We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel close to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarence Hotel
Save
You added Clarence Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Berkshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great small hotel close to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This great little hotel is close to all the Windsor shops and bars, an easy stroll to the castle. Rooms are clean, comfortable and mine at least has fabulous curtains. A small perfectly formed bathroom with a decent electric shower. I really enjoyed the home cooked breakfast served in the light and airy dining room which overlooks the small courtyard garden. There is a bar which I did not use. Small parking for 4 cars, then other cars need to use public car parks, this is pretty common across all Windsor hotels. A great little hotel that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    119
    30
    21
    11
See reviews for
68
115
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived tired and early in the morning after our transatlantic flight. The hostess was very accomodating allowing us to store our luggage in the office and leave our car in the driveway. Rooms were smallish, plain and clean. Breakfast had very good service. Walk to the castle was short. Word of warning: not much restaurant food available early in the am or late at night on a Sunday in Windsor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A last minute booking at the Clarence Hotel and we were not disappointed.

Location is superb, only 5 minutes from the centre of Windsor. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good.

Stayed in a family room with 2 children which was clean and had plenty of space for one night.

If we go to Windsor again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff, good location and great breakfasts! Car park has room for 4 cars only, so be prepared to leave your keys at reception as a game of musical cars ensues to allow car owners to get out once parked up. We left our car alone for the weekend and we had to move a car to get to ours to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very friendly staff. A great location about 5/10 mins walk to the Castle and 2 mins to main shopping street. Rooms on the small size, but clean and functional. Nice garden, bar and dinning room areas. Road a little noisy, so a room at the back might have been better. Steam room in an out-building a very nice extra. Give reception notice if you wish to use it. It took about 40mins to get up to temperature, but then I had the place to myself. Rooms over 3 floors and no lifts. Parking: only 4 spaces on a first come first serve basis. A lady up the road rents a parking space, so that's what we did. It was nice to park and forget about it for the weekend. Otherwise there is a multi-storey nearby (pay and display). All-round a good 3 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are the suites, so might be worth paying a little extra as all other rooms looked cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff are very helpful & welcoming. The hotel is very well situated for everything you want to see & do in Windsor,also the train station is very close to it. The hotel itself is very clean & tidy. we had a family room which was very spacious.
The staff organised a taxi to take us to Heathrow Airport, the taxi was immaculate & the fare was very reasonable. We had a great time & we would certainly book to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night whilst in Widsor for a family wedding.
We arrived Friday afternoon and all the parking spaces on the drive were taken but a lovely lady on reception pointed us in the direction of a very rare, yellow single line that we parked at for the whole weekend - great insider knowledge that saved us a fortune and lots of hassle!
Great location - literally a stone's throw from the main shopping street and the castle.
We had two different rooms as I booked the Friday night at very late notice. Both rooms were nice - clean, tidy. Good bathrooms. It is a B&B, not a 4* hotel but has a lovely, friendly, personal feeling about it.
When we left for the wedding on Saturday morning we simply left out bags packed up and they were moved for us to the other room, and we took our new room key on the way out with us.
Breakfast - really nice. Great cereal selection. On Sunday morning they were a little rushed but still so friendly and polite. Breakfast does finish a little early (9.30am on the weekends) but it ensures you get up and make the most of this gorgeous area.
We felt a little worse for wear after the wedding so the lovely reception lady said we could check out later (12ish) and the cleaners would do our room last - V grateful for extra sleep!
Would reccommend and thinking of returning so we can spend the whole day at Windsor Castle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.