We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant experience but please think about feeding small children somewhere else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lygon Arms to your Saves list
The Lygon Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous restaurant experience but please think about feeding small children somewhere else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Great Hall restaurant was beautiful, and the food was really excellent. The staff were delightful and delivered a relaxed yet silver-service quality service, and completing our evening with delicious petit fours and coffee in a delightful inglenook was just perfect. We love the Lygon Arms!

My only request for change would be that the Lygon considers whether this fairly formal (and fairly expensive) restaurant is really the place for very small children. On the evening we were there someone's 2-3 year old was squeaking throughout much of the meal and throwing his toys around, which seemed completely at odds with the ambiance that the staff were working so hard to create. Many couples were there for major wedding anniversaries that evening, and a screaming child - always a possibility with the current policy - would have ruined the evening for everyone.

I've nothing against kids, and residents plainly have every right to eat at the Lygon with their families, but it would be great if the hotel would consider either finishing service to children at around 6.30pm or providing a separate area for families to dine in. Maybe one of the lovely inglenook rooms could be used for this. It's not fair to Lygon diners or waiting staff to expect them to compete with this kind of distraction especially during a much-anticipated special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms. We will however review our children's policy as we neither wish to spoil anyone's dining experience but equally do not wish to exclude families from visiting our beautiful hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    385
    198
    118
    69
See reviews for
127
899
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Smart, historic hotel situated in the centre of beautiful Broadway. We opted for a modern room, and were not disappointed: spacious, good en-suite, aircon, comfortable bed and sitting area. The hotel oozes character and history, but the facilities, such as the spa, bring it right up to date.The staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast was done well, with the chefs present in the dining room cooking to order, which went down well with the guests. The place isn't exactly cheap, but attractive deals can be found online. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms.
We are truly privileged to work in such beautiful surroundings and welcome guests to this magnificent venue and institution of the hotel and hospitality industry.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location and the foods the best. Good service but did find that I was not informed about what was in my package and what was not and had a £52 bill at the end which was more than I expected. Waiting staff are lovely, reception could be a little more helpful. All in all we enjoyed ourselves and if its a bit of luxury you want and tranquility, this is the place

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent dining experience here at the Lygon Arms, we are delighted to hear such a glowing report on our food and service, and proud to be recognised with 2 AA Rosettes for our dining room. We look forward to welcoming you back as a valued guest.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had read some poor reviews about this hotel before we arrived.
However, we stayed one night last weekend.31st August 2013
The Hotel is in a lovely position right in the centre of Broadway, a beautiful old Cotswold town.
The staff were warm and welcoming.
Our room was on the ground floor and a little dark but very spacious with a good sized bathroom.
Perhaps some brighter paintwork and light furnishing would help.
However it was more than comfortable.
The Spa facilities are small but adequate and the pool was light and of good size.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good and the Maitre D was excellent and full of facts about the hotel and the other hotels within the Puma group.
This is an old hotel with great charm and with some fascinating history.
If we return to the Cotswolds we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room near the conference suite used for weddings which got a little noisy until midnight.It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at the Lygon Arms, we are delighted to hear such a glowing report on our food and service.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Lygon has changed massively in the last 20 years. A huge building extension & expansion into adjacent real estate has increased guest numbers & encouraged use by tourist groups.
The lovely gardens on the opposite side of the rear lane are still a feature as is the wonderful barrel vaulted dining room & heritage bedrooms in the original building.
We stayed in the premium rooms at the front of the building & enjoyed the quirky sloping floors & walls & the new marble bathrooms. Oliver Cromwell may have been comfortable in the Elizabethan beds but we were not. Creaks & groans (from the small double bed & floor, not us) meant that restful sleep was not on the agenda. A small sitting room gave an area for reading or TV.
I suggest that the rooms in the 100's at the rear of the original building will be more comfortable.
The Lygon is in the centre of the shopping/restaurant/tea room strip of Broadway so everything on offer is within a few moments walk.
I do like The Lygon & i wish that there was a rating between average & very good for the scores.
(Perhaps good?)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms. We acknowledge the points your raise with the bed quality and will continue to invest in our facilities and guest comfort.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were so friendly and when we were shown to our room there was a hand written card and box of chocolates. Dressing robes and slippers were provided and the linen was of the highest quality. The bed was so comfortable!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a short break and would like to say a big thank you to all the team at the lygon
They made our annerversary stay so special with even a hand written card and a box of chocolates.
Had a lovely room in the main part of hotel everything was lovely
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Lygon Arms is a country house hotel with 78 bedrooms and suites, and parking for 120 cars, that has been welcoming travellers since the 16th Century. Built of mellow Cotswold stone, the hotel has been lovingly restored while retaining many of the hotel’s original features. When not exploring the Cotswold villages and countryside, get pampered in the hotel’s beauty rooms or relax in the Health & Leisure Club. As well as the 2 AA Rosette Great Hall restaurant, there’s now also the new Luke’s Broadway, where rising star of the chef world, Luke Thomas, is creating a culinary stir. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lygon Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.