We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Oakley Court to your Saves list
The Oakley Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at this fabulous hotel. We had booked a river view room and got a great room on the top floor in the mansion itself with a great view across the gardens and the their own mooring on the river Thames. Tranquil.

The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The room was clean and well appointed with a four poster bed. A picky guest might comment on some of the furniture being chipped in places here and there, but it is antique furniture and it fits in with a gothic mansion so it worked for us. The room was a little cold initially but we soon worked out the heating on the radiator but one has to remember it is a Victorian mansion so large rooms take a bit longer to heat up etc. The bathroom was also clean and I guess it had been refurbished recently; a good drench shower and plenty of room.

The hotel has a main dining room for fine dining and a less formal dining option through the bar in a beautiful room with an adjoining conservatory. I'll review the main dining room separately as it deserves a mention of its own.

The leisure centre looked clean and well appointed; typically we had taken swimming togs etc but never got to use them.

The grounds were well kept and, given the amount of trees in the grounds and the time of year, it was remarkably free of dropped leaves.We had planned a walk around the grounds on our last morning but the weather got the best of us, next time we'll come in the summer.

Its about 10 minutes to drive into Windsor which I'm guessing is the main draw for the hotel and concierge were very helpful in proving a street map and recommendations for parking as it can get very busy very quickly.

Its not a cheap hotel to stay in but I believe we got value for money. We stayed on a B&B basis and had a tremendous breakfast to set us up for the day, a hot buffet breakfast over the weekend and a menu order breakfast mon to fri. We were a little late coming down to breakfast monday morning and with staff clearing tables we didn't order until after breakfast was officially over but the kitchen just took it in their stride and produced a very good eggs benedict for me and an exceptionally well cooked haddock with poached eggs for my wife.

Overall I found the staff had a 'can do' approach to guest services which was refreshing for a 'London' hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a superiod or deluxe river view room, a little more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the summer to enjoy and appreciate our beautiful grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    414
    155
    82
    53
See reviews for
247
612
21
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good to arrive on a dark evening and be welcomed by a concierge to help with luggage and offer a glass of wine. Comfortable spacious deluxe room in the East Wing, king size bed, two arm chairs and view to the river. All clean and OK, some signs of wear in the bath and door handles, but nothing of concern. Sparse toiletries:no conditioner, you might want to take your own. Hair dryer in bathroom is small funnel on end of tube (which gets too hot) from box on wall, is another small but not v powerful hair dryer in desk drawer in room. Shower a little underpowered and didn't seem to be able to alter temperature, but was comfortably warm. Is good to have tea making equipment including a teapot in room and UHT milk in small fridge. Staff all seemed pleasant and efficient. Bar and sitting areas provided comfortable lounging with friends, very good fresh biscuits given with tea. Restaurant music a little loud for easily conversing at a large table. Food good and enjoyed (scallops, sea bass) but quite expensive, in my opinion. Breakfast buffet was fine, best was hot food cooked to order (eggs benedict); hot buffet on busier breakfast morning had good choice, husband enjoyed hash browns! Spa is short walk outside to separate building, pleasant and comfortably warm pool, good sized towels. Had gone to hotel for a function and hadn't chosen it myself, but would happily go back again.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms in the East wing are v quiet with pleasant view over lawns to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us. My team and I are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed there for a reunion and the room was fine. Breakfast was good and the dinner ( for around 150 people) was perfectly acceptable.

Only complaint was the the water in the shower was feeble and not very hot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I offer my apologies for the problem you experienced with your shower during your stay. I am however pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay despite this isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I visited this beautiful hotel for my cousins wedding. What a beautiful building and surroundings. The bride and groom made their arrival by boat down the river Thames which was wonderful. A lovely drinks reception was provided of pimms and lemonade and champagne. The food was gorgeous, I couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review following your cousin's wedding at The Oakley Court Hotel. We are pleased your found the day to be so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just returned home from a most splendid afternoon tea at Oakley Court.
I thought it important to write this review having read a previous report that was suggesting that the tea was poor. This review 'popped' up as I reviwed their details on the website.
We were waited on by a very helpful young lady and a ypung man, Richard Hall, who were both very attentitive and polite.
Our' eyes were certainly bigger than our bellies' so Richard kindly packed all the remaining delicious cakes fo us to take home!
A lovely birthday treat in wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your valued review following your Afternoon Tea at The Oakley Court Hotel. Many guests return time and time again to enjoy our quality afternoon tea in comfortable, beautiful surroundings and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable afternoon. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dieog
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Oakley Court Hotel the night before our flight back to the US from Heathrow. It is a beautiful Victorian hotel with a lovely garden that goes down to the Thames River. The bar area was a perfect place to meet with our friends who live nearby, and everyone at the hotel was attentive and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others. It was an outstanding value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for rating our hotel so highly. Convenience for airports, transport links and the proximity to local attractions are what most of our guests visiting the UK find to be helpful and add value to their stay. We hope to welcome you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter's wedding reception was held on Friday 2 November at Oakley Court and I can only say that the event was a major success in no small way, as a result of the quality of the hotel and its staff. From the preparation for the event, to dealing with all of our guests, the quality of the rooms, the quality of the food etc., this was a magical event. My daughter and her new husband were so fortunate to choose this hotel. The staff could not do enough for us and the quality of service was second to none. The setting of the hotel is simply beautiful and I cannot praise them enough. Most outstanding quality? "The staff - simply magnificent".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your words of appreciation following your daughter's recent wedding at The Oakley Court Hotel. We are delighted to receive your comments as we always strive to deliver the highest standards of service and quality. Please be assured that I have congratulated our team and once again thank you for your valued feedback. With very best wishes to the newly weds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unrivalled location on the River Thames, the Oakley Court, Windsor, London is a unique historic luxury hotel. Exceptional service levels are our key to delivering many memorable occasions for our business and leisure guests. The setting of many famous films, the history of the hotel cannot be matched by any of our closet rivals - we may not be the newest of hotels but we do have a deep soul with an attitude of service quality that others just dream about - so if you are looking for a unique location to stay or just visit for a cup of tea, maybe just after mooring up your boat, you do not need to look anywhere else - Welcome to the Oakley Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakley Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.