We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hadley House

Hadley House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broadway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hadley House
Leamington Road, Broadway WR12 7DZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Broadway B&B and Inns
midlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good sized rooms with excellent bathroom and shower. Host very nice and welcoming and very local to the High Street a really nice find. The Breakfast we could not do justice to but great selction of fresh fruit followed by great full english. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Mrs Wainwright and I have visited this wonderful part of the world many times and have always looked forward to our next visit. However, having had the pleasure of this fine establishment we shall be looking forward to our next visit even more!

Our room was quite comfortable if not huge, however one does not go to such a pretty village to sit in their room! And as for the decor, Mrs Wainwright commented that "our room would not look out of place in top London hotel costing five times as much!!"

Our breakfast was perfect, cooked beautifully and with ingredients that clearly were not purchased at the local off licence! As well as the cooked breakfast there was a wide selection of cereals and other breakfast items.

The hosts, Duncan and Linda we found to be extremely warm and friendly. They are clearly proud of their establishment and made sure that Mrs Wainwright and I enjoyed our stay, so much so, we booked with them for next time then and there.

I would advise two things, to book early to avoid missing out on this gem, and when deciding having read all that has gone before, to go with the majority, because on this occasion they are not wrong.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked all five rooms at this B&B for 1 night for my girlfriends surprise birthday.
Due to the horrendous weather conditions over the weekend two of our friends travelling from West Yorkshire were snowed in and unable to make it.
Our room (downstairs on the right) was small, but clean and well presented.
However the bed was very soft and too short(we aren't giants).
On Sunday morning we were woken up at 7am by noise in the kitchen and loud talking, which considering we were the only guests and we were all still in bed was unnecessary and definitely not appreciated.
When we asked what time breakfast was served till we told very sharply 9am!
The breakfast was a good selection of cereals, fruit and juices however the vegetarian option on the full english was lacking(mushrooms cooked in bacon fat, tomato and egg fried!) and the feeling was like we were intruding.
Having said that Linda and Her husband very kindly provided champagne glasses and bowls for our nibbles and drinks in their lounge before our evening out.
Prior to leaving I was presented with the invoice for all 5 rooms. I had been told that they expected full payment but on chatting it through with our friends decided to see if I could negotiate a compromise as the room had not been used, food not eaten and the reason for not coming was 'Act of GOD'!
I went to have a chat with Linda about the situation who metamorphosised into a very aggressive, defensive and unapproachable person, gone was the charming host!
I had to ask her to calm down, but she began shouting and her husband had to intervene, although he was just as rude.Our intention was always to pay for the room, but just to try and seek a fair compromise. Surely that's what a deposit is for? If the rooms had been booked separately there would have not been this discussion and we felt that she took advantage of the situation because I had booked all the rooms for everyone.

As a final note I have to say what a shame! Because the accommodation was nice but both Linda and Duncan's aggressive behaviour put a big black mark on their B&B, hence we would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in front downstairs room if you like a sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

An unfortunate bad ending to a lovely overnight stay in beautiful Broadway.
5 rooms booked for 1 night, co-incidentally co-inciding with the worst weather forecast for 2013 and 5 sets of people travelling from as far north as Yorkshire and as far south as Dorset for a surprise birthday weekend away.
Upon arrival at 1pm we explained that one couple would not be able to make it due to the snowdrifts that had ensued the previous evening leaving them stranded and unable to dig their car out of snow for the journey from Huddersfield to the Cotswolds.
Upon departure we were presented with a bill requesting payment for the room in full. Expecting to lose the deposit only we challenged the owners about paying the balance knowing we had advised them lunchtime the day before and when the room remained untouched.
The discussion that followed was both rude and highly unprofessional on their part.
At no point did we refuse to pay for the room, we simply thought it was unfair for them to expect full payment when our friends were genuinely snowed in and unable to make the journey and we had explained this as soon as we knew.
For such a lovely location and well presented property what a shame that the owners behaved shouted at us, when we queried how they thought this was a fair solution.
Surely the point of a deposit is to cover the possibility of failure to arrive due to unforeseen circumstances.
Just to be clear for everyone reading this review, we paid in full but were genuinely shocked by the way we were treated before leaving.
Needless to say we would not return or recommend this B&B to anyone without any doubt that they were 100% sure on the room cancellation policy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 1 night whilst visiting Broadway. Our friend made the reservation for all 5 rooms (5 couples) at £75 per room and paid a £25 deposit for each room. Due to the winter weather this weekend, only 4 couples were able to make the journey to Broadway.
Our room (at the top of the stairs) was nicely decorated, clean, although quite small and a very soft mattress. The bathroom was also clean but small. Breakfast was reasonable with a good offering of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, continental or cooked breakfast. Value for money, I feel the price was adequate for the standard of accommodation and breakfast provided.
Unfortunately, our stay was let down by the owners, Linda and Duncan. In the morning our friend who made the reservation was given a bill of £250, the remaining balance for all 5 rooms. Our friend politely spoke with Linda asking why we were being charged for 5 rooms if only 4 were occupied. He explained that he was happy to sacrifice the £25 deposit paid for the room but did not feel as though he should be charged the remaining £50 as the room has not been used, therefore no cleaning was required and no breakfast needed to be made/ served.
Instead of speaking in a civilised manner, Linda was very abrupt and rude with my friend. She spoke with a raised voice and was rather aggressive in her manner. Duncan was also very abrupt and rude towards my friend. There were other small niggles as a result of Linda’s attitude on that morning which contributed to the overall negative experience. All members of our party were made to feel as if we were an inconvenience to Linda and Duncan during our stay and were made to feel very unwelcome at Breakfast and at checkout.
I am writing this review, not because we were forced to pay for all 5 rooms, but because of the attitude of Linda and her husband when we questioned the charge. I am amazed there is only 1 other similar review about the owners bad attitude on Trip advisor.
None of our party would return to this guesthouse whilst the current owners are in charge. Linda and Duncan, it doesn’t cost anything to be civil and pleasant, maybe you are in the wrong business??

Room Tip: Not fair for me to comment on other rooms as I did not see inside. However no member of our party ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST MIDLANDS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Hadley House as a birthday break for Hubby's birthday.
Linda and Duncan were superb hosts and were most welcoming into there beautiful home.
our room was on the 1st floor and had everything required for our short stay, our room overlooked the not overly busy main road with views of the Broadway Tower in the distance.
we also got to meet Barbara who helped around Hadley House with Breakfast and cleaning of rooms, and she was such a joy to meet,almost instantly you feel comfortable with Barbara as if you have known this lovely lady for ever.
both Linda and Duncan was very Informative about the area and also making sure that we had booked for any favourite restaurants so not to be disappointed.
A nice selection of fruits,cereals,yogurts for breakfast, and of course the cooked breakfasts that filled your tummy until the afternoon cream teas at one of the tea rooms in the Village
Hadley House is definitely the Jewel In Broadway's crown and a true Gem

Room Tip: I would ask for a garden facing bedroom for future vists as the garden at Hadley house is so private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane Alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is what a B and B is meant to be. The breakfast was superb. Since we were seniors walking the Cotswold Way, one of our members started to have leg pains before we got as far as Broadway. We contacted Hadley House to see if he could send a taxi for us. Instead, he drove the extra few miles to get two of our group himself. After dishing out the appropriate ribbing about our failure to arrive on our own steam, he was very welcoming and helpful. It is very clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hadley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadley House

Address: Leamington Road, Broadway WR12 7DZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Broadway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hadley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hadley House to your Saves list