants in Great Malvern
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Thai Connection adjoins its sister Pub, The Red Lion just on the right of St Annes Road as you climb.

The food within is excellent ; easily the best Thai fare in the vicinity and by some measure at that. Its fragrant, spicy with fresh and authentic ingredients cooked by Thai chefs. It can also be fired up to non farang levels of heat when requested. Memorable dishes include all the soups, pork with green beens as well as beef with basil and chilli oil. Seafood fresh and delicate; starters a strongpoint.

Whilst the restaurant is intimate with many Thai trappings, Thai food may also be eaten in the pub itself if part of a party might have a preference for British and European cuisine. The menu here is also winning with hearty, well executed pub staples such as a robust beef and stilton puff pastry pie and a very generous mixed grill. Rare that you would find two distinct types of fare sitting so comfortably cheek by jowl.

Friendly hosts, well kept beer , child friendly and good value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Authentic Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This restaurant definately serves the best Thai food out of Thailand that I've ever tasted.
Can't recommend it enough!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“dinner at Thai Connection”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We did not enjoy the (vegetarian) food at this restaurant and did not find it especially tasty or authentic. Apparently they do not cater well for vegetarians and don't seem interested in doing so. It is also overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hit and miss take-away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I order take-away from Thai Connection every now and again, but the food and service is becoming more miss than hit.

On one occasion, we turned up to collect our food at the time it was supposed to be ready and had to wait another 40 minutes.

We ordered sliced breast of duck stir fried with mixed vegetables, cashew nuts and tamarind sauce with our meal tonight. The duck has an iridescent green sheen (which I believe is not harmful) and has been so over-cooked that it's inedible. No sign of cashew nuts either. Waste of £7.15!

The menu is finally going in the bin and we'll be trying Bhan Thai in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - especially pre-theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Fine Thai food. We really enjoyed our pre-theatre meal which was served very quickly. Food was all excellent. As good a Thai meal as we have had anywhere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Connection also viewed

Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 
Malvern Wells, Great Malvern
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 

Been to Thai Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Connection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.