We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing break.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown and Trumpet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown and Trumpet Inn
Save
You added Crown and Trumpet Inn to your Saves list
14, Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
CAMRA Awards
Ranked #11 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing break.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My partner and I had Broadway recommended to us, and I booked the Crown and Trumpet based on the reviews here. We weren't disappointed! It's a lovely, cosy pub and B&B and gave us the much needed down-time we'd been after. Staff are friendly and welcoming without being overbearing. We loved our room which was comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the food was lovely. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Glad that you both had such a relaxing break in Broadway and at The Crown and Trumpet. It is just what we are trying to achieve to be. Thank you for your kind comments about our homemade food and the friendliness of the staff. Looking forward to welcoming you both back to The Cotswolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    105
    14
    16
    9
See reviews for
29
241
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just spent four days in beautiful Broadway, and this was an excellent base to explore the Cotswolds as Oxford, Blenheim Palace, etc are within an hours drive. The Inn has a cosy atmosphere, as the host Andrew and his staff make you feel at home. Andrew is a knowledgeable and informative host, helping with hints and tips once you have decided the plan for the day. The age of the Inn makes this a unique experience, and the attention to detail with the furnishings and decor is superb. Excellent food, with many choices, is provided all day, and breakfast is cooked to order, and piping hot when it arrives. The Thursday music night is always well attended, so Andrew ensured all the guests had reserved tables, if required. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello Midge and Phil It was great to welcome you both to The Cotswolds and to be of help with bits of advise of where to tour. We did have a wonderful evening with the Jazz and Blues night that everyone enjoyed. Thank you for your compliments about our homemade dishes as you did dine with us each night. I will certainly pass them on to all in the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our fourth visit to a lovely old pub. Our rooms have always been lovely and clean with comfy beds and fresh milk on request for teas and coffees. Dinner and breakfast have been excellent on all four trips as are the staff who are all very friendly, Looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We look forward as well to welcoming you back for the fifth time !! Thank you for the kind review I will certainly pass your comments on about the homemade food and the friendliness of the staff onto the other members of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A lovely old Cotswolds Inn, located just 100 yards from the main areas. Our Host, Andrew was marvellous to all guests, attentive, helpful and friendly, all of the staff are the same. Andrew is also a great source of advice of places to go, and the best way to get there.

Rooms are very comfortable and clean, tea bags and coffee were all top brand stuff, and if you wanted fresh milk, just ask. The rooms were cleaned well each morning without disturbing guests.

The food was excellent with a good choice for all meals, and you can get a meal at any time during opening hours. The Breakfast is advertised as "Full English", don't be fooled by this ... you get your choice of cereal, including porridge, fruit juice and the you tell them exactly what you want for the cooked part of breakfast !!! Eggs are cooked perfectly and the meals is served hot. There is unlimited toast and constant refill of Tea or Coffee.

The Inn gives you a great start to the day and somewhere to go back to if you just want a rest, snack or anything.

We cannot recommend the Crown and Trumpet enough !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much it was pleasure to help you both with your break and to be of able to help with bits of advise to make the most of your visit to The Cotswolds. thank you also for your very kind comments and would very much look forward to welcoming you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this quintessentially historic, little old English pub...snug bar and restaurant, sloping floors, crooked walls etc. ...great atmosphere. The food was good and on Thursday nights they feature a terrific jazz band. It finishes at 11.00pm, so not a problem if you want to go to bed. The rooms aren't huge, but what you would expect for the period of the building and for the price. The village of Broadway is gorgeous and is centrally located for exploring the Cotswolds. Would highly recommend this great little pub...but not if you are the type who likes Hilton style luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome our new friends from Australia (both of us also enjoying the current Ashes series for different reasons !!). You have managed to put within your review everything that we are trying to achieved for our size, as much as possible from food and drink to a warm welcoming, humour and some musical entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Myself and a friend decided to visit the Crown & Trumpet, largely based on reviews in Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed!

We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and I selected a very nice pint of real ale from the selection of four that were available and a soft drink for my friend. We sat outside and whilst the seating area isn't far from the road, it is still very quiet as the road isn't particularly busy. We ordered lunch from a menu that does have some different fayre on it. The food was lovely and we didn't have to wait too long for it to arrive (not that we were in a hurry). Nothing was too much trouble!

We met and had a chat with Andrew, who is very friendly, helpful and genuinely humorous! We felt very comfortable and stayed for 3 hours.

Would we recommend the Crown & Trumpet? YES! Will we return - DEFINITELY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It was wonderful to welcome you both especially with this glorious weather. Thank you for your kind comments about the food and friendliness of the staff. Indeed it was a pleasure to have a little talk and smile with you. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to meeting you both back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I telephoned to enquire about a room whilst travelling to Broadway on Sunday around 4pm, the owner informed me that there was only a twin room available and that he would need my card details to book the room at a cost of £85, b&b. I gave my details and arrived at the pub about 30 minutes later. As we had been travelling all day we immediately had a drink outside before going up to the room.
As soon as we had finished our drink we were escorted up to the twin room; to say we were disappointed would be an understatement!
The room could only fit the two single beds in by facing each other, the overall decor was dingy brown, the wardrobe was leaning at a precarious angle facing one of the beds, the room lacked anywhere to sit other than the bed, also there where no tea or coffee making facilities, I didn't get as far as the bathroom and so cannot comment on that facility.
We informed the staff that we would not be staying as we thought the room unacceptable, regardless of the price. We were informed that it was a Bank Holiday and that we would probably not find anywhere else to stay in Broadway, and, that we would be charged anyway as there had been two further calls for bookings in the past hour which they had had to turn down.
We left, and to be perfectly honest if they had paid me £85 to stay for bed and breakfast in that room I would have declined their offer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
An example of someone writing a very misleading review to suit their dispute. Some important details omitted and have not been mentioned. A full refund was offered to you if we were able to relet the room to another client. You also forgot to mention we refunded the cost of the breakfasts so you were only charged £65.00. Again misleading, there are tea and coffee making facilities, there are chairs also within the room and it is not brown.
You could have viewed to the room but decided to book it straight away, therefore blocking anyone else who would have taken it. We had two other couples who also enquired about availability and viewed, they had accepted the room but we honoured your booking. These potential clients found nothing wrong with the room. They regretfully left as you did not arrive till much later. You would not have expected us to inform you on arrival that we had let the room to someone else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown and Trumpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Trumpet Inn

Address: 14, Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just behind the village green of Broadway this traditional 17th-century inn, built in Cotswold stone, with four rooms for midweek and weekend breaks. Free wireless internet connection. Serving Lunch and Dinners all through the week using locally produced ingredients to make seasonally cooked homemade dishes actually cooked on the premises. Open Fire. Jazz and Blues nights. Just off the Cotswold Way, centrally located for touring Shakespeare's Country and the Cotswold and Malvern Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown And Trumpet Hotel Broadway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown and Trumpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.