We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oakley Court to your Saves list
The Oakley Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Oakley Court...beautiful historic hotel, stunning location, top notch food and staff who make you feel that they really care about your stay. Perfect place for a relaxing break! The hotel breathes history yet manages to balance this with classy decor and comfort. Convenient for Windsor, yet you return to a haven of peace and relaxation. There is the option to take a boat directly from the hotel down the Thames towards Windsor. Definitely recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your words of appreciation following your recent stay at the Oakley Court Hotel. We were delighted to receive your commendations about our hotel the impressive service offered by our team. We look forward to welcoming you on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    393
    139
    75
    47
See reviews for
228
552
21
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Oakley Court is a wonderful venue set in some stunning grounds. The location on the edge of the River Thames really gives Oakley Court a good base for Weddings and if you fancy it a little trip on a boat cruise!
The reception staff( Alistair in particular) are very welcoming and informative. We had a river view room in the "west wing". This is a separate building built to fit in with the rest of the venue. The carpet in the public area of this building was a little tired and might benefit from an upgrade but the bedroom was large and spacious with all the necessary accompaniments - tea/coffee/water/fridge/digital tv. The view from the window was as expected, a lovely view across the manicured grounds to the Thames. Shame that the actual windows and frames weren't as refreshing, a little tired in appearance sadly. Comfy Beds and the BEST shower I have had in a long time. More power than a jet washer!!!
We had a small snack in the "tea room" and the food was reasonable and well presented although nothing special.

The Oakley Court has a 2 star rosette restaurant in which we had booked an evening meal package. As with our snacks,the food was well presented but I can't put my finger on it, something just wasn't there - it lacked the wow factor that I had anticipated. However a nice bottle of White Rioja from the wine list made up for the shortcomings :)
The other thing to be aware of is that Oakley court caters for the private guest as well as the corporate. The latter has a wide option of conference facilities and offers. This means that if you are a couple looking for a romantic evening, you could be sharing it on a table next to a bunch of Sales Reps...just takes the edge off things a bit.
The bar area is a little on the small side but there are enough rooms and areas off it to find a seat and enjoy an after dinner nightcap.


Breakfast is buffet style both for hot and cold - tea/coffee & Toast is brought to your table though. A good selection is available on either choice so you shouldn't go wanting. Free newspapers are available as you enter the breakfast area.

We didn't have the opportunity to use the leisure club facilities but these are situated a few metres walk from the main building and reading the bedroom blurb look to have everything you'd need.

A final thing to say( and the reason I have given 4 stars as oppose to 3) is the way the Duty Manager and reception staff dealt with the small issues we experienced during our stay. Their skills and manner were a great example of what alot of other hotels lack and their managers should take note. They were a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We always welcome constructive feedback and thank you for recognising the high standard of guest service our staff aim to provide. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were offered this hotel as our previous hotel were unable to accommodate the last night of our holiday break. I asked to see the room we were allocated but found it to be disappointing with a broken lampshade and shabby furniture! After viewing other rooms and as I had been offered a suite from our third party booker we choose a lovely suite in the west wing over looking the river. It's a lovely hotel but close inspection shows wear and tear. The breakfast is a buffet style which is unfortunate for such a class hotel. The grounds are beautiful and it seems a lot more care are taken of these than the inside of the hotel which needs a lot of love and attention. The candle light gives the entrance a magical feel in the evening but only one fire place was lit when there are several other fire places! Overall the service and the staff are very friendly so we would always be happy to return!

Room Tip: Always inspect the room allocated and change if not happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the shortfall with regards to the room you were initially allocated. I am pleased to note that the situation was immediately rectified by my team as this is not our normal operating standard. Thank you for your review – and we are pleased that you would always be happy to return to The Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willenhall, west mids
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

For the third time we have stayed at the Oakley Court and still find that the staff are delightful and attentive without being intrusive and the surrounding area and views of the gardens which slope down to the Thames are astounding, just to sit and eat breakfast and watch rowers passing by and squirrels looking for bits of food that are occasionally forthcoming to them is a great way to start the day, whatever the weather.

They appear to be doing some work on various rooms on the hotel which whilst we were there was not bothering or intruding on our stay.

We in thepast have always stayed in the Main Building, but this time we stayed in one of several other building they have where rooms are based, our own private staircase so no noises in the night to disturb us and the room was absolutely huge and charming I must say. There was only one drawback and we have mentioned in their feedback forms that they leave in the room and that was the mattres, so if anyone there is reading this then room 402's room is in desperate need of a new mattress, probably one of the most uncomfortable nights sleep I have had for quite a while (last time was a Travelodge, not in the ssame price bracket or on a par with this hotel I think) so come on Oakley Court don't let yourselves down with this small correction going undone. The beds in the main building are fine, I have always found.

There is only one small comment further and that the breakfasts could be a bit warmer, the serving trays they are stored in are not really sufficiently warm so yourt meal goes cold very quickly, but I shall be back and I shall ask for a Main building room just in case nothing had been done.

It's great for all the Family and even when there are weddings on the other guests are not pestered by noise etc.

Room Tip: If I were you I would stay in the main buiding and if they have a river view then take that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are pleased to learn that you once again enjoyed your stay and I assure you that I am investigating your comments regarding the mattress in your room with my Head of Housekeeping - please accept my apologies. It is only through your valued feedback and comments that we can improve our services and operations in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a birthday. The hotel is in an amazing setting and our room was a 'executive double' with river view.

Before the booking: We searched Google and a website came up called 'oakleycourtwindsor' which we assumed was the hotel. It wasn't, it was an agent website. We didn't get a good deal and after we stayed, I found a cheaper rate for the room elsewhere. That was disappointing.

During our stay: We arrived with complimentary fresh fruit in the room and two bottles of Hildon water. The only issue I had was the shower which was extremely low, I had to do morning lunges to wash my hair! I'm only 6ft.

The service was great, although we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, we had a few drinks at the bar and the staff were always attentive.

For the room rate, the room was average with its facilities considering its amazing setting, the view and staff service is the only reason I rated the hotel Very Good.

We had a nice stay, but for the price I was hoping for a little bit more. There were the usual dry hotel packet biscuits, really should have been something from the kitchen for the price of the room and a mini bar would have worked well.

Room Tip: Go for a River View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We are pleased your enjoyed your stay. Thank you for valued feedback which I will share with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great hotel very close to work so in regards to location it's excellent. The service on arrival was excellent and I was shown outside to enter a different part if the hotel to find my room. My room was very nice and spacious and I was given complementary wifi which I needed for work. I could see the boats on the Thames from my window which was a real treat.

The only negative comes with the subject of food. The prices for the restaurant were completely ridiculous even for London. £10 staters and £32 for a main meal. So I went for a bar meal and it still came to over £30 for a burger and chips. I also ha to eat in the bar on a small table which was far from comfortable.

Other than food, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for rating the location and service at The Oakley Court Hotel as excellent. I can advise that our restaurant prices are in line with the market place and I can also confirm that our Gourmet Burger and Chips is priced at £16.50. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A beautiful and elegant hotel with much to enjoy and see. Look forward to a very warm welcome, high quality and well appointed bedrooms and grounds that have hosted royalty. A short drive from Windsor with walks along the Thames and great shopping. One of the best hotels we have stayed at. The only negative would have been a warm cooked breakfast, rather than piping hot!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unrivalled location on the River Thames, the Oakley Court, Windsor, London is a unique historic luxury hotel. Exceptional service levels are our key to delivering many memorable occasions for our business and leisure guests. The setting of many famous films, the history of the hotel cannot be matched by any of our closet rivals - we may not be the newest of hotels but we do have a deep soul with an attitude of service quality that others just dream about - so if you are looking for a unique location to stay or just visit for a cup of tea, maybe just after mooring up your boat, you do not need to look anywhere else - Welcome to the Oakley Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakley Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.