We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the food and the presentation and so close to the castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Windsor SL4 1PH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
camborne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“loved the food and the presentation and so close to the castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

this place felt very much liked you had gone back in time .when cakes were presented on very elegant tiered plates. lovely sandwiches no crusts of course, all very regal .....and .for those of us who cannot eat gluten ,they had some lovely dishes meats and fish ,all wonderfully cooked and elgantly displayed......the atmophere was of a past era just perfect to finish off a visit to the castle....the prices were not cheap ,but you did get what you paid for well worth a visit...

Room Tip: this hotel is in a perfect location if you need to stay overnight here after a visit to the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, General Manager at Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. In particular, we would like to thank you very much for your kind comments regarding food presentation.
Thank you very much once again for your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    260
    158
    98
    64
See reviews for
130
331
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Hotel is in perhaps the best location in Windsor ! Rooms overlook the Castle and its main entrance, so HM can wave as she drives past if youre standing by your window. Its also convenient for great shopping on the left or the right of the Hotel, and features a dreamy spa connected (via a bit of a labyrinth, it must be said !) to the Hotel.

Service was great, friendly and cooperative, and the rooms clean and well kept .. though I wouldnt rate this as the most classy or premium property I've stayed in over the past several months.

Breakfast left a little bit to be desired (sorry - buts thats an imortant one for me !), but at the other end of the day, the bar customer service was fantastic !

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the castle - there's not much to look at, or to really provide any unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was organised for us as part of a hen party. The organiser had popped in the night before with some goodie bags to be put in the bride-to-be's room as a surprise. On arriving on the Saturday, we were told they were not in the room as it was not clear which room they needed to go in. If we had 50 rooms fair enough, but we only had three booked so surely if they were uncertain, you would put them in one of the rooms and adjust the bookings accordingly on our arrival. We were checked in and asked to wait in the bar area whilst they sorted it out, they them bought the bright pink bags through the bar area right in front of the bride-to-be - so much for the surprise. Surely they could have been put in a large bag or a box to she didn't see them.

We got to our rooms to find a fantastic view of the castle and the rooms were nicely done out and clean, except we had asked for twins and we all had doubles. They were not even king size doubles, just standard sized, so sharing with mum proved for a sleepless night afraid to move for fear of waking her up.

There are a few things i would expect when paying that much for a room - face cloths, complimentary water and breakfast included, but no such luck.

On the plus side the hotel was located right in town, so handy for the shops, restaurants and bars. With more attention to service and the little things, this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Family trip to LEGOLAND and Windsor castle. Found the Harte and Garter on Laterooms.com . I always thought it would have been out of our pocket !! It wasn't. Staff were fantastic. Ate in restaurant all three nights they were very accommodating towards our daughter who has anaphylactic food allergies. Particularly the Italian Manager.
Will return next time we visit.
Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a Castle View room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my wife have staye dhere on a number of occasions. The staff are always very helpful(answering emails almost immediately) and always very polite. The hotel has a lovely feel and the location opposite the castle always makes it feel a special place to stay. Parking is available a few mins walk away and the shops are also just a minute or two walk. There are also plenty of restaurants close by if you dont wish to dine in the hotel itself. The rooms we have had have all been very spacious with views of the castle.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with castle views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for 3 nights. The location is fantastic, being right opposite the castle gate and next to the main shopping street. If one is lucky enough to get a castle facing room, it would be great (I didn’t get one though I’d requested it with my reservation). Some of my colleagues also stayed here at the same time, 2 of them got really tiny rooms with no space to move and with small beds. The room I got was better and a decent sized room. The place was clean. I don’t know why the English hotels still have separate hot and cold water taps in the sink – you either freeze your hands or burn them. Thankfully the shower had a mixer and one could get the right temperature. I didn’t have breakfast in my room rate but it wasn’t a problem as there was a patisserie close enough that opens at 7am. As the hotel seems to be spread over 2 buildings with the wall in the middle torn down, some rooms are only accessible after a few steps down and then up the corridor after the lift– which isn’t convenient when one has heavy luggage. Some minor niggling issues I faced – the internet access code provided was supposedly valid for 72 hours but actually expired every 24 hours, so one had to go to reception each day to get a new code. Also, on my last evening, I could not enter my room and had to again return to reception to get the card revalidated.

Room Tip: Ask for castle facing room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stay at the Harte & Garter for business several times a year. It never gets old staying in the heart of Windsor. The restaurant, including breakfast buffet, is surrounded by windows that overlook the castle. I also appreciate the staff. It is a smaller place than the 'standard business hotel', but for me it creates a calmer atmosphere before and after busy days at the office. Americans need to know that the rooms are smaller but the hotel was renovated a few years back so the bathrooms are modern and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: If you are here for a 'once in a lifetime' trip or special event, make sure to pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street, Windsor SL4 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.