We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Charles House to your Saves list
Charles House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   89 Arthur Road, Windsor SL4 1RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Windsor B&B and Inns
oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

so nice to have found somewhere affordable in windsor which offers 5 star rooms. The room was spacious, the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was modern and spotless, you are by a road but good double glazing takes care of that. didnt order breakfast we do like a traditional english when we are away but a weatherspoons 10 mins away sorted that.
I also liked the freedom of going in and out without being watched by reception staff or owners of small b & b's. but any problems and the owners are only a phone call away.
one word of warning if you book through booking.com dont use there pin number to gain entry to charles house its the last 4 number on your credit card you book with. unfortunately i took another card with me so i had no pin but a quick phone call to the owners rectified this. thank you

Room Tip: we stayed victoria room on ground floor. large room with small enclosed terrace no noise from rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
22
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent located guest house a five minute walk from the town centre and castle. We stayed in the Victoria room which was spacious and well designed; cleaned to a high standard and lovely little details such as tea/coffee, biscuits, toiletries including bath/shower gel, soap, body lotion, tissues etc which saves on bringing with you. I couldn't fault the accommodation and I am fussy; the added bonus of a 6ft bed was great as it is what I have at home and very rarely find in guest houses or hotels.
The keypad entry system is a great idea no need to carry keys around so very convenient.
All in all a great place to stay would definately recommend and stay again if in the Windsor area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights and found the William room very comfortable, quiet and clean. The only downside was the breakfast - unless you like a kit kat chocolate bar, a banana and walnut muffin, a packet of Edam cheese and sad looking rolls for your breakfast it really is not worth bothering with. I recommend going out for breakfast at one of the excellent cafes in Windsor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, Owner at Charles House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your continental breakfast, this is just a service I offer to my guests if they are leaving early and do not have time to go to a local cafe.

I charge £5.00 but by the time the booking commission is taken off and VAT I am left wih just over £3.00 so it is certainly not a money making operation.

The breakfast comprises of a selection of breakfast cereal and milk, fresh bread rolls to have with jams, marmalades and cheeses, juice, yoghurt and a pastry or muffin, there is also a good range of teas, coffees and hot chocolate along with some biscuits.

If guests prefer they have use of a fridge in their room and there is a Co-Op opposite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

If there is one word to describe Charles House, it is luxurious. The bed is so large that my 5'8" frame can lie across it width ways and still have inches on either end. There's a decent amount of storage, complimentary toiletries and the iPod Dock alarm clock is a very nice little feature.

The breakfast is continental and, as there is no-one on-site, provided as soon as you arrive. I found that there was so much choice, I had enough for two meals! Cereal, rolls, cheese, jams, chocolate, biscuits, juice and yogurt were all on offer, which isn't too bad for the price. Everything was delightfully fresh, contrary to what another review suggested.

One thing I will say is that there is no on-site parking. There is, however, within 100 yards a public car-park.

The keypad thing I personally found to be a godsend. I have significant mobility problem, and not having to fiddle about finding a key was a great relief when trying to manage my luggage. If you yourself have mobility problems, be aware that there is a rather large step to get into the house, but everything after that is level entry for the Victoria room. There is even a little patio area! Plus, after I booked and mentioned my problems, I received an email asking if there was anything that they could do to assist me further. I didn't partake of any help in this instance, but the fact that they offered made them superior to some chain hotels in which I've stayed.

Personally, I will happily stay at Charles House again. Next time I'm visiting Windsor, this will be the first place that I look.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs except for Victoria. Victoria itself is sumptuous to say the least!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have tried to find a better B&B but failed so I had to return to Charles House and am very happy to review this place for the second time - on this occasion I was in the Victoria room. I really tried to find fault with Charles House but yet again all boxes ticked. What I like most about this place is the key less entry which is ideal if you are checking in late, just tap in your unique pin code and you're in. Everything including payment is done on line so no checking out and the breakfast (cereal & rolls) is perfectly adequate (unless you like the full English fry up!) The standard of the rooms is exceptional - clean and functional and spacious without any fuss but also some lovely touches, for example towels with “CH” embroided on them - you don't see that in a normal B&B. The Victoria room even has a little patio area. There are good B&B's out there, some are even great - then you have Charles House! Take note of the parking arrangements, £1.50 overnight after 7pm and before that £1 for 2 hours. Trust me this is good for Windsor. An excellent location for the town and close to the motorway, Charles House represents very good value in a premium location. For “Couples” I suggest the superior rooms and perhaps you will understand why I think Charles House is the best B&B ever.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed at the Charles House from April 22 to may 4th, 2012. The room was spacious, with an on suite. Very clean and modern, confortable and very accessible. No one checks oyu in or out, you pay by credit card when you book, you are given an access code and this expires when you leave the last day. they have a small fridge in the room, with lots of hangers and an ironing board. Flat screen TV, coffee maker with coffee, tea, sugar and milk. Also in the bathroom they had shampoo, soap and hand cream. The room was cleaned on a daily basis. Across there is a supermarket if you need anything to snack, drink. It is also a 5 minute walk to Windsor shopping centre and the Castle. So I was very pleased with my choice, and definetly would recomend it to anyone that is going to Windsor or the close by areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

First things first – this is not a hotel; it is a converted house on a main road into Windsor but you need not worry. Once through the front door via the key code system I was in the “Henry” room on the first floor – I would actually call it a suite because I was seriously impressed; why, because first impressions mean everything i.e. clean, clean, clean; it looked clean, it smelt clean and it was immaculate!! Henry is a large room with a small dining table and very nice en-suite with some great touches: the owners know a thing or two about how a guest house ought to be and should be justifiably pleased with what they have achieved. Yes there is a little traffic & aircraft noise but the rooms are double glazed throughout and though not exactly the best views in the world the windows are all veiled with heavy light blocking curtains and all told I had a good nights sleep. Located close to the centre it is an ideal location, the car park is literally 60 seconds away and is £1.50 per night (7pm – 9am) and is also very reasonable during the day (4 hour max). I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses and this rather sets the standard – well done! If you are perhaps a less able traveller there are rooms on the ground floor but no lifts so if you need a ground floor room suggest you contact the owners.

Room Tip: First floor Henry I believe is one of the larger rooms, absolutely ample room especially if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charles House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles House

Address: 89 Arthur Road, Windsor SL4 1RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charles House, a fabulous guest house in Windsor, Berkshire is only a 5 minute walk from Windsor town centre and Windsor Castle.Featuring state of the art keypad front door and individual room security, meaning no longer having to deal with keys or room tags. Unexpected delay, no problem, complete freedom to come and go using your issued personal PIN.Each room has ensuite facilities offering either King size, twin or super Kingsize beds. Every room has a fridge complete with ice box, for your personal convenience, along with tea and coffee making facilities there is also a hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and an radio alarm clock with IPhone/IPod docking facilities. All our rooms offer complimentary WiFi and Freeview flat screen TV. Windsor Town Centre has many places offering breakfast, but for your convenience we offer a simple continental breakfast ready prepared in the fridge, which you take in the privacy of your own room at a time to suit you, just tick the box when booking. Our town centre rooms are available for adults only, but we do have another guest house just outside Windsor offering plenty of rooms for both children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Charles House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.