We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oakley Court to your Saves list
The Oakley Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

Our annual conference was held in the UK for the first time and we chose the The Oakley Court. For a 3 day conference it offered us everything we needed at the one venue. The main conference room was the Westminster which was a bright spacious room with a seperate coffee break area. The staff were very helpful and assisted with all our needs. We opted for the 3 course buffet lunch in the restaurant which offered a different menu everyday with a good selection to choose from. One day we had some outdoor activities that took place onsite in the ground which was perfect as we didn't have to travel. The location of the hotel was perfect and our clients enjoyed the short trip from Heathrow. The bedrooms were clean and spacious but the shower could be a little higher. Maybe it's just because I am tall. All in all it was a succesful meeting at a lovely location which we will be using again.

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Disliked — height of showers
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    393
    139
    75
    47
See reviews for
227
552
21
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

Lovely setting, rooms ok but the service was awful.
After a lovely day in Windsor we arrived at the hotel trying to impress our guests. Initially we couldn't find any parking spaces. checked in room was nice enough but there were no instructions on hotel facilities in the room. We couldn't find any details on how to use the phone so that meant popping down the corridor to communicate with our friends.
the mini bar had a bottle of water in it complimentary Great but a few other bits would have been nice.
now the real problems start might not seem much as one off incidents but altogether they become a bit annoying.

Went to the bar to order tea and coffee. This did arrive but not with the advertised shortbread as stated on the menu. Eventually managed to get some after quite a wait.

Pre dinner drinks. 8pm
Arrived and ordered drinks arrived at 8.20pm did get an apology from the waitress and she was very honest they had forgotten us despite being sat next to the bar.

dinner
8.30pm table booked at reception when we arrived for 4 but they had a table for 2 did manage to get seated.

Order taken quickly but it took 90 minutes for our first course to arrive. We were too tired to wait for coffee as it was 11.30 by the time we got desert.

Breakfasst seated promptly buffet breakfast standard array of items but it was very difficult to get tea, coffee or toastas this was served at your table. Found it difficult to get the attention of the waiter to ensure that we did get the drinks that we needed.

There were a few other minor problems but that would be really moany.

In my opinion I have stayed at much better hotels for a lot less cost.

The Oakley Court just needs to employ a few more staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross On Wye
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed here about 6 years ago and loved it, Our return visit showed that little has been done to keep the hotel up to standard in those intervening years. Yes, the location is superb, imposing main building and impressive public rooms, but it's all looking a bit sad and tired now. Our bedroom would have been top class when it was fitted out, but now looked just a tiny bit grim - bathroom was not prestine, nothing dreadful, just the odd cracked tile and rusty shower screen. We only had breakfast at the hotel and it was not bad - loads of selection of fruit, dairy stuff etc. I do hate pre-cooked hot breakfasts that sit in heated trays for hours and that's what you get here. I heard lots of people complaining that they'd been kept waiting for items to be replenished. Breakfast service was very busy and you did have to try and catch waiters /waitresses eye to be served. Coffee was very good though, when so often it is not! One strange occurance (due to high proportion of non-English speaking staff, I suppose) was that my partner left contact lenses in the lid of his cleaning fluid bottle (had forgotten the special container). We left a large note on top saying "please leave, do not throw away". You've guessed it, they threw them away!

  • Liked — The location on the river
  • Disliked — Needs about £5M spent on a refurb
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I booked a Valentines Package at The Oakley Court Hotel and was very impressed with the hotel's glossy web page.

I chose this hotel for its links to the Hammer Films which my husband is a fan of and was hoping the hotel would be furnished sympathetically. On first impressions the lone swinging iron gate seemed apt, however the newly east and west-wings resembled an old peoples residential home with only the hint of a tiny turret on each roof. The mansion building itself is built in a gothic style with many a gargoyle and is set in well kept grounds. However, our room in the west wing resembled a corporate, middle-of-the-road business suite with not an ounce of dracula in sight - if only hotel companies could employ interior designers!

Our evening meal was delightful although the service was generally slow, clumsy and second-rate. Maybe this could add to the charm of its location but when you are paying London prices you expect more from the staff.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

For the first time have decided to contact a reception directly so I would avoid any hassle with third party ,but can you imagine disappointment when I have arrived and reception didn’t have my booking in the system(but they have sent me a welcome email and email confirmation and one advising to book a dinner in advance!!!)
So I end up paying same day price!!! Room was ok but heater wasn’t working ,and after 1.5 hour waiting concierge(very helpful)brought two electric heaters which are not expectable in a four star hotel!
Apart of this everything else was ok, but my mood was spoiled and destroyed.
Any way, the location is beautiful and very romantic-best to be back on summers day!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — reception
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

The exterior and grounds of the Oakley Court are very impressive, its when you enter the public rooms the place is let down.

The place needs a good lick of paint, the white paint is yellow and the intricite designs on the coving appear black! and as for the windows in the public room over looking the river, well they were black at the top with cobwebs!! Its all very tired and the tops of the arched door frames are all dusty. Its such a shame as this beautiful building has such potential.

In contrast to this our room was in the west wing, and was spacious, pristine and pretty much faultless.

Also it was a buffet breakfast, not what i would expect from a four star hotel. Im pretty sure with some further attention to detail this hotel could up its game and its prices, the owners are doing it an injustice.

I do not want to sound over harsh as apart from the public sitting rooms the rest of the hotel was lovely

I stayed as we were booked in at a couple of lovely restaurants in nearby Bray, which is close to the Oakley Court. Upon visiting these resteraunts again i would use the Oakley Court again, although i would be disappointed if the general house keeping had not improved, its not hard to dust!

  • Liked — lovely, spacious, clean room
  • Disliked — public rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, West Midlands, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

We booked the Christmas package at the hotel and arrived at around 11am on the 24th Dec (party of 7 - 5 adults, 2 children (aged 7 & 10) in 3 rooms). The staff were very friendly and we were allowed to book straight into our rooms. We were booked into a mansion suite (in the main house) and were allocated room 114. The room was lovely and spacious and had a beautiful view of the river and the grounds at the rear of the hotel.

We went to a pantomine in the afternoon (included in the package) and ate in the Oakleaf restaurant on the evening. The food was beautiful and nothing was too much trouble for the staff (they were also very child friendly). The hotel had carol singers in the bar area on the night - a really nice touch!

The public rooms in the hotel were very cosy with real fires and comfy sofas to sink into and the grounds were perfect for walking off a big meal :)

The champagne breakfast was lovely with lots of choice (cooked breakfast and continental selections to help yourself to). A harpist was playing as we came down the stairs at lunchtime on Christmas Day, the atmosphere was really relaxed. We had a carvery style Christmas Dinner in the Windsor suite. Again the food was wonderful, lots of choice and beautifully presented and they staff were brilliant. The hotel also provided afternoon tea and cakes and a buffet supper (if you had room for any more food!!).

I couldn't manage breakfast on boxing day (still full of food from Christmas Day!) but the Boxing Day Buffet was wonderful (different to the Christmas Day choice too). We had a wonderful time at oakley Court and extended our stay by an extra night (left on the 27th).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, during our stay over the Christmas period the staff were all lovely and helpful and the food was beautiful (a big thank you to them all for making our Christmas so special) and the meal times were very flexible. This is a very child friendly hotel and the staff were very friendly and not at all stuffy (as you find in some hotels). We will be going back for Christmas 2008 !!!

  • Liked — lovely room with really comfy bed and pillows, period features
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Business Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an unrivalled location on the River Thames, the Oakley Court, Windsor, London is a unique historic luxury hotel. Exceptional service levels are our key to delivering many memorable occasions for our business and leisure guests. The setting of many famous films, the history of the hotel cannot be matched by any of our closet rivals - we may not be the newest of hotels but we do have a deep soul with an attitude of service quality that others just dream about - so if you are looking for a unique location to stay or just visit for a cup of tea, maybe just after mooring up your boat, you do not need to look anywhere else - Welcome to the Oakley Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakley Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.