We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Northwick Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Northwick Hotel to your Saves list
The Northwick Hotel
Waterside, Evesham WR11 1BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overall good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on business though I have colleagues staying here for a few weeks. Not really sure where all the negative reviews are from as I did not encounter any of these. Stayed in room 20 spacious very clean with large modern and extremely clean bathroom. This hotel isn't claiming to be 4/5* so not sure what everyone is expecting for the price. Outside courtyard area is very nice with modern seating etc. decor inside is maybe too modern to fit with the actual building and the restaurant does lack atmosphere but for a quick meal it's absolutely fine. Breakfast again was absolutely fine also. All the staff I encountered were very nice, polite and helpful especially the girls on reception abc the young lad in the breakfast area. Overall I'd definitely stay here again if down here on business and its also very close to a couple of really good Indian restaurants (blue lagoon and Riley's) please do not take too much notice of all the negative reviews!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
14
42
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tolga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, attentive and helpful staff, clean and nice sized room, quite (but can imagine it would be noisy if there was a wedding function on) but oh so very very hot. Fan in the room did nothing to help the overwhelming heat and the bathroom was like a sauna. Maybe 7 years away from heated houses has changed us but I doubt it. Shame as this could have been an exceptional find in terms of value for money.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Every single time we go to the Flacon's Bar, the bar staff are out the back either having their dinner or having a ciggie. Why can't you put a bell on the bar? On Thursday this week we stood there again for more than 5 minutes, waiting for someone to come and serve us - there was a few people waiting by the time the bar staff came through, then both ales were off. We were give a shrug so we left again. Very poor service yet again - it was the first warm night for ages and the garden was busy. What is the point in spending all that money on refurbishing the hotel when the staff are not trained or the bar is not manned!! How is Evesham supposed to attract more trade when we are subjected to poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm local to the area so have never stayed in the hotel. But the new bar is very nice and open, although it doesn't have the same atmosphere it once did. The place also seems to have new members of staff every other week, so making this a regular place to visit the staff you might get friendly with isnt an option. Also found that the guy who calls himself the GM is a bit full of himself sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After a very nice welcome from the receptionist, I went to my room 14, large ish room very small bathroom. Bed clean and looked comfortable. The room itself was tired old carpet and decor and dreadful pictures on the wall.
The Restaurant was where the problems began, a charming young lady who first off all apologized as the chef was under pressure and the meal may take a while we agreed . As well as the chef being under pressure the waitress was on her own, trying to do table service drinks, the reception and take the orders and serve the food, we later found out that the Hotel was full that evening and the restaurant was also quite full, where by the waitress did her best it was very poor management to allow this to happen, as they knew the Hotel was busy and to let this young lady struggle all evening is very poor.
The food was mediocre and did not live up to the Menu.
The bed was very comfortable, the restaurant decor was some bodies idea of a joke, but then who ever designed it mustn't have a conscience.The flashing light of Elvis in the Restaurant was dreadful we went and turned it off it gives you an awful headache.
The staff at this Hotel are very good and hard working with nice smiles, But are let down by very poor management.

Room Tip: If you like a bathroom with a little space not 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a 'quirky' hotel. A few things are different about it.
It is both modern and traditional, the decor is clean, fresh and nice to look at. We had a lovely room (number 9, the Avon suite) with a four poster bed, which was very comfortable to sleep on.
The bathroom was nice and roomy and clean with a great shower. We ate in the restuarant too... the food was very good here, and really nice staff and service, especially the young blonde guy in the restuarant.
I would gladly come here again, people here seem happy to see you, which is very welcoming. Well done Northwick.

Room Tip: number 9 was a lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Northwick Hotel for 2 nights 24th-26th April in rooms overlooking the river. The twin rooms which we had were very clean & of a good size, with ample supplies of tea & coffee. One of the bathrooms was a little pushed for space & didn't have a hand rail to enable you to get out of the bath easily, which my elderly mother commented on.
The full English breakfasts were delicious of a morning & there were several restaurants close by for evening meals.
We enjoyed our mid-week break at this hotel & would certainly return in the future. It made an ideal base for touring the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Northwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northwick Hotel

Address: Waterside, Evesham WR11 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Northwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwick Hotel Evesham
Best Western Evesham
Evesham Best Western
The Northwick Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Northwick Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.