We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LEGOLAND Resort Hotel to your Saves list
LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Maybe a distorted view but we went with our daughter and son in law and two grandchildren.
We stayed at hotel with them but with hindsight we should have stayed in Wndsor.

Advantage of hotel is you get entry to park 30 mins ahead of others which seemed good but when you get to the ride you have planned for and it has technical problems that somewhat cancels the advantage out. Nevertheless was impressed overall with the theme park.
Hotel is about quantity rather than quality.
With most people wanting breakfast at the same time 8 ish to get early entry into the park its extremely busy and this affects the delivery of the food and drink with machines breaking down and low quality even though there is plenty of it.
the entrance to the restaurant or canteen as we would describe it is very narrow no doubt to control entry but it makes it difficult to get in and out with pushchairs.
Had an evening meal in the hotel again buffet (although to be fair there are other areas to eat) and although less busy as more time and food ok for buffet its still a bit like canteen food.

With the restaurant on the 2nd floor the 2 lifts are very busy and difficult to get with long waits. What makes it more difficult is you need to put your room keycard in to get a lift and if you dont make it in do it again. In fact from 2nd floor you need your keycard to get access to the hotel never mind your own room. this keeps unwanted visitors out but not convenient for guests, more so when your keycard does not work. Never seen this in normal hotels
Reception is small for the size and a quality hotel, so much so you block up access when you wait for a lift as they cordon off a large area of reception for checkout queueing. Thats access to the shop, which apart from reception desks is the only other bit of reception.
The room was clean and theme decorated but one small window did not give much light and the view was of the service area.
The hotel design is that of a budget hotel with clearly not enough communal space.
Hotel carpark is across the road from hotel its fine but if you need to load bags at hotel you have to cross the queues of traffic waiting to get into the theme park not a good design
So all in all lots of minor issues , nothing major but given the prices not good value.
maybe they work on fact people dont return that often

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your post. We love to create amazing memories for our guests, so we are extremely sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience.

We take pride in offering a broad range of food that is prepared to a high standard, so we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food during your stay. Our team will always endeavour to rectify any meals that fall below these standards when they bought to their attention in the restaurant.

We appreciate all of our guests' feedback and are again very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss your experience directly with a member of our Customer Services team, then please contact customer.services@legoland.co.uk.

The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    379
    148
    57
    45
See reviews for
840
7
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Legoland has been on my sons wish list for sometime . Having saved sun vouchers for a stay in Chichester we also got £93 worth of tickets for legoland Windsor . Having had an easy journey getting there as it was well signed post (my son managed not to see any of the brown sign as luckily he was busy drawing) on arrival greeted by friendly staff. My sons face was a picture and he couldn't contain his excitement . If I could have bottled his reaction I would have . First to miniature world . Bit weathered but still brilliant . Onto fun in the duplo water valley . Soooo much fun was had by both my son and daughter watched over by Gramdma . Food was good value had rotisserie chicken kids ate free. Would love to go again and stay in the hotel with a two day pass . Bit of a cheek having to pay for parking when tickets are quite expensive . Don't underdtand why it is not free . That's my only gripe

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent 3 nights last week at the hotel & 2 days in the park itself, the hotel is brilliant for kids without going into the park the facilities were great there were meet & greet characters, story time, lots of lego all around to play with & the pool was perfect for kids. The rooms are spacious & we had a kingdom room which is decorated lovely lots of lovely lego pieces around & a little gift in the chest which was a lovely touch. The staff were always helpful & friendly. Only downside was the food Bricks Restaurant is all buffet and for the price its a little basic. The Skyline Bar is a little better but does not have that much choice. Id recommend going out to eat in the evenings. And the extra half hour in the park in the mornings is great, an hour would be even better they should open at 9am at peak times its brilliant to get on a few of the popular rides before its too busy.

Room Tip: we were room 217 a little noisy in the evening/night seemed to be a lot of moving of tables or chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed one night for a work event the following day. From an adults perspective: beds are really uncomfy, shower screen did not touch side of bath so flooded the floor and the food we ordered room service came to us lukewarm. But for children: rooms are fantastically themed - stayed on the 'Adventure floor' so think Indiana Jones. Attention to detail is great - novelty picture carpet, lego Indy hat, lego scorpion, lego parrot, lego betterfliesa etc. Little quiz in room where you have to get the combination to open the safe, seperate childrens area with their own tv, bunk beds - all good fun for children, but, not so much for adults who pay for it all!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for sharing your feedback. The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort Hotel is aimed mainly at 2-12 year olds. The Resort Hotel aims to give families a totally unique, high quality experience.

We are disappointed to read your comments regarding the standard of service that you received when using our room service. Please note that our reception team are always on hand if guests have any complaints, issues with their room or would like to request anything extra (such as additional teas, coffees, toiletries) Thank you for addressing this issue in your feedback, please be assured that it will be passed onto the relevant area managers so that the necessary improvements can be made.

Thank you again for your feedback.

The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Back 3 days since our holiday at Legoland Resort Hotel with husband and 4 year old son. We stayed in the Adventure Premium Room which was fun and our son loved it. We decided to get an afternoon snack at the Skyline Bar, but found the menu limiting if you wanted just a plain, or toasted sandwich. We ordered chips which were undercooked and my husband could not finish eating the chicken burger (unusual for him)! Breakfast at the Bricks restaruant was chaotic and the scrambled eggs over cooked with a rubbery texture. The restuarants in the Legoland Park did not fair any better. The Pizza and Pasta Restuarnt was overpriced and did not offer a wide variety for our son. It also had no desserts on offer. The Burger Kitchen as a fast food restuarant did not compare to the bigger fast food chains and we struggled looking for a place that would make up a plain sandwich for our son, but eventually found the Hill Top Cafe that had ready made sandwiches etc. Overall the quality and variety was very poor for the money charged.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are well decorated, but might be quieter if you request a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're pleased to hear that your son had lots of fun at the resort and that you had an enjoyable stay overall. However, we're sorry to hear that this was somewhat let down by our food offering not meeting your expectations. As we cater for such a large audience our restaurants need to be able to appeal to all tastes and also be convenient, 'on-the-go' style food.

We take pride in offering a wide range food options to a high standard. When our guests provide us with feedback on the day we will of course do all can to rectify the issue and replace the meal. You mentioned that your husband could not finish his meal at our Skyline Bar. If this was down to the quality of the meal we do hope that you raised this with a member of our team at the time so that we could have resolved this for you.

Please be assured that we value all feedback that we receive from guests and we will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant management.

Thanks,
The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from legoland where we had a two night stay. We were told when booking our adjoining two rooms that we would have 3 days in the park. This being Tuesday (when we arrived) until Thursday when we departed. When we got there we were told we only had 2 passes. After standing at reception for an hour waiting for them to speak with manager, deputy manager etc they told me they couldn't do anything but gave me customer services number. I called this and the lady already knew about the problem and said we had been offered two complimentary tickets. (We hadn't and there was 2 adults and 10 kids). I accepted these reluctantly after we were told we wouldn't get anything else. I figured when we came back another time at least we'd have two less to buy.
Checked in, all fine. Went swimming, again fine. Then later on looked at the tickets which were valid for that day only. Went to reception again, stood waiting half an hour to be told there was nobody available and it would be sorted out by the next day. Next day came and nobody knew what I was talking about, told to try again the next day. Did this and got a very unhelpful manager who wouldn't do a thing despite this being their error not mine.
So not impressed at all. Paid a fortune for this break and was real let down. Asked for head office details and was told they didn't have that and given customer service number again. Useless managers who need training in customer services. I've had better service and respect at a premier inn. I'm not one to complain at all but in this instance I was furious with the response. Wouldn't go again. Was also disappointed with the price of drinks in the hotel, extortionate prices and the entertainment was very repetitive. Not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
We're very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay at the LEGOLAND Windsor Resort Hotel. Our team work incredibly hard to try and ensure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay with us so we'd like to take this opportunity to apologise that this was not met on this occasion.

We do hope that the matter was resolved with our Customer Services team in the end and that we can welcome yourself and your family back to the resort in the future.

Thanks,
The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed one night with our two children aged 5 and 7. We had fun, we appreciated the swift check in and access to the park. Was not aware it open 30 minutes earlier for guests though - I think this should be made clear. We had a adventure themed room which was lovely. would have liked that the separated sleeping area for children was separated by a door too but it was still better than a regular family room. Staff was friendly we had no issues during our stay. kids enjoyed the evening entertainment in front of the restaurant and gosh did they like they little treasure hunt in the room!
Couple of things- I was surprised the Bricks restaurant was a buffet. The choice was wide, the quality ok. same for breakfast. The bed was just awful though! way too soft!

Room Tip: A themed room was lovely. Views on the park are probably better than the road but be aware you see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and we thank you for your feedback.

We hope to welcome yourself and your family back to the resort in the future.

Thanks,
The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LEGOLAND Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your LEGOLAND Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.