We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added LEGOLAND Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
1 review
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to legoland on Friday 23rd August , would have probably avoided the school holidays but my daughter loves the turtles at the moment so we thought we would go as its turtles weekend.

We got there at a good time of about 9am and we got straight in without queuing, only paid roughly £60 due to getting army discount ( has its benefits ).

We got a few rides in early on and noticed the queues building up from 11 am onwards so we did the things that didn't need to be queued for, pirate show , puppet show , skateboard show , mini land , shops had our picnic and watched a skateboard display, towards the end of the day we got on all the other rides without queuing for more than 10 - 15 mins.

Overall we had a fantastic day , yes it was extremely busy but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    323
    135
    48
    38
See reviews for
733
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

we took two grandchildren here last weekend stayed 1 night, 2 days in park, hotel really good, breakfast good, bacon too fatty for us but there was a really good choice and everywhere was really clean, this was in bricks dinning room, the staff really good service, couldnt fault it really.We stayed in a kingdom room and found it spotless, and spacious, the kids loved their own telly and own area with their beds in, we all slept well and found it very quiet at night. We were a bit disappointed with the toy in the treasure chest a small lego figure and too hard to make for a 6 and 5 year old.The swimming pool we all enjoyed although a bit small it was still good. The lifts could have been a bit bigger for the hotel size, they were good when they talked to you though.We also ate in the skyline bar and found it very good, prompt service and excellent food, maybe could have had a bit more menu choice. The kids liked the outdoor play area and the x boxes inside, also the little show at night. Overall a excellent stay.

Room Tip: kingdom rooms are good location because they are on same floor as swimming pool and dinning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We travelled here last year for my son's 4th Birthday. We stayed 3 nights at the hotel in a Pirate themed standard room. My son is big into pirates so this was absolutely perfect for him. The room was perfect, a bunk bed area for the children with their own tv and treasure chest of lego. The adults area was perfect, keeping in theme of the room without going too over board!! The hotel was pretty new so everything was very clean and tidy. The kids (and us) loved the lego pit in reception where you can build to your hearts content. The pool area was fantastic with a swimming pool for the adults/older kids and a water play area for the younger one's. There was a slide and a water gun area, little fountains to play in too. The restaurant has a low level buffet for the younger one's to help themselves and an ice cream factory too. The food was OK, not fine dining by any means but good enough. The children were kept entertained by characters on the stage too, giving us some adult time to enjoy a glass of wine or 2. There was also a small play area inside the hotel too. You do get early entrance to the park but there was only 2 rides to chose from. We managed to do all the park in a day and spent the 2nd day half in the park and half in the hotel's pool. We only ate in the hotel 1 night, we drove into Windsor and ate with family on the other nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First impressions wonderful, the rooms are very well set up with a separate section for the kids, with bunk beds and their very own TV. They loved the treasure hunt in the room where they had to find clues to solve a code to get into the monkey chest to retrieve their wee lego gifts, fantastic!! The lego building competition in the foyer was also good fun for the kids. The pool area was good fun but no area for parents to sit and watch, no problem for us as we were in the pool with the kids.

We unfortunately stayed while some building work was going on so did not have full access to the hotel. We were provided a dinner because of this work. The meal proved very disappointing. The waiting staff at the restaurant and bar area were pretty poor, all appeared to be quite young and not very well trained. There was no access to toilets from the restaurant and was a long trek back to our room. We did ask if we could get an early breakfast delivered to our room due to our early check out, no one seemed interested in helping with this so we went without.

Great access to LEGOLAND park which made it easy if you only have a short time available.

Room Tip: Adventure room over looking park was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've just returned from a 2-day, 1-night stay in the Resort. I agree with the other reviews that it is very expensive but my 5 year old loved it!

We stayed in a Pirate Room in the hotel and both my kids loved it. The Lego characters that walk around the hotel being a fave with my 2 year old daughter. The food was pretty dreadful though and I'd liken it to service station standards!! Prices were similar to those in the actual resort buffets though so it was £50 for the four of us. I'd rather pay a bit more to eat something more enjoyable!! I wouldn't want to eat there again but it would be a shame to eat out and miss the entertainment in the Hotel for the kids. From an adult's perspective it's pretty dreadful but my two loved it!!

The pool area in the hotel was small but good and it wasn't busy so fine whilst we were there.

The bedrooms are spacious, clean and modern and the treasure hunt that provides a code for the chest with lego treats is a fantastic idea!

Couple of tips for future guests:

You can park in the Hotel car park from the day you arrive and enter the Resort from the Hotel to avoid the massive queues. I think you also get to enter from about 9:30 providing half an hours access to the resort before the masses.

Children played in the park until after 10:30pm so if you don't want noise ask for your room to overlook somewhere else!!!

I would go back to the resort but I would definitely try to do it outside of school holidays if you can!!

Bit about the Resort:

I too was amazed by the Lego models and find them truly fantastic! The q-bot system that allows you to jump queues by paying doesn't sit comfortably with me so we didn't do this the first day and didn't actually go on many rides. Mainly spent time looking around. On the second day we crumbled at 1:30 and bought the basic q-bot after my son and his dad queued for over an hour to go on the fire-engines. Within this hour we also had to pass Sam between the barriers so I could take him to the toilet and then pass him back!! An hour is just too long for such young children! The basic q-bot isn't as wrong as 'queue jumping' sounds as you can only reserve a place at one ride at a time. It just enables the children to play (and go to the toilet!!) during the time you'd usually be queuing. I do however think that enabling those better off than others to pay £70pp to literally go to the front of any queue pretty disgusting. Aren't LEGOLAND making enough as it is? Where's a modern-day Robin Hood when you need one?

Room Tip: Children played in the park until after 10:30pm so if you don't want noise ask for your room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar,Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July and enjoyed it immensely. It is fantastically themed and is a great way to end the day after the park. The poo area is small but, once gain, is well themed and is a great way to cool of in the afternoon before heading out to the park until it closes (too early in my opinion!). The bar area is a great place to sit and relax while the children are entertained by the hotel entertainers. One thing that ha changed though is that they have got rid of the lego in the children's play area and that seemed to be a retrograde step. However, I can see that the replacement Xboxes are quieter and far easier to tidy up. The rooms are fantastic and I can see no reason to 'upgrade' to a fully themed room as the ordinary rooms are well themed and the kids' area is the same in both room types. Likewise, a park view would be of limited attraction as well - there is not really a huge amount to look at in the park! The kids' area is great, a separate area where they have bunk beds and a TV. The breakfast and dinner are buffet style, appropriate considering the only reason to stay here is to have family time and fun. The food is good, and there is a great selection. I thought it good value as well.
I would definitely stay here again despite it costing £250 a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth , Devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took our three grandchildren for a' surprise' two night break in a Premium Adventure Room. The look of total amazement on all three faces as we checked in was priceless! Yes, it's expensive but the whole experience was totally worth it, no opportunity was missed to showcase Lego at every situation and area in the Hotel. The manned lifts, corridors, play areas, reception, restaurant and bar areas all held displays of Lego creations in so many clever ways, even pictures lining the corridors were framed in Lego. The room was just so full of wonderfully thought-out touches, some so subtle we kept noticing ' something else' throughout our stay! Indiana Jones creatures could be spotted in tucked away places, treasure chests containing gifts, puzzles etc all Lego themed of course. Two TVs, one in the childrens' area, tea/coffee making facilities, lots of storage, lovely bathroom and all immaculately clean.
It was wonderful to be right on site to go to the Park, ideal when getting back to get ready for dinner.
Food was good and plentiful, children's meals( Lego themed )were listed on menus that were also masks of Lego characters. Chips were shaped as Lego bricks. Staff were always pleasant and efficient at clearing up as the restaurant got very busy at certain times, we chose to go early to eat for this reason. We had breakfast and dinner included and were pleased with both.
There are so many little things that you don't notice at first that are displayed around the Hotel, they really haven't 'missed a trick, to promote the versatility of Lego.
The pool (towels provided) and facilities for children are fantastic, it was lovely to watch the expressions on all the young faces as they spotted the surprises around the Hotel.
There is a useful info pack in the room which we read thoroughly. The Hotel uses a 'hand stamp' method for ID purposes and our grandchildren thought this great fun!
Parking, check-in etc was all straightforward and efficient, Reception staff very pleasant and helpful.
Since our visit we've had the inevitable, 'we did it cheaper by staying at a hotel down the road', but, hey, this Resort Hotel was in a different class as far as 'fantasy worlds for kids' is concerned. The photographs and camcorder footage can only go some of the way to showing the true experience of 'Living within the Adventure'. Go for it!!

Room Tip: We spoke to quite a few guests and all said that they were thrilled with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LEGOLAND Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your LEGOLAND Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.