We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Welland

The Inn at Welland
Welland | Hook Bank Drake Street, Great Malvern WR13 6LN, England
+44 1684 592317
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Inn at Welland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our family run business is now firmly established as a destination dining country inn. We have created a relaxed and friendly ambiance in an eclectic interior with quality fabrics, comfortable furnishings and an attention to detail throughout the operation. Our ethos is simple, to deliver great quality classic food, sourcing fresh products locally. The same attention is applied to our drinks, carefully selected value for money wines from around the world, organic juices, local real ales & ciders and fabulous Nespresso coffee. When the weather is warm enjoy lazy lunches or evening suppers in our terraced gardens and for that special occasion dine in private in our library themed room for up to 12 people. New for autumn 2014 is an external fireplace, cosy wool blankets to enjoy alfresco drinks as winter approaches, under our new glazed veranda.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a fabulous dining experience! So welcoming and so accommodating. I have a dietary difficulty and this sometimes causes a raised eybrow, but not here - immediate agreement to my needs by the waitress without even needing to check with the chef or owners who - incidentally - are a brilliant husband/wife team of MUCH experience. We ate on Christmas Eve and they appeared with unexpected presents for my two grandsons - now THAT's the way to create customer loyalty!! My omnivore family love it to bits. We've been many times - it's very consistent quality, and we'll be going meany times more, I'm sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    98
    30
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Four of us went for Sunday lunch and would highly recommend it. Pretty location. Renovated to a high standard. Attractive, modern, relaxing interior decor. Welcoming atmosphere. Attentive and discreet staff. Menu had an excellent selection. The roast Aberdeen Angus beef melted in the mouth. All courses excellent and served in good time. We certainly recommend it and will return perhaps in the summer so we can enjoy the garden.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic evening and amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited The Inn at Welland on 19th December and was REALLY impressed. The occasion was my works Christmas get together and with a group of 27 you can often expect poor service and cold, mass produced food....BUT not so from this fantastic eatery. Delicious food, beautiful presentation, superb atmosphere, attentive well trained friendly staff. All in all a lovely evening - everyone said how fab it was. Will be visitng again soon with family and friends and hoping that our Christmas Do 2013 will be held here again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic Christmas Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Myself and seven members of my family celebrated Christmas Day at the Inn at Welland for the second year running and it was superb.
Last year was the first time we'd ever ventured away from one of our mega Christmas dinners at home so the fact that we decided pretty much immediately to book again says it all!

The owners are so welcoming and no detail was spared, from the (very posh) crackers to beautiful home made table decorations so we felt at home and really festive straight away.

The food is out of this world, beautifully prepared and presented, and plenty of it too! We had two vegetarians in our party and when we asked if there were any extra vegetarian options when we looked at the menu a couple of weeks before our visit, Gillian produced a completely separate vegetarian menu which was just fabulous.

We arrived at 2.00pm and didn't leave until well gone 6pm and were never rushed at any point, it was all at our pace which was just great.

One of the gripes I hear people have about eating out on Christmas Day is the fact that restaurants can really hike their prices up, but The Inn at Welland is priced really sensibly and it was really good value for money for something so special.

Really can't fault it and look forward to making a hat-trick of it next Christmas :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christmas day meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were lucky enough to have our Christmas meal here. They were fully booked but due to a late cancellation they called us on Christmas eve to say there was a table available.
We had such a lovely time...... the meal was wonderful and the whole day was an experience to remember.We will definitely be back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Welland also viewed

Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Inn at Welland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Welland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.