We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Herts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Rather lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a one night break. The deal included a 3 course evening meal, bottle of wine and full english breakfast the next morning. Our room was large, very well equipped and furnished lovely, it had a good sized sparkling en suite. We had trouble getting the heating to work, but as soon as I mentioned this to reception, the manager went to sort it within 5 mins, our fault, we actually had left it on air con! The evening meal was absolutely superb, attentive friendly waiting staff who obviously wanted you to enjoy the lovely ambience in the restaurant. The breakfast the next morning was equally good, again really friendly staff who went out of their way to please. We enjoyed a pre dinner drink in the large bar, again the staff really seem to enjoy working here, I think this is down to the Manager who is a friendly presence to guests and staff alike. Hotel is right at the centre of Windsor & for location you couldn't get better. Mercure has got this one just right, just don't change anything or anyone. We had a lovely time and hope to return to this hotel shortly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear HertsWrights,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read about your enjoyable stay with and pleased to see that the service provided by the team was great. I will be delighted to share your feedback with each of the departments as I know they will appreciate your comments and recognition of the hard work and focus on our customer we try to deliver everyday. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    360
    152
    59
    32
See reviews for
198
499
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked to stay here very last minute for a two night new year break and it was fab. The location is great, right in the high street, very close to all the shop and a stones throw from the castle. The food in the restaurant staff were very polite and attentive and the food we had was lovely. The bar staff are a little less interested in you but the bar area itself is very comfortable. The room was nice although the bed wasn't the most comfortable I've ever slept in. There is free parking for guests which is a bonus. We would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Ciderspider1,

Thank you for taking the time to post a response following your recent stay with us. I value your feedback and will share this with all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future hopefully.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had the chance to stay yet again at the Castle Hotel recently, we can say we have been really pleased that the service/ attention we had before is still apparent, nothing is too much trouble for any of the guests, the attention to details to your requirements are paramount to the hotel and its wonderful Manangers/Staff, the housekeeping is top rated. as is the food in both bars/restuarants. The car park to the rear of the hotel some undercover is a boom, you can park up and walk whereever you need to go as you are in central of the towm a few yards oposite the famous Guild Hall and Windsor Castle. The free bus to lego land stops outside the hotel and drops you off at same spot, ideal for taking children to see this wonderful park.The people of Windsor are very welcoming I am sure you will fall in love with the Castle Hotel and Windsor as we did. The Thorpe Family, Derbyshire.

Room Tip: Character rooms with veiws of the Windsor Castle to the front of the hotel however all the rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Thorpefamily,

It was a pleasure to have you back over the Christmas and New Year Period, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us, I know the team will be encouraged and delighted to receive this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Enjoyed our experience on a New Year bash and breakfast. Very good value, champagne and canopies for starters, then sat down to an excellent 7 course meal and entertained with live music. A box of goodies streamers, poppers, masks and party hats per table.
The staff worked hard to make sure everyone had a good time.
The wine and champagne for the table was ordered in the reception in the afternoon and arrived with our name tags at the right time in the evening.
Breakfast was plentiful and the staff so very helpful.
We left only to find I had left my wash bag behind in the room. After a phone call it arrived the very next day.
I hope to return for weekend special, because I can not praise the staff enough, thank you all including the car parking attendant for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony may be pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Dave T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had a fantastic New Years eve with us and will ensure I share all your comments with the team who I know will be delighted with the feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel

Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#5 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Windsor Castle hotel is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, opposite the main gates of Windsor Castle. The Castle and grounds are just a few minute’s walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar@18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.