We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to eat and have a drink...........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish and Anchor Inn

The Fish and Anchor Inn
Fish and Anchor Crossing | Offenham, Evesham WR11 8QT, England
+44 1386 40374
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 77 Restaurants in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fish and Anchor in Offenham has been under new ownership since May 2014. The Fish and Anchor is the place to come if you are looking for a friendly pub with great homemade, fresh and local food at good prices. The Fish and Anchor is fronted by the River Avon, the inside has been refurbished to a high standard, outside there is a lovely large sunny beer garden with plenty of space for children. There is also a paddock offering electric hook up for tourers and camping. The Fish and Anchor is a great place to meet up with friends with a glass of wine, in front of the roaring log fires on a cold winters day, or a glass of something chilled in the garden on warm summer evenings. We have a function room available for private parties, meetings or get togethers with large groups. Come along and enjoy a friendly welcome, excellent food and great drinks.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat and have a drink...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited the pub because it had received good reviews on Tripadvisor.

We were not disappointed:

The welcome by the owners and the regulars is friendly and unobtrusive.
The pub is spacious, with welcoming log fires and a large dining area.
The selection of drinks and specialist beers is very large. My wife tried the Bishops finger and said it was delicious.
We ate in the restaurant on two successive evenings, trying their new £3, 5 7 9 menus. The meals were excellent and the waitressing service impeccable. I had the mixed grill one evening and fish & chips the next. Both were cooked to perfection. My wife had the steak & the Lamb's shank again absolutely first class.

The restaurant was busy on both evenings so if you intend dining in the evening please book to ensure a table.

I would recommend this delightful pub & restaurant on all counts. The owners are setting very high standards for cleanliness and general management, the Chef is providing excellent meals and the waitressing staff are professional & friendly. All round a treat to have eaten there.........Thank you..............

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at The Fish and Anchor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review , so pleased you enjoyed your food and the ambience of the pub on your two visits , all the staff are doing a great job , we look forward to seeing you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    29
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice mixed grill for £9 or a steak and trimmings at £9 had them both and was very pleased. Good quality and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just started going back to this nice pub. In the past it has suffered from poor landlords who were just rude and couldn't care they even tried to,change the name . What they should have done and eventually did was bring back the name and get rid of the pompus landlord !.

At last they have got it right a Landlord called Dave and his family run a clean nice and friendly village pub , that cares for its customers. They have great priced quality food and quick service well precented with ample to eat. Trust me I have tried most of the 3.6.9 menue both at lunch and evening meals and enjoyed them all. At last we have a nice local pub and restaurant that the locals are now using on a regular basis. I was told by Rod Canning a village celebrity to give it a try ! This I did and have never looked back ! You could say that we are regulars as well now. Give it a try and you never know I may be eating my lunch or dinner if so I like a pint ! Cheers and well done to Dave ( a real landlord ) and his new friendly pub. Kelvin.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at The Fish and Anchor Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
many thanks for your response so pleased you enjoyed the food from our new menu , Dave and Gill are doing a great job , they look forward to seeing you again soon .

Kind regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Myself and three others had a truly great Saturday night at the Fish and Anchor. Dinner was simple pub fare but very tasty and exceptionally well priced. They had a good range of drinks, also reasonably priced. Most importantly of all we received a wonderfully warm welcome from the new management and staff who looked after us very well.
We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Owner at The Fish and Anchor Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review , the 3 , 5 ,7,9 menu has become very popular , we look forward to seeing you at the fish again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New managers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had visited on the 03/02/2013, and had what in my opinion was a superb Sunday lunch, the dining area was a bit soulless, ut you could not fault either the food or the service, consequently we booked again for the next time we were due in the area Sunday 2th we read the comments re change of management, but as we had booked we went along, the new people had only been at the premises for a couple of days, and all that was on offer was a 2 courses Main. beef or pork, and 3/4 desserts one off which was unavailable, for £9 for two courses it was very cheap, but the quality and portion size reflected the price. but if as we were you are expecting something special forget it, there appeared to be no heating on there is a log burner but that was not lit, the who;e place had the atmosphere of a library.
we willl try this Inn again nexttimew we are in the area, but beware if you have already booked, check what is available.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've had lunch twice here in the past six months or so and both times it has been a lovely experience. Excellent quality food and generous portion sizes!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishandanchor, Manager at The Fish and Anchor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, it will be our last as the managers of the fish & anchor, as of the 14th February we are no longer the managers, we hope you will continue to enjoy the offer at the fish & wish the new managers well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish and Anchor Inn also viewed

Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Fish and Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish and Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.