We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dormy House Hotel to your Saves list
Dormy House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Broadway
london
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
2,429 helpful votes 2,429 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Another great stay at Dormy House. We booked the large Penthouse suite in the main house, The staff are so friendly and efficient. Our dinner was excellent but our breakfast the following morning was even better! Lovely comfy lounges with log fires roaring. So relaxing! Dormy House is heading for a major renovation,I sincerely hope they keep to their roots of a Cotswold hotel and do not lose their character. A great stay, thank you Dormy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    106
    42
    12
    5
See reviews for
56
349
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the Dormy House for my mother's 80th Birthday celebrations. The website promised a lot, but then they always do. In the case of this hotel, though they delivered in full on that promise. We wanted something special and we got it.

I will start with the one small downside, then move on. The hotel is some way away from the village of Broadway, it is truly a "Country House Hotel". If you want to pop into Broadway, then you are going to need the car. It does mean though, that you get more peace and quiet.

There were 7 in our party, occupying 4 rooms (numbers 1, 2, 16 and 17). All of the rooms were spotlessly clean, supremely comfortable and came with all the whistles and bells that you could possibly need. Nobody heard any noise at night, though we might have disturbed one or two when we retired (apologies, if we did).

The staff in the reception, restaurant and bar areas could not have been helpful or more pleasant. We couldn't fault a single one of them.

The quality of food in the restaurant was the best that I have eaten in a long, long time. Between the seven of us, we tried a fair bit of the menu (there was plenty to choose from - in fact choosing was our one and only problem). Not one dish that any of us ordered, disappointed. A couple of years ago, my wife and I stayed at the Michelin-starred Lords of the Manor which is just down the road from the Dormy. The atmosphere at the Dormy is better, the staff friendlier and the food (at least in my opinion) was equally as good. There is a really extensive wine list to go with food too. Breakfast was as good as you are going to get anywhere.

OK, so it is'nt cheap. But you know the price when you book. Is it good value for the money? I would say an unequivocal "yes".

If you have a special occasion to celebrate, then I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Keith

Room Tip: For tradition try for rooms 1 or 2. For more modern, go for 16 or 17. If you want a journey out to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If first impressions are important, the first impression on our fifth visit was of a tired exterior. We knew that the hotel would close in December for three months of refurbishment and felt "not before time." We had booked room 46 with balcony overlooking the nearby golf course and it was great. The food was excellent though I think I would waste away with such small portions on a stay of a whole week. The staff, from booking through to check-out, were exceptional. There had been some refurbishment in the lounge areas since our previous visit which exchanged the 'Cotswold Country Hotel' look and ambience for an anonymous urban style. We enjoyed a break that included a ticket to a nearby Arboretum (Batsford) and were blessed by good weather there and this was followed by an included cream tea, wonderful and the most filling 'meal' of our stay.

Room Tip: Try 46 for quiet comfort overlooking the nearby golf course and including the hotel's only balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights with dinner included in their special rate. The suite was very well presented, clean and well apointed. Staff were friendly, helpful and everything was very professional. Restaurant front of house team were friendly and attentive, food was to a very high standard.
We will be visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Go for a suite in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed on the Autumn break offer for my partners birthday and enjoyed our stay. There is lots to do nearby and the views from our room were lovely across the Cotswolds.
Staff were polite and friendly but were very busy so did not spend any time interacting with us. Lovely lounge with open fire to relax in and we managed to find a comfy sofa in a quiet area to enjoy a drink.
The food was very tasty and well presented and the restaurant was busy but we had all food as ordered and without waiting.
The room was clean and had a very large king bed which was so comfy, only comment would be hearing everyone's extractor fan through the night when they used the toilet,as there is no way to isolate the extractor from the light!

Overall a lovely night away with good food in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I went to a wedding reception here in August and the organisation, food & venue were excellent.
However we have since found out that they are closing for refurbishment between 19th November 2012 & Spring 2013 - we were about to book a night away and found the information on their website.
I am sure it will be fabulous but I am concerned that the wedding/party/conference venue will disappear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. The good news is that you will be able to stay or dine at Dormy House right up to 21 December 2012 and again after 2 January 2013 until the work starts. Our planned refurbishment – a very exciting moment in the life of our historic hotel – is now taking place during Spring 2013. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We took an Autumn Fever break of 2 days. We booked the Penthouse Suite which is the entire dormer of the main building, accessed by narrow steps from the 1st floor landing (so not for people who are not very mobile!). The room had a lounge area with a settee, armchair, coffee table and good size digital TV.

You move from this to the landing at the top of the narrow stairs and there is a good size wardrobe with plenty of hangers, some shelves and a safe.

Beyond this is the bedroom with two large singles made into a big double bed. There is a small TV and a DAB radio alarm clock with iPod connection.

Further still is a spaceous bathroom with two washbasins, toilet and bath/shower (tall bath needs care when entering/leaving!)

Views from the smallish dormer windows were very good and we could see for miles over the Cotswold Hills

Staff were very welcoming and quite chatty - pity some of the other guests were'nt as the restaurant lost some atmosphere when they were there!

Breakfast was cooked to order and could'nt be faulted. Continental breakfast was also available.

We received a complimentary glass of Cava before dinner. Dinner was also very good, perfectly cooked and presented.

Drinks were a little on the expensive side, I suppose they have a bit of a captive audience with the Autumn Fever offer!

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse Suite - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.