We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were surprised it was so quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Pleasant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Pleasant Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Pleasant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belle Vue Terrace, Great Malvern WR14 4PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“We were surprised it was so quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Popped in for lunch last Saturday as the hotel does a meal-and-drink offer. Service was excellent: efficient and very friendly. The bar area is well-maintained and nicely decorated, with period music playing.

I ordered the lasagne, which was delicious. My wife had the scampi, which I think would be described as average. Nonetheless for £6.50 with a drink both were absolute bargains.

Although the place became busier as we left, there were never more than four customers in the whole place at any one time. This is really surprising, as the location is excellent and the fayre on offer very good.

My only criticism, perhaps, is that the gents' toilets were pretty grotty. This was also a bit of a surprise, as the rest of the hotel is so well-appointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    22
    20
    14
See reviews for
12
51
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is the third time I and friends have taken afternoon tea at Mount Pleasant. On arrival we were brought the champagne we had ordered, and asked to read the afternoon tea menu and decide if there was anything we would like to change, and what sort of bread we would prefer.
The quality of everything was excellent, the cakes, scones, etc were freshly baked. Staff were attentive, but not intrusive, for example a fresh pot of tea was brought to us half way through. I had read a previous review which said the afternoon tea was expensive. I would disagree, for the quality I feel it is good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have been staying here monthly for fifteen years and have tried other hotels in Malvern but always come back. The building is old so you must expect some quirks but the current owners are working hard to upgrade some of the more tired room décor. Out of the front you get some of the best views in Malvern but the traffic does create some noise from about 07:00 hrs on a week day. This is why I prefer the back or side rooms as no views but no noise. All the rooms are very clean but with a mix of old and new furniture. Not all the room TVs can get all the Freeview channels but this is due to the hillside location I think. Two things stand out about this hotel the helpfulness of staff and the new cook who is great. I have often phoned up during the long journey back from Scotland and the cook has a meal and a beer on the bar waiting for me. The staff make a hotel not the furniture and the current team will do anything to make your stay pleasant. I find this hotel very welcoming and much better than most I stay in.

Room Tip: See my review above you must decide between views or a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked really late, five hours before we arrived from Scotland. David on the desk could not have been more helpful. They even called us back to check on progress and had a drink waiting for us on arrival.

The room was very good although we did have one at the back. A we tip.... in all hotels the view out the back tends to be not as good as the one out the front.

Breakfast was also good with no hint of slow service mentioned in other reviews.

The staff are very hard working and there appears to be a refurbishment work on going. The main reception hall was redecorated overnight and before a wedding. A big risk by the owners but it worked. Tired wall paper removed and fresh paint applied. This did not bother us at all. Room decor was new but mismatched. A small interior design review would go a long way. For example no mirror at the seat and table where the hairdryer was.

If we are in the area again we will stay here again. So we say give the Mount Pleasant a chance.

Room Tip: If you want that view, get a room that looks out the front. We were in room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We found this hotel welcoming - the staff were uniformly young, efficient and helpful. Our room had a magnificent view over the Vale of Evesham. Admittedly the decor was tired and the furniture was old, though in good condition, but nevertheless the room was both clean and comfortable. The bed was excellent. The capacious shower was far from the tiny cublcle many hotels offer. Breakfast was acceptable. Dinner in the dining room was an excellent meal. The hotel's best feature, however, was its proximity to the hills. A short walk to St Ann's Well and soon you're passing CS Lewis's Narnia lampposts, are above the tree-line and well on the way to the Beacon. We would return to this hotel gladly.

Room Tip: Rooms looking south have better views. We were in room 1, one of the best the hotel offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were very dissappointed with this Hotel, old fashioned,needed a complete refit,poor food and this was suppossed to be a de-lux suite I would not stay here again. View out of the window was appauling. There were ladders and decorating going on very un welcoming!!

Room Tip: Not at the back of the hotel view appauling
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room 14 (or was it 15?) was musty, unheated and poorly ventilated. Of more significance was the fire escape, which was blocked by mattresses. I pointed out this basic error in safety to the manager, who promised to put it right. But, even with the mattresses gone, that fire escape is a potential death trap because it is open to the roof timbers and has steep wooden stairs and poor (or non-existent) lighting..
Staff were friendly, but incompetent and needed firm management: breakfast took over an hour because there were too few staff to serve and cook it.
Chef's award-winning pies were disgusting.
It has a great potential, but it needs a grip on management

Room Tip: Avoid 14 and 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Pleasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Hotel

Address: Belle Vue Terrace, Great Malvern WR14 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Pleasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mount Pleasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Pleasant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.