We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another belated review, but I would guess teh standards are still the same” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dormy House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dormy House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Broadway
Carlton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another belated review, but I would guess teh standards are still the same”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here in April 2010 for just one night and ate in the less formal dining room. I note it is presently closed for refurbishment and from our stay I would say this is well timed. We stayed inone of the rooms in an annexe away from the main hotel, which is in a wonderful location just outside the village. The room was a little quirky, with exposed beams and decor which was not contemporary, and the room also had a window directly onto the road which, although not busy, did mean some traffic noise.
The food was excellent though and more than made up for this. I recall a game terrine and partridge which was just delicious, and service was attentive without being over-bearing. It was great to have the table for the evening without teh pressure to move on.
I did have soem trouble understanding whether we could have one of teh many deals on offer and probably paid more than I had to. However, with the quality food and excellent breakfast the next day I think it was just about right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    66
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
39
226
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I got married at the Dormy on the 29/08/2009 and it was a magical day.

Katie Nightingale (events manager) is amazing, so helpful organised & remember's even the smallest details that you request.

I was even allowed to take my dog with me which just added to my special day.x

They had contacts for everything which made my life so much easier, beautician florist and the amazing Paula who made our cake for such a fantastic price.

All the staff were lovely helpful & welcoming and I have been singing the hotels praises ever since. So have our guests.

We went back for our anniversary & they remembered us (in a good way) and were treated like very special guests by David the dept manager. Making Pernod cocktails which were yucky but we still drank. Very sore heads.

Hoping to return and take our son before we move to oz.

A very special romantic setting, would highly recommend. And would get married at again but my husband said no. Grumpy. Xx


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a lovely place to stay, just me and the husband for a change no kids for my birthday. I was expecting to be in the hotel and we were taken to one of the outside converted buildings. They were amazing your own living room with TV large bathroom with two sinks and large bedroom again with TV, and lovely and warm. Emaculately clean , fluffy robes and white towels perfect!!! We had a few drinks at the bar before dinner and the bar man was very attentive and I dont think I saw the bottom of the glass all night, fantastic service and the food was truely amazing!! I didnt think they could top it ,, then we had breakfast the following morning... the best yet a definate must.

Room Tip: Room 32 which is one of the outside buidings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for short breaks on a number of occasions. It is very comfortable. The lounge has a great big log fire and big sofas to cosy up on. We have stayed in a variety of rooms from suites to standard. I thought the deluxe rooms in the newer wing were the nicest. They are prettily decorated in a fashionable country house style. The bathrooms of these rooms are very luxurious and modern. When we stayed in a standard room the bathroom was a bit shabby. However the hotel is undergoing a complete refurb this spring. The only thing I was a bit disappointed about was the food. We went for a winter warmer deal so dinner was included. The first couple of times we stayed in the hotel the food was superb and very imaginative. However the last few times the food has been O.K but nothing special. Service is friendly and helpful. The hotel is up high on a hill with spectacular views from some of the rooms and the village of Broadway is a short drive away.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room in the newer part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just treated my mom for tea at the Dormy house hotel as a Mother's Day present

The tea arrived in bags. Not leaves !!! In a white transport cafe style tea pot with cups to match. Where was the china !!! ! They forgot the hot water and we had to ask at reception for it twice ...!The sandwiches tasted cold obviously been in the fridge ... 3 fingers each , tasteles,with no sign of a leaf anywhere not even as a garnish . The cakes were nice but uneventful .. For £45. It was very disappointing and we would not recommend to anybody ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night last weekend for my husband's birthday. I got the Winter Wonderland deal which was £240 for a night in a suite and a 3 course meal in the dining room.

The room was recently refurbished and extremely clean. The bathroom was particularly nice, and the bed was really comfy - cant complain.

Dinner in the restaurant was also lovely, the staff were excellent and very helpful.

Breakfast was also great, really good buffet and the cooked breakfast was fab, so nice to have more choice than just an english breakfast so I had a hot option for once!

I knocked off one point for what is possibly a silly reason, but something that really surprised me. We asked at reception if they had any maps or suggestions for country walks, and were told it was £1.50 for a map with a walking route on it. We felt that at £240 a night, it was a bit petty to charge extra for something like this. We didn't buy the map and figured out our own route. While this is more of a hotel than a small b&b, a personal touch does go a long way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a return visit and we had been looking forward to enjoying the Dormy House again. We were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room,10, apparently refurbished last year was well appointed and very clean - lovely bed! Excellent food, wine and service in the dining room for dinner. We spent the Sunday morning in front of the ever burning fire in the lounge before taking lunch in the Brasserie. Again excellent food and service. Having visited the Dormy over a number of years it's really encouraging to note how they have maintained their standards of service over time. We've already booked our next stay for after the completion of the major refurbishments.

Room Tip: When booking check whether your room has a walk in shower or just a shower over the bath - it' n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Occupancy Marketing, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.