We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Rd, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Best Rates
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Christmas break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family party of fourteen stayed at the Abbey Hotel for the four day Christmas Package. The hotel is in a lovely location, nice shops & theatre close by, the staff were very attentive and helpful, food excellent with plenty of choice.Champagne breakfast on Christmas morning, plus a visit from Father Christmas It was great value for money with lots of complimentary extras, I would definitely recommend it, would love to come back in the summer and walk the hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    217
    112
    43
    29
See reviews for
57
275
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Abbey Hotel is a lovely hotel, I stayed there on a four day Christmas package with family. The staff were very friendly and helpful and my room was very spacious,clean and comfortable. There was a very good choice of meals and never went hungry with their portions. The hotel was in an excellent location with shops, theatre and cinema nearby and the lovely old Priory next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHELTENHAM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If it was not for it's magnificent setting, this hotel would have very little to offer.
The hotel is tired & the public areas lack warmth both in temperature & ambience.
Our bedroom was fine, spacious & clean with a very large comfortable bed.
The food was standard & the service poor. We had to wait a good thirty minutes between our main meal & dessert & then served only when we asked .
Similarly when we arrived we sat in the lounge & had to ask to be served at least twice & were told we would have to wait !!!
But by far the most negative aspect is the staff. From reception staff to waiters they all appear aloof, disgruntled by any request & quite snappy at times !!!! They have certainly not been taught the golden rule of service with a smile !
Would I stay again? Yes because its cheap & we have family in Malvern. Would I recommend it NO!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here while we were in Malvern for a funeral. The hotel was very comfortable; great nights sleep, good shower, comfy bed. Breakfast was good too. We used the hotel restaurant for our evening meal as well, delicious panacotta. We enjoyed our stay despite the unfortunate circumstances, hope to stay again and spend more time on the hills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for a 4-day Christmas Package with family and cannot praise the hotel highly enough. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the rooms were clean and comfortable with very good amenities and all the meals were excellent. The hotel's location was great too, being near to the shops and a very good theatre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really expected here and to be honest was a little underwhelmed! Good lcation, plenty of parking, reasonable price and welcoming staff but this couldn't hide the shabby, tired rooms.

Entering the room, the bed and amenities are good, but the walls tired, the bathroom very tied and the shower pathetic. For the money there is better unless they have a series of rooms I didn't stay in!

Didn't eat there so couldn't comment!

Room Tip: Ask for a new room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay at the Abbey following a show at the Malvern Theatre. Our room was warm well equipped and very comfortable with a good view of the Priory. Good sized bathroom. Only niggle was the tv was not in a good position to view it comfortably. Good buffet style breakfast. We always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: Abbey Rd, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Malvern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.