We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Rd, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Best Rates
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Abbey Hotel is a lovely hotel, I stayed there on a four day Christmas package with family. The staff were very friendly and helpful and my room was very spacious,clean and comfortable. There was a very good choice of meals and never went hungry with their portions. The hotel was in an excellent location with shops, theatre and cinema nearby and the lovely old Priory next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    250
    119
    44
    30
See reviews for
61
332
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CHELTENHAM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If it was not for it's magnificent setting, this hotel would have very little to offer.
The hotel is tired & the public areas lack warmth both in temperature & ambience.
Our bedroom was fine, spacious & clean with a very large comfortable bed.
The food was standard & the service poor. We had to wait a good thirty minutes between our main meal & dessert & then served only when we asked .
Similarly when we arrived we sat in the lounge & had to ask to be served at least twice & were told we would have to wait !!!
But by far the most negative aspect is the staff. From reception staff to waiters they all appear aloof, disgruntled by any request & quite snappy at times !!!! They have certainly not been taught the golden rule of service with a smile !
Would I stay again? Yes because its cheap & we have family in Malvern. Would I recommend it NO!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed here while we were in Malvern for a funeral. The hotel was very comfortable; great nights sleep, good shower, comfy bed. Breakfast was good too. We used the hotel restaurant for our evening meal as well, delicious panacotta. We enjoyed our stay despite the unfortunate circumstances, hope to stay again and spend more time on the hills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for a 4-day Christmas Package with family and cannot praise the hotel highly enough. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the rooms were clean and comfortable with very good amenities and all the meals were excellent. The hotel's location was great too, being near to the shops and a very good theatre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really expected here and to be honest was a little underwhelmed! Good lcation, plenty of parking, reasonable price and welcoming staff but this couldn't hide the shabby, tired rooms.

Entering the room, the bed and amenities are good, but the walls tired, the bathroom very tied and the shower pathetic. For the money there is better unless they have a series of rooms I didn't stay in!

Didn't eat there so couldn't comment!

Room Tip: Ask for a new room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay at the Abbey following a show at the Malvern Theatre. Our room was warm well equipped and very comfortable with a good view of the Priory. Good sized bathroom. Only niggle was the tv was not in a good position to view it comfortably. Good buffet style breakfast. We always enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed one night after going to the Kate Rusby concert at The Forum Theatre.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly (smiley) and helpful. We were more than happy with our room (superior twin) for which we paid £72 including breakfasts. The room looked as if it had been recently refurbished. Very clean. Comfy beds. Good-size flat-screen TV (to watch the Football League Cup highlights in bed after we came back from the concert).

The en-suite bathroom wasn't that large, but it was adequate, with modern fittings and very clean. The shower over the bath was OK and hot, but there wasn't a lot of power.

For our EVENING MEAL we ate in the Bar. An extensive Bar Menu is available all day and throughout the evening, including a range of sandwiches and "light bites" as well as main meals. We didn't find the prices "over the top" at all for a quality hotel. Quite a number of main courses are under £10. We enjoyed our meals, and the service was very good.

We also enjoyed the BUFFET BREAKFAST (better than some we've experienced in other hotels) but maybe the fact that they weren't too busy helped, as we didn't have to queue.

We only live an hour's drive from Malvern, but will definitely book the Abbey Hotel again if we decide to combine a theatre visit with an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: Abbey Rd, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Malvern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.