We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, even after the harvest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Lavender

Cotswold Lavender
Hill Barn Farm, Snowshill, Broadway WR12 7JY, England (Formerly Snowshill Lavender)
01386 854821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a third generation family farm set in the Heart of the beautiful Cotswold Hills overlooking Broadway and the Vale of Evesham. Lavender was first planted here in 2000 in fields previously used to grow wheat and barley. We produce the highest quality English Lavender Essential Oil. We now have over 35 different varieties, some 70 miles of rows, and 250,000 plants in total. Our crops are steam distilled on the farm and made into our unique lavender products, all proudly made in Great Britain.• You can walk the fields when the Lavender is in full bloom• See the harvest and Distillation when it takes place (usually end of July)• We have a Tea Room and Gift shop• The Tea Room serves light lunches, cream teas and cakes• Our Gift Shop sells our whole range of products plus much, much more. Admission to fields £2.50 adult £1.50 children (5-16 years)Under 5’s FREE Well behaved dogs on leads welcomed OPEN June to August - see our website for further details. We like to source as many locally made foods and produce for our tearoom. We are a Lavender Farm and although we do have a few plants for sale at the shop when we are open, we are NOT a Lavender Nursery and do not grow plants to sell
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely, even after the harvest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My Mom and I stopped here on our way between Mickleton and Cheltenham the last weekend in September. As we got out the car we noticed a delicate lavender fragrance in the air.

Inside the tea room was a wood-burning stove which made it really cosy when stepping in from the wind. The tea rooms were spacious and quiet. The gift shop sold a good variety of their own products and other lines, all at very reasonable prices. They had an end of season 'buy one get one free' offer on lavender plants so we stocked up!

After a little mooch round the gift shop and a cup of tea we headed off on our journey feeling satisfied and relaxed. My car now smells of lavender from the plants and gifts we bought!

We will return to see the lavender in its full glory!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

July is a good time of year to visit- harvesting will begin in the next couple of weeks so you now see the lavender in it's full glory.
Pleasant cafe- try the lavender scones! and a well-stocked gift shop, I bought some blueberry and lavender jam -delicious.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I recently visited Cotswold Lavender. The place was well kept and very clean - a hidden gem that's not overcrowded and busy.

The food was very good quality and nowhere near the prices charged by other tourist destinations, such as the National Trust cafés. Tea and sandwiches for two and two lavender biscuits (highly recommended) came to under £10!

There was a nice cafe indoor and outdoor seating area, and due to the good weather it was possible to sit on the picnic tables overlooking the wild flower and poppy meadow. The staff were all very friendly and welcomed dogs.

The gift shop was well stocked with lavender based products of all kinds, in a tasteful way. One complaint, however, is that the staff did not seem to know much about where they were working, or any of the products they were selling (this may be seasonal staff, and they were all very young). The only outcome of this was that I was unable to spend even more money in the gift shop.

In addition, there were some lovely animal photos on display (complete with frame) for prices around the £200 mark. Although the odd foreign tourist may fall victim to those prices, I felt it was a bit of a cheek - and that if the photos were even priced at £50, they may fly off the walls.

Outside the cafe and gift shop area all varieties of Lavender were available to buy, again very reasonably priced.

The main attraction of the fields is a mere £2.50 for Adult entry (which in turn offers free repeat visits for the season/year). The fields are as far as the eye can see and a perfect backdrop for a dog walk, family day out or photos. Amongst the plants also is an abundance of bees, insects and butterflies. On a hot sunny day this is paradise.

Parking for the attraction is free and a very short walk across the road. Unfortunately, a handful of cars decide they want to park directly next to the visitor centre and cafe, and churn up the dusty gravel on the way in and out. Maybe the owners would consider larger directional signs to the car park for the (selectively) visually impaired?

The sights and smells of Cotswold Lavender is definitely worth a stop when you're in the area!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotsLavender, Owner at Cotswold Lavender, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello
Thank you for your kind comments - we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
We wanted to make a quick note about the Photos we sell in our shop which are up to around £200 - these are by a local photographer who's well known in the area and are all limited editions - hence the price. We will, put some information up about him so it's more obvious as to why these are this price and the fact they are all taken here in this area.
Thank you again for your kind comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

You won't be able to take your eyes off the endless fields of lavender with the stalks of flowers swaying in the wind. Especially pretty on a sunny day but also quite nice even on a gloomy day like the day I went. Great photo opportunities. And there was a faint scent of lavender in the air as well. Lovely.

Cotswold Lavender's website stated that there was a charge to enter the lavender fields, but on the day I went, there was no one collecting money and people were entering freely. Just don't step on the flowers.

And then when you finally tire of looking at the flowers, head opposite to the tea shop for a spot of tea and lavender scones, or browse the gift shop, which sells a wide array of Cotswolds products including jams and honeys, and of course, lavender products. Initially, I hesitated to load up on the lavender products because I was wondering whether the gift shop had inflated the prices, but I was glad I succumbed because subsequently, I found the same products at other shops in places as far as in London and believe me, those prices then were the really inflated ones!

(Pots of herbs and other plants sold outside too.)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Mix Lavender, Snowshill, The Cotswolds & cream teas = happiness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Very quaint and unique. Not iverly commercial and very beautiful.

Coffe cake & Cream tea fantastic.

Ham ploughmans not good though im afraid. Salad was stale & had been prepared too far in advance rendering it virtually inedible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotsLavender, Owner at Cotswold Lavender, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback.
The food we sell here in our Tearoom is made fresh very day - we get daily deliveries of our produce. The salad is prepared fresh every day and throughout the lunch time- and we make sure its made using only fresh ingredients - never stale ingredients - the salads are not prepared way in advance. we are sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotswold Lavender also viewed

 

Been to Cotswold Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Lavender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.