We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque luxury hotel on the bank of The Thames” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Oakley Court to your Saves list
The Oakley Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Picturesque luxury hotel on the bank of The Thames”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rarely does a UK hotel exceed my expectations. the Oakley Court is rare indeed. My wife and I booked a last minute stay here through Booking.com for £171 for one night in a river-view room before we flew from Heathrow.

The exterior of the hotel is a truly remarkable piece of architecture and the grounds are beautiful. The interior of the hotel is equally grand.

Reception service was welcoming, friendly and efficient. Our room (222) was in the West Wing looking down the Thames. The room is very spacious and includes all the usual amenities plus a trouser press (a rare things these days). The king bed was very comfortable.

Our bathroom was spacious and had a lovely deep tub/shower. The bathroom includes a Bidet.

Take time to stroll down the bank of the Thames and soak in the natural beauty of the grounds and the terrific sculptures made from tree branches.

Breakfast was good though the croissants were tiny (I would have preferred full-size fresh croissants at this price).

Dinner costs around £30 per head ... We opted to drive into Windsor for dinner at The Hungry Eye (recommended).

If you have more than one night there are plenty of things to do at this hotel.

Room Tip: Select a river view room to fully appreciate the setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear NigelMA

Thank you for your 5 Star review - I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oakley Ct - I take on board your Croisants comments, I will be changing these to "full size" shortly!

I look forward to you returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Richard Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    413
    155
    82
    52
See reviews for
247
610
21
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just had a long weekend at this hotel,got the usual twin room saga until i insisted that i had booked a double room,then like magic a double room appeared the staff were superb and attended to all our needs the food and drink was good but very expensive even for a hotel, the grounds were beautiful a great view of the river thames,they have their own 9 hole golf course and steam room jacuzzi and spa the rooms are excellent the one we had was a king size bed and so comfortable

Room Tip: we stayed in the west wing and it was quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Johnmc0001
Thank you for your 5 star review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just had a three day Super Break at The Oakley Court Hotel. There is absolutely nothing negative to say about it. The grounds, the hotel, the rooms both bedrooms and public rooms were immaculately and tastefully decorated and very spacious and the restaurant and all hotel staff were excellent. I would most definitely recommend anyone to give it a try. There's plenty of parking and an easy few minutes drive into Windsor where we had no trouble parking. One tip though, if you park right in the centre of Windsor you will pay over double to cost of parking just a 10 minute stroll away on the edge of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear ChristineJ
Thank you for your complimentary review and for recommending the Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We wanted to revisit Windsor and decided to locate ourselves at Oakley Court. We were very impressed with the hotel.The room we chose overlooked the Thames (well worth it) and were spacious and clean.The breakfast at the hotel was very good but we did not dine otherwise at the hotel as we wanted to spend our limited time looking around Windsor and Eton.The only complaint was that the air condtioning was either faulty or inadequate. Other than that criticism very impressed with the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Alan28347
Thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to welcome you again to The Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First the positives - great location, beautiful grounds and property, most of the staff we met were very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms (courtyard wing) were big. Unfortunately for us, we arrived (couple plus baby) and were put in a room (402) with a cathedral skylight .... with no way to block out the light! As a result we had to switch rooms but were not able to do that until the 2nd night of our stay due to having a sleeping baby the first night. The issue here is why have a hotel room and have no way to block out the light, especially in June (was light at 5am). While the hotel staff were apologetic and switched us to a room downstairs the next day, no-one took the step of offering any type of meaningful discount as a result of our inconvenience which frankly is a shame as it left us with a disappointing opinion of this hotel. Would not return however my advice to the management of this property is to pay a little more attention to putting things right - will go a long way to building loyalty.

Room Tip: Not 402!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear GPATB38
Thank you for your review. The room you refer to is very popular and often requested by regular guests. I am sorry this was not to your liking - I can fully understand this room may not have been ideal with a baby. I am pleased to note that you were moved to another room as soon as possible and that all other aspects of your stay were to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just spent a weekend at Oakley Court, Windsor. Expensive but worth it - lovely hotel in a lovely setting. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent and as I am a coeliac and always a little apprehensive about dining out, I was extremely pleased with the restaurant staff's knowledge and helpfulness - they even had gluten-free bread to hand - now that is a first! The facilities are first-class; cleanliness is good and the whole experience was very relaxing. If I have one complaint, it is that despite the weather being mild the hotel rooms always felt very warm and muggy - the air-conditioning had to be on full-blast in the bedroom.

Would I go again - you betcher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room riverside - better view and more chance of a cooling breeze in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Rickycat77
Thak you for your complimentary review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took a trip to Windsor for three nights and got a terrific deal at this hotel. It was easy to find and the grounds were lovely which gave us a good feeling when we rocked up. Check in was quick and we were escorted to our room by a lovely chap who told us a bit of history of the hotel and the different movies that had been shot there. Our room was lovely, however we were woken up at 6am by the people above moving around the creaky floor. As we were staying for the three nights we spoke to Catherine on Reception who quickly and efficiently moved us from the stable block to the West Wing where we were given another lovely room and we continued our holiday. The service was friendly and acceptably efficient and the grounds were stunning. We will definitely return to Windsor again and when we do The Oakley Court will be our hotel of choice. highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Fi M
We are pleased that you had a "wonderful stay" and we look forward to you returning to the Oakley Court Hotel next time you visit Windsor. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unrivalled location on the River Thames, the Oakley Court, Windsor, London is a unique historic luxury hotel. Exceptional service levels are our key to delivering many memorable occasions for our business and leisure guests. The setting of many famous films, the history of the hotel cannot be matched by any of our closet rivals - we may not be the newest of hotels but we do have a deep soul with an attitude of service quality that others just dream about - so if you are looking for a unique location to stay or just visit for a cup of tea, maybe just after mooring up your boat, you do not need to look anywhere else - Welcome to the Oakley Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakley Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.