We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with plenty of charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Broadway Hotel to your Saves list
The Broadway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Broadway WR12 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Broadway
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with plenty of charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I spent to two nights at the Broadway Hotel recently, and we had a very pleasant stay. From the friendly reception staff (and Spud the dog) to the cleaning staff and the brasserie staff, everyone was welcoming and helpful.
Our room was spacious, warm, welcoming, clean.
Breakfast was more than substantial. Orders for hot food were taken and delivered with a minimum of fuss.
We also enjoyed an evening meal in the brasserie where we had a fantastic meal. Staff were terrific, especially Allan with his great sense of humour.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    126
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
50
227
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have not been to the Broadway Inn for over a year. Re visited last weekend and what a change. It has under gone a brilliant refit. I love the old place but this is just as good having retained the tradition in a revamp building. We had Sunday lunch in the Tattersall restaurant, the atmosphere was great, the food first class and the service good. We have rediscovered a gem and will be going back ASAP.

Room Tip: Just sit back and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of December & a review from another friend has reminded me to leave this feedback.... The hotel is packed with the most unhelpful "helpful" staff I have ever encountered. E.g. Edited highlights of our stay....

We asked for a taxi to take us to a party at a local village & was told by the receptionist in a most "helpful" & protracted way that no taxis would go to that village & we would be best to call a taxi for ourselves. She even gave us a list of numbers.... Would it have been too much trouble to pick up the phone & provide guests with some service herself I wondered? We came back that evening with a card from a local taxi driver who would be willing to provide a service for hotel guests & gave it to her!

We were out all morning & came back at lunchtime to find our room not made up. Housekeeping came while we were getting changed for an evening function & we explained we were getting dressed & asked them for fresh towels & water now & told them the time we would be gone (from memory about 2pm) so they could arrange for the room to be made up then. We were disappointed to find that when we came back at around midnight, there were towels & more water on the floor outside the door but the room had not been made up. We discussed this with the Manager the next day who said that it was a 'breakdown in communication'. No real apology or offer of goodwill gesture, discount, or something to compensate for their mistake.

To paraphrase Rhett Butler, "Frankly my dear, they didn't give a damn".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First impressions are key and The Broadway excelled. Secure parking a private paved patio and a garden for guests only. Polite efficient receptionist, help with luggage, escorted to our room and a brief detailed description of features and services. Textbook stuff.
Immaculate and clean twin-bedded room albeit a bit small ( Room 27 ) but just about OK for our one night stay. Funky trendy vibe in the bar area yet could escape to quiet lounge. Tattersall's restaurant a class act and one that the city set would approve of, yet still be amidst the country casuals of the Cotswolds.
Snack ordered at bar and eaten in aforementioned lounge was very tasty and as for breakfast ...........wow what a selection and so beautifully laid out. Attention to detail was almost anal, for instance who thought of intentionally dislodging the top two of each stack of cereal dishes to avoid a sense of austere utility?
Would use this hotel again as a one night stop over.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for an anniversary weekend. We booked a Junior Suite and the accommodation was excellent. Large comfortable bed. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night and the food and service was perfect. Could not fault this hotel and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We chose a Junior suite which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fylde
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

There is stiff competition in this area, and the Broadway is winning at the moment. The perfect setting and the quaint building have been there for all of the thirty years that we have known this hotel, but it has really "upped it's game" following a recent refurbishment. The rooms and public areas really are second to none in this area at present and the menu makes up in value what (little) it lacks in imagination. Staff are efficient and polite, with some of the older and longer serving staff (in particular) hitting the right spot for service without over-familiarity.

Room Tip: This is an old building with lots of stairs and no lift. Guests with heavy bags might prefer a groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was at the end of a month long trip to the UK and we were ready to go home, we'd stayed at a few places this has to be the best, good service, nice room, really tasty food and the setting perfect. If we ever go back to the UK we'd stay there again, well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broadway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.