We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use it or lose it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of kings arms

kings arms
bidford road | cleeve prior, Evesham, England
01789-77-33-35
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 77 Restaurants in Evesham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Use it or lose it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited the Kings Arms yesterday and found something of a dying breed, namely a lovely English country pub.
Whilst only taking the chance to stop for a drink on this occasion, I am most definitely going to return to support the huge efforts of the current owners who are producing great food and drink. This is a dying part of the UK scene, and I urge all travellers to stop by and help us retain a wonderful part of our heritage.
The menu looks great with a big selection of sandwiches and wraps served with home cooked chips. There is a more extensive menu if you want to take something substantial.
Use it or lose it forever!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beef & Ale pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife & I are visiting family in the area and popped into The Kings Arms, Cleeve Prior. I had the best ever Beef & Ale pie ever and my wife had fish & chips (what a whopped). We will be going back for certain. The place has plenty of atmosphere and the staff make you feel very welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Kings Arms Cleeve Prior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife & I are on holiday from Spain and enjoyed a great meal on Saturday evening. The best ever Beef & Ale pie I have ever had, my wife had fish & chips (what a whopper).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor Lunch - Saturday 10 August”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We popped in to have a light lunch on a sunny afternoon. The menu offered Cod wrapped in Salmon with salad and my husband chose the Chicken Burger also with salad and chips. The food arrived fairly quickly but was extremely dry and inedible. This was both the fish and the chicken. A freshly prepared dish was then offered but we declined as the same problem affected both dishes we did not trust the next ones that might arrive. Great shame and very disappointing as the venue is so close to home. This was exacerbated by the absence of an apology. Very poor in itself and particularly in comparison to other pubs offering food in the vicinity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsarmscleeveprior, Manager at kings arms, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ruth R

We are very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our place, please believe that this is not the normal. Sorry we never gave you the correct apology the young girl who weeks lunch times wishes she had got myself to see you before you left and that we did not the chance to correct the food for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here. No chicken so all red meat. Hard Yorkshires, poor vegetables. Couldn't be described as good food standard. Nice staff but over stretched.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kings arms also viewed

Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to kings arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage kings arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.