We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Russell's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Russell's to your Saves list
Russell's
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   20 High Street | The Green, Broadway WR12 7DT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Museum Entry
Ranked #8 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Russell's was perfect.

We had a fantastic stay - such friendly hosts. They provided the details of a brilliant florist to my boyfriend, and coordinated with them to have flowers in the room for my arrival, even though we checked in early.

We had sunday lunch in the restaurant, which was delicious, I had lobster bisque with crab ravioili and my boyfriend had antipasti, then he had rare roast beef and I had plaice. It was a really relaxed service, with attentive staff and a great atmosphere.

The room (number 5) was really well appointed, with very high quality sheets, towels and dressing gowns. My favourite part was the bathroom - which was the same size as the bedroom and included a huge walk-in shower and a roll top bath. Great products too!

It was the perfect weekend getaway & I wouldn't have changed a thing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    40
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
157
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a family weekend with a small baby. This was an excellent choice hotel. It has a small no.of rooms which are in close proximity to the restaurant, enabling us to have a baby listening device. Staff are very friendly, rooms were beautiful, and we found it a very relaxing set up. Its not cheap , but we felt the rooms and restaurant probably delivered value overall.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, but room 1 was the best, big, quiet, and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Russell's was comfortable and clean and we were well looked after....... Liked the personable and friendly staff who were attentive. The dinner we thought to be overpriced and the lamb main course had very small amount of meat on the plate. Breakfast however was great - beautifully tasty kippers with well cooked and full flavoured eggs and toast. Served by very friendly Swedish waitress with whom we had great banter. We stayed in room 2 which had everything we needed until..... I got out of the bathroom ready to dry my hair. I think that it was designed by a person who had never needed to use a hair dryer in front of a mirror. The manager provided an extension lead which turned out not to work, so I had to ask if I could use another bedroom where a mirror and plug were close enough together to be useful. Luckily there was a room not in use . So this is just a word of warning to anyone booking into room 2. Perhaps rooms 1,4 & 5 are fine and we were unlucky. Broadway itself, as always is delightful part of the country and always happy to return there - especially good to pop into Tisanes across from Russell's to enjoy the teas and coffees on sale from Craig.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The welcome was excellent and we stayed in room 2 but although nice and clean and well appointed next time we will go for room 3 (stayed before) as it's bigger and quieter. Tried the restaurant on our first evening for the first time as the reviews seem to be so good but we were disappointed. Good breakfast but for this standard of Hotel the cold buffet choice could be better. We have to mention how all the staff are so friendly and helpful and as a hotel we would definitely stay again but I think for us we would dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This restaurant has a very good reputation and we dropped in for lunch on a shopping trip to Broadway. The food is very good indeed and the decor modern and pleasing. We had plenty of time but the service was very slow and we were getting bored. Where I was seated I had no choice but to watch the steady stream of people making their way to the lavatory which opens straight in to the restaurant. We would have liked a coffee but gave it a miss because we could not bear the wait.

If you visit here be prepared to wait and avoid a table overlooking the lavatory door!

There are many other good restaurants in Broadway which serve food as good as at Russells and so I will not be rushing back. Come here and make up your own mind. If you secure a table in the front of the restaurant you may well have more luck than we did. The food is very good so give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Russell's of Broadway bills itself as “a restaurant with rooms.” Indeed, it is, and in the most convenient fashion. The hotel/restaurant staff was attentive and friendly, our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was perfect: large, modern and with a single faucet in the sink to mix the hot and cold prior to delivery (oddly infrequent in England!), just the way this fussy American woman likes it. Add to this a bar downstairs, tables outside to enjoy the sun, dinner if you like, close to other restaurants if you prefer, and an excellent breakfast. Oh, and Broadway is a charming village. Russell's was our favorite stay in our three week trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights (returned today, 15th Nov 13) and we really did enjoy ourselves.
We have stayed at some top places around the world and have eaten at very good michelin restaurants (Blancs, Ramseys, etc) and I was impressed with Russells.
Andrew (owner/manager) was great throughout our stay and I must mention the very nice Swedish lady who works there (sorry, I can't remember her name!) she was very nice.
Overall, our stay was very good, the rooms were spacious, well equipped, well furnished, clean and just what you need for a good stay in Broadway.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was fantastic. The mackerel (three ways) was superb! Goats cheese was wonderful - Sea Bass for main was brill and the steak was okay, tasty, but it was described as aged but it did not seem it but maybe it was me?! But I'm not complaining! The chocolate fondant was perfect, hard on the outside and running in the middle!
It was very good food and worthy of a michelin star for sure. The atmosphere was vibrant and it was busy, a busy restaurant is always a good place to eat!
The staff were professional but most importantly, friendly.
My parents also eat here occasionally (last week most recently) and said the food was very good also.
Thanks to the Russell team for our nice break away from the kids and we will be staying here again in the future.

Richard

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Address: 20 High Street | The Green, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Russell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.