We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Oakley Court to your Saves list
The Oakley Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked one night away as a surprise for my boyfriend’s birthday. On arrival we were given our room key and told that we were staying in another building across the car park (not in the manor house but an annex that there was no mention of on website). There was no offer of any assistance with bags etc. It was raining so we dashed across the car park and discovered that our key didn't work to access the building. I had to run back, queue again and wait whilst staff tried to upgrade the key. Both of us ended up drenched. I was informed the concierge was too busy to assist. When we did finally get into the building there was an arrow showing us that we now had to go through a fire exit (outside in the rain again) and then back into the building through another fire exit. Not a very good lay out. We had a superior double room with no views at all. The room was spacious and clean, however the shower was complicated to use and we spent 10 minutes trying to turn it off!
I had booked the restaurant for our evening meal, both of us were looking forward to this and were expecting the restaurant to be in keeping with the manor house. Instead there was no atmosphere at all. There were no pictures on the walls and ugly air vents. Every table had a candle on it, no-one lit ours so we had to ask. We had to ask twice for my boyfriends beer. The starters and desserts were not very good and I heard another patron complaining too. The waiters were mixing up food orders throughout and didn't know which course we were on. Not a 4 star experience. No-one even asked how our stay was. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Victoria B

We have a Duty Manager available 24/7 to assist guests or address any concerns guests may have and we always endeavour to address issues at the time as we certainly do not wish guests to leave with a poor impression of our hotel.

I am disappointed to read your feedback however it is very difficult to rectify after the event and my team and I offer sincere apologies for your disappointment.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    413
    155
    82
    53
See reviews for
247
610
21
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
windsor
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My colleagues and I had lunch at Oakley court a few weeks ago. We are a fussy lot and needed changes to our choice of menu. Tina was outstanding and catered to our every need. Bar area is my favourite food stop in this area. Concierge kept stoking up the fire and one could not ask for a more fiendly environment. Neils knowledge of the area is unsurpassed. Lovely welcome and will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear neylon

Thank you - we are pleased to once again receive such positive feedback - it was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope you return again soon.


Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Delightful stay at a very well maintained, well located, friendly hotel. (However, please note a few negatives...)

My partner and I stayed here as a little pre-valentines / birthday weekend get away. When booking I mentioned that it was both our birthdays, so was expecting this to be recognised, but it did not really matter that it wasn’t.

Positives:
- Beautiful main building
- Fantastic pool, gym, bar, restaurant
- Large, comfy rooms with stunning view of the grounds
- Housekeeping staff are amazing, really couldn’t have kept the place cleaner (especially as some of the bedroom features are old and in need of referb!!!!) Well done & thank you housekeeping staff.
-Lovely dinner & breakfast with excellent service staff

Negatives:
- We were texted the day before to say a glass of bubbly would be awaiting us, on arrival we were handed an un-polished, less than half full glass of warm cava. Honestly, ‘if you’re gunna do it, do it properly’!
- Rooms are in horrible 60s style buildings, certainly not what you see on the website!! Very ugly, need updating
- At breakfast there was an extremely rude man (a guest) shouting at the poor waitress because he'd been left waiting for 2mins. It was horrible. I would have liked to see the breakfast manager, who observed the situation, put a stop to guests like this shouting at his staff, especially in front of lots of guests. I felt so sorry for the girl, the man was truly disgusting & the manager not much better.

Overall, I thought the hotel was brilliant and I had a lovely time - The service was flawless and I hope to return in the spring / summer.
(P.s. please add spa treatments!)

Room Tip: The rooms in East Wing are fine, but it is a hideous building on the outside. I suppose it's bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear D_E_ROB21

Apologies for not filling your glass correctly, your comments are noted. We are pleased you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and hope to welcome you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.

We would never encourage the sort of guest behaviour you describe and thank you for bringing this to our attention - we will follow up internally.

Thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband & I have stayed on a previous occasion , we had already asked for a quiet room with Wi-Fi, when we got to our room, up 4 flights of stairs, no help with our luggage, there was no Wi-Fi, so we changed rooms. the only room that was available was in the East wing, which was separate from the main building. it was quiet and we did have Wi-Fi. We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice apart from the room being rather dark, this may be ok in the lighter evenings but not in the middle of Winter ! The buffet breakfast was also very good and served in a different dining room to the evening meal.
We could not fault the staff, but we do feel if the hotel has Wi-Fi advertised on their web site you should have the connection in all of the rooms or inform your guests on check-in if this is not the case in the room that has been allocated to them.
We would stay at the hotel again, but would email to make sure we have a quiet room in the main building with Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: If you require Wi-Fi connection, make sure you request it when checking in at reception or before !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear suejam

We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Oakley Court Hotel. We do have wifi coverage throughout however we offer apologies if the reception was poor at the time of your stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and thank you for your review.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

For the second time in the past six months, my wife and I stayed for a couple of nights, at The Oakley Court Hotel. They have excelled themselves yet again. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the concierge, to the moment we left, it was a very, very nice time. The staff could not be more attentive, the food could not be better, the rooms are great and the facilities, first class. The last time I reviewed this hotel, my only negative point was the breakfast area, it was not very tidy, or clean. However, now you only serve yourself with cold starters, having to order your cooked breakfast and that arrives piping hot and delicious. So there is no problem with that side of things now. I can say with all honesty, that this hotel is more than worthy of its star rating. Would I go back............... yep, in a flash.

Room Tip: The East wing has very nice rooms, many with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear BarneyBerkshire,

Thank you for such a positive review and for your compliments regarding the recent improvements to breakfast standards within the Restaurant. It is always motivating to receive such feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Thank you for your valued custom and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

What a lovely hotel. Great experience, fine dining and especially pleasant over the Christmas holidays. Wonderful service - all very friendly and approachable, we were made to feel very comfortable - mention to Beth who answered all our questions and made a special effort to ensure a lovely day

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Louise-KateB

Thank you for your review. We are all delighted to read that you enjoyed your Christmas getaway and your comments regarding the impressive service provided will be shared with Beth and the team at The Oakley Court Hotel.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed for a long weekend as a honeymoon, staff were so attentive and polite, room was clean, large and had a huge bed. Views and grounds were stunning, food was good (but afternoon tea needs improving) overall a lovely break

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardSmith2014, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Peanutss18

Thank you for your 5* review - we are delighted to receive your positive feedback.

Congratulations and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unrivalled location on the River Thames, the Oakley Court, Windsor, London is a unique historic luxury hotel. Exceptional service levels are our key to delivering many memorable occasions for our business and leisure guests. The setting of many famous films, the history of the hotel cannot be matched by any of our closet rivals - we may not be the newest of hotels but we do have a deep soul with an attitude of service quality that others just dream about - so if you are looking for a unique location to stay or just visit for a cup of tea, maybe just after mooring up your boat, you do not need to look anywhere else - Welcome to the Oakley Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakley Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.