We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic visit with the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added LEGOLAND Resort Hotel to your Saves list
LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love it here, and with two lego mad children it is their idea of heaven! We have stayed twice and both times it has been first class. The themed rooms are wonderful and the sleeping arrangements for children in their own 'alcove' with TV are perfect. They get their own space as do we. There is every attention to detail and the lego treats in the room are a wonderful touch. Food is good as is the entertainment for the little ones - situated perfectly for adults to watch close by from the comfort of the bar! The new outside play area is a welcome addition and we also love the swimming pool - if you can go there when the park is open - we had it ot ourselves but it get SO busy mid to late afternoon! It's not the cheapest option but to be on the park and to get early access too makes it really worthwhile and we think good value for money overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your post and review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and we hope to welcome you back for a third time this year! Thanks, The LEGOLAND team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    346
    143
    50
    40
See reviews for
773
7
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed two nights with two children aged 2 and 8 and were also going into the park on three days.
You can park right outside the hotel to leave your luggage, and the car park is a very short walk away.
The reception area sets the tone for the rest of the hotel,
The lifts up and down the floors are a real pain but to be fair we didn't wait too long.
The Pirate room was excellent, the children loved the bunk beds and searching the room clues to open their safe.
The double bed is quite small.
There is ample space and storage
Breakfast is superb, a great choice, cooked and presented well and filled you all day. whilst eating the children could run around the small play area which was great.
There is a great park just by they entrance to legoland.
Adults go to this hotel for their kids and it is geared towards them so keeps them really happy. If Adults need it, there's a large bar area to escape.
We have booked to go again in June 2014

Room Tip: I personally would not pay the extra for a view or superior room as you are not in there long enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is a small resort hotel which caters for kids so as an adult you may have some gripes. My family and I stayed here for a Santa Sleepover on Dec 23 at the beginning of our UK Christmas holiday. I found check in to be quick although the reception area was crowded. The reception staff were proficient and gave me all the information I needed for our short stay. I took a standard room which was set up for 3 children and was just about large enough to have a kids area separate from the adults. The bathrooms are small but sufficient and the rooms were clean. Although I read on previous TA reviews that the beds are a little firm I had no issues and the beds in our room were comfortable and quiet.

The food in the restaurant was only ok but was filling. Importantly the kids were able to get the typical kid pleasing foods like chips, fish fingers and chicken etc along with soft drinks and juices. The kids were happy eating there for dinner and breakfast. The kids also liked the puppet entertainment in the evening as well as the park visit the next day where they had open access to the park and only had to wait a short while to meet Santa.

The access to the park was organised on the checkout date with a vehicle made available to take our group to the main entrance and the concierge staff were great in looking after our large amounts of luggage and loading it on the taxi later in the day.

From an adults perspective this is a typical simple resort hotel which can be a little expensive for both room and food. The rooms are standard and simple enough although a little small and the food was nothing special. The staff were proficient and helpful. From a kids perspective however they will enjoy it and I was glad they enjoyed their first night in the UK. My kids would give it 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor2014, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're so pleased to hear that your kids would give their stay 5 out of 5. We hope to welcome you back to the resort in the future. Thanks, The LEGOLAND Windsor team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked for one night stay to celebrate New Years Eve with our 4 year old and 1 year old. This included entry to the Legoland park for one day from 11.00 - 18.00. We found there were enough rides and attractions open to enjoy. We hadn't booked the Meet the Elves in the Winter Wonderland experience as didn't have information on this, however the Elves let us have a look around to see where Santa sat which was brilliant - thank you Elf Folk my 4 year old loved this! What a shame this isn't included in the New Year package. Checked into the Hotel around 4.00 pm check in fine, room was amazing, beds comfortable, separate kids sleeping area. Dinner included in package but was disappointed. Buffet style set up with reasonable choice but the food we had seemed to not be a good temperature, almost cold. Evening entertainment was ok however extremely frustrating when we could not find a seat or table all night where we could sit down together. With a baby this was hard so my husband went and got a chair from the restaurant in the end. The fireworks were amazing and made the evening. My daughter enjoyed the music and puppet show. Breakfast in the restaurant was the same as the evening, food not at a good temperature but plenty of choice. Swimming facilities really good for children.
Overall we had a lovely time (all of the hotel staff were really pleasant and nice) but not convinced we would spend the £400 again on staying at the hotel again for New Year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Julie. Thank you for taking the time to review us. The team at the Resort work incredibly hard to try and ensure all of our guests have a fun day out with us, so we are delighted that overall you had a great stay at the Resort. However, we will pass your comments regarding the food temperature in the buffet and the seating arrangements in the bar area onto the relevant team, so they can ensure that these areas are looked into. Thanks again, The LEGOLAND Windsor team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked the Legoland Resort Hotel for the New Years Eve, Everything about the actual hotel was just brilliant, and what we had hoped for in every way. the children LOVED IT...but...with restricted rides only available on New Years Eve and nothing available on New Years Day, it was if the park was closed, so over-all not quite as good as we expected.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEGOLAND_Windsor2014, Social Media Executive at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Freddy. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're so happy to hear that you loved the hotel and had a great stay. However, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the attractions that were open in the park over the New Year period. As this was an event during our park closed season only a few attractions were open specially for the event and this was made clear in all advertising and messaging. Thanks, The LEGOLAND Windsor team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Was very lucky to win a Santa sleepover night in a competition so we headed there with our 2 grandchildren aged 2 and a half and three and a half. We chose a pirate room as the little boy had a pirate ship for Christmas and loves all pirate stories. The check-in was quick and easy although I found it strange that I had to pay an extra £5 for the 2 year old to have a gift from the elves the following day as the prize was for 2 adults and 2 kids and if they'd been older there would be no charge! The room was fantastic, the kids loved it and the extra touches of a bedroom treasure hunt and leaving out a Lego candy cane to start another hunt in the morning was great. We headed immediately to the pool and they loved it and became quite brave on the water slide, which was great for little people. We eat in the family restaurant, which offered good choice and under 3"s don't pay, which was a benefit as they don't eat very much and £7.95 each would have been a bit steep. We didn't get involved with the entertainment as they were very tired and wanted to go back to their pirate room, where they snuggled down and slept well all night..... We didn't, the bed was rock hard and at one stage walking the plank may have been a better alternative, it was so uncomfortable. Anyway up early, off for another splash and then a great breakfast with plenty of choice. We then had the visit to the park which was difficult due to the awful weather but the kids loved it, especially the Atlantis voyage. All in all a fantastic prize to have won!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a 1 night stay for our 5 year old's Christmas present on 29 Dec. The staff were wonderful - helpful and friendly to all the children. We chose the pirate room and it was very clean and beautifully decorated. My son was speechless! He found friends within minutes running around. This hotel is 100% focused on the children and it is so nice not having to worry about them being too noisy etc.

On day 1 we had lunch in the skyline bar which was very tasty and then checked in. Next was a visit to the splash world which was great fun for all of us and we wished we had gone twice.

The entertainment was the low point. A lego santa and lego dragon came on stage. My son thought they were lonely people who didn't have friends so they dressed up to meet people! Next was a puppet show which was a little awkward. The disco was brought alive by the staff.

They have an xbox suite which I disliked as most young boys spent all their time there, including ours. Without it they would play more but the lure of the latest games was just too tempting.

We went to the buffet restaurant for supper which had perfectly good food and something for everyone.

Day 2 we had a very good breakfast at 9.30 and checked out at 10.30. We had an elf treasure hunt to do with a little prize at the end.

The park visit was good. Only a few rides open and it was pouring with rain but our son didn't care or notice. Holly Crackers our elf was wonderful and the lego present was very good quality.

We would definitely go again as it was a very special and fun few days and the little touches made it magical for our son. 1 night is a good length - 2 would be repetitive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LEGOLAND Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your LEGOLAND Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.