We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place but adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Adelaide Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Oceanside, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a great place but adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay was for 4 nights. The room was nice with a clean new bathroom. It was stuffy and hot. Our room was right off the hall where the linens were kept. We would sometimes have to step over the bundles of linens to get to our door. The breakfast was good but the waitress was not the most pleasant. BUT it is a 5 min walk to the castle and the center of Windsor. We had family in the area so didn't spend much time in the hotel. Be careful when you book because breakfast is not included. All in all I rate it average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    114
    88
    19
    12
See reviews for
29
128
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for one night on business in a single room which was quite small. However it had everything required and was clean if not a bit old fashioned but I suppose you could say it had character.
No problems at all, quick check in and out, car park you had to pay for extra but worth it as very little parking as far as I could see. Didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was very good.
All in all I would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from spending one night here. The parking to us was a bonus and reasonably priced as parking in Windsor is very limited. Our room was 'apparently' a superior room. It was clean and adequate but very small. Lovely bathroom. The hotel is approx 10 min walk to the castle which we didn't mind at all. I have'to agree the hot buffet breakfast this morning was very disappointing. A smile and please and thank you wouldn't have gone a miss from the male receptionist who checked us in and out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I really wish I did not stay in this hotel. It is not close to the center. Parking is too expensive (15 pounds a day) and there are very strict regulations on the streets surrounding the hotel, so you really don't have an option. Parking space is also arranged in a very tight layout, spent ages trying to avoid scraping another visitor's car or mine.
Reception staff was not communicative or informative, which lead to misunderstandings, both about the parking charges and whether breakfast was included or not in the price I was going to pay.
The room was tiny, stuffy and hot. Doors really heavy, hard to open, and the corridors were boiling with the heat from lighting, I guess.
Overall, for what the 2 day stay here cost us, we could have done soooo much better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear OzzzzzzO
Many thanks for your review. I read your review with disappointment as we pride ourselves with friendly customer service and genuine hospitality. It is worth noting that there is no free car parking in and around Windsor (we are the cheapest hotel car park in Windsor some charge over £25 per car per night). All our reservation communications (e mails and letters) state that you have to reserve car parking at cost – this is also clearly advertised on our website. This summer we have seen unusually hot weather which has lead to some overheating in corridors – however all our bedrooms have air-conditioning reducing the heat impact during the night. Yours seincerly
Philipp Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights we booked a superior room with queen size bed we got a double room with a tiny wardrobe and a noisy corridor.
Breakfast was the worst thing ever food(bacon,sausages and scrambled eggs) were not cooked properly staff were miserable no smiles.
And after 10.30 at night you couldn't pay for your drinks by cash had to put them on your room
silly idea!!
We were really looking forward to our break in windsor

Room Tip: Don't book a superior room you will be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Dawn C
Many thanks for your recent review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that we were not able to provide you with the same great service others have reported over the same weekend. We are in the process of re-categorising all our bedrooms to reflect the bed size to eliminate the problems relating to perceived room size.
It is worth noting that there was a large wedding reception on the Saturday night resulting in a buffet style breakfast the following morning (usually cooked to order) – but I can assure you that whist breakfast buffets do not appeal to everyone that all items where cooked professionally and thoroughly.
Cash payments behind the bar are possible until 11pm and I can only think that one of my colleagues thought that you where with the wedding party.
My apologies if the team came across as unfriendly and not smiling, and a customer care program will be rolled out to avoid future disappointment.
Yours sincerely. Philipp Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, the man on reception checked us in, not a please, thank you or smile during this time. We told him we would be paying cash however he insisted that you took a holding deposit on a card, it was £150 holding deposit which not until we checked out did he tell us would not be returned for 3 days!

We had booked a superior suite and when we found out room with no directions or help from staff, it was a small family room with a double bed and a separate single bed! I went back to reception to see if this was infant the superior suite we had booked and I was told that family rooms and superior suites are the same thing!!

I asked to speak to a manager and she showed us two other superior suites- one was small again with a double bed and the second was a large room with sofa, queen bed and lovely bathroom (expect no walk in shower it was in the bath).

So the room was fine once finally settled.

The staff were rude, not polite, and very unhelpful. I asked at reception for towels as housekeeping had not left any in our room and I was asked why I hadn't brought my own and if hand towels were ok. (no bath towels would be good!)

And this leads me to breakfast- paid in with the cost of our room - bacon that looked as though it was taken straight from the fridge, sausages that expect from the grease couldn't have been sure were cooked, scrambled egg and mushrooms. Was the cooked breakfast, a choice 4 of boxed cereal and 3 juices, cheap and limited yoghurts were on the side with a very unappleaing fruit salad.
Tea and toast were brought out made to order.

This was a disappointing experience and to make it worse we were charged £15 a night for car park which had to be paid as all ye surrounding roads are permit holders only.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Lorrainequiche.
Many thanks for your recent review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that we were not able to provide you with the same great service others have reported over the same weekend. We are in the process of re-categorising all our bedrooms to reflect the bed size to eliminate the problems relating to perceived room size.
It is worth noting that there was a large wedding reception on the Saturday night resulting in a buffet style breakfast the following morning (usually cooked to order) – but I can assure you that whist breakfast buffets do not appeal to everyone that all items where cooked professionally and thoroughly.
My apologies if the reception team came across as unfriendly and not smiling, and a customer care program will be rolled out to avoid future disappointment.
Yours sincerely. Philipp Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I attended here for a christening function and it was all done to a very high standard. Buffet was nice and varied. Toilets were very clean and gardens well maintained. Staff were extremely polite and efficient. However, drinks prices are incredibly high, even considering its Windsor!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guest.
I am very pleased to read that you had a nice and relaxing time here at The Royal Adelaide hotel and that you enjoyed our Christening buffet and the pleasant surroundings. As we are privately owned and lack any group purchasing power we have no alternative as to charge normal Windsor drinks prices – however we always look to reduce costs and it is with this in mind that I shall be conducting a price review on all our lines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desk s, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which attracts a pre booking and a small fee. We are the first hotel in Windsor and can be found on the way to the famous Windsor castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Adelaide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.