We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Adelaide Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Now returning home from our stay at the Adelaide and we couldn't of been happier there. We had a superior double (room 19) with a fold away bed for our 6 year old and a travel cot for our 12 month old. The room was full but still plenty of room left. Our 6 year old sometimes has wet nights while away so I put a mattress protector on his fold away bed and noticed a couple of slats were broken but they were down the bottom of the bed so didnt effect my son. Our bed was 2 singles pushed together but held securely together with the bottom sheet. It was nice and comfy.
The hotel staff were all really nice and couldn't of done any more for us. Polite, friendly and child tolerant which is a big plus!
It's a pleasant walk from hotel to shops and castle and only took 5-10 mins. An easy short drive to legoland too which pleased my son.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was fantastic. Plenty of choice for adults and children, big grill breakfast, scrambled egg on toast, omelette, nothing too much trouble. We even took some fruit with us on our day trip which wasn't a problem with them.
We paid for parking at £15 per night but to be honest there wouldn't of been anywhere else to park so make sure you book a space when you book your room as there are only 17 parking spaces for the 42 rooms at the hotel!
I would definitely stay here again with my family and would recommend it too ( just make sure you ask for a superior room as the others look pretty small).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    105
    82
    19
    12
See reviews for
29
123
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Greeted by very friendly and helpful receptionist , the room was on the small side but very clean and comfortable , a good choice for breakfast with helpful staff.
Hotel not that central with the town Center being 5/10 minutes walk away, overall a good value hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just stayed here over the easter break and had a fab time, the location was great as it was within a 7-10 min walk of the castle and all the shops and restaurants of the center of Winsor.

We booked the parking for the stay, which although £15 a day was a must as the parking around there was terrible. Also on the day we booked out we were able to leave the car at the hotel while we enjoyed a last visit into windsor and a visit in the castle.

The receptionist and the other hotel staff could not have been friendlier, we were made to feel welcome and valued from the moment we arrived to the time we left. As it was the coldest weekend for "ever" the whole hotel was warm and cosy, including the rooms. Everywhere was lovely and clean, and the hotel looked as though it had not long since had a redecoration.

Our room was a superior room, and I'm glad we booked that as it was not the largest room i've ever stayed in, but again it was clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom although small had everything you needed, including a good warm shower!, I'm not sure if there was a lift available and our room was up 2 and a bit flights of reasonably steep stairs, so if this is a problem ask for a room with less steps! My daughter, husband and grandson stayed also and their room was much larger as they had a bedsettee, for my grandson. (but still up about 3 flight s of stairs in a attic room.

Breakfast over the bankhol weekend and monday was between 8-10am, it was a buffet style for cereals/pastries/fruit/yogurt/juices, and then a cooked to order full breakfast/toast/omletts etc. all were served promtly and with a smile. Plenty of tea/ coffee/toast. The food was lovely and generous portions(i'm on a diet now!)

We had a bar snack on the friday evening of various sandwiches/chips. They were all very tasty.
Drinks were usual hotel prices about £21+ for a couple of beers a wine a vodka and coke and a fruit juice, so probably average.

Airport noise was not an issue for us, it has good double glazing. The flights finish aboput 11pm and dont start til about 6.30am, but anywhere in winsor would have flight noise. It didn't bother us at all.

We found the whole stay to be very good and were completly happy with our choice as we wanted somewher away from the hustle and bustle of the center of town but near enough to walk. The long walk is literally just a bit along the road on the opposite side, we unfortunatly did'nt have time to enjoy a walk there, but it is just a skip and a jump away, our room had a view of the castle. It was a great find and we will be returning at some point.

Thanks to all the staff and especially Dale, He had a very happy disposition and a big smile at any time even first thing at breakfast, thanks again all.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the car parking or you will struggle to park near the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night after landing from an overnight flight into Heathrow airport. I was initially intending to book the hotel via Booking.com but ended up booking directly with Best Western reservations as they offered me a more competitive rate than Booking.com and their rate also included free breakfast. We were given a very reasonable rate, however we had to pay an additional £15 for 1 night's parking at the hotel, which was not ideal.

The hotel is very presentable and our room, although on the small side, was decorated to a very nice standard. A comfortable bed, a clean, modern bathroom, air conditioning (albeit slightly tempramental) and a flat screen tv with a variety of channels. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice including a variety of hot breakfasts, cereals, pastries, fruit etc. The breakfast really did add value to the cost of the stay.

I only have 2 complaints about this hotel. One is the fact that there is no lift in the hotel so we had to carry our heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stairs. When I asked the staff member who checked us in if there was a lift, I was simply told no and there was no offer of help to carry the cases up to our room. Luckily we were only on the 2nd floor but I do not envy anyone staying on higher floors. Not great for anyone who is unable to carry their case this far.

My second issue is the prices the hotel charges for soft drinks. They do not have soft drinks available on tap at the bar and there is no vending machine to buy drinks, so the only option was to pay £2.50 for a small glass bottle of soft drink or £2.30 for a small bottle of water. We were not impressed with these prices, especially when we wanted some soft drinks for the room during the night and the cost came to £9.30!

The location of the hotel is great as it is within walking distance to local attractions of Windsor. There is a lovely pub called The Windsor Castle within a 2 minute walk from the hotel which I highly recommend. A really friendly atmosphere with good food and drink at reasonable prices.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others, but I advise people to take their own refreshments into the hotel with them to avoid expensive bills. Also be prepared for the many flights of stairs you may need to carry your case up!

Room Tip: If you have heavy suicases or lots of luggage, ask for a room on a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest.
Many thanks for your feedback left on the trip advisor site. I am pleased that you made contact with the hotel directly therefore avoiding the middle man – it is always the best approach.
Windsor is a real hotspot in terms of parking and I am pleased to report that parking at our hotel is still the cheapest in Windsor.
The hotel is over 300 years old and as such we are unable to oblige with a lift however I am disappointed to read that we have not offered you any assistance with your luggage and have therefore spoken to the individual concerned.
I am glad that you liked the location and the atmosphere and that you are willing to recommend The Royal Adelaide hotel to future guests.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed over to revisit Windsor Castle and this hotel seamed reasonably priced (others in Windsor very expensive) and didn't want to risk a budget hotel after some reviews on here...

Paid £110 for a night in a superior double (Room 19) with parking on site including breakfast. Big enough room, not a great view (rear annex & carpark) and, in places, the room was looking a bit scruffy (chipped walls, scuffed skirting boards etc). It's an old hotel so the rollercoaster floorboards in the room are a disturbing at first, but more fun after the odd glass or two!

Because it's an older building it creaks a bit and the people staying in the room above either weighed 40 stone, had pet elephants, or were just stampy people! Fortunately they didn't stay up too late or sleep would have been seriously compromised! Room very warm but chilled down nicely with the aircon!

Big bathroom with two sinks, a bath with shower over, and a separate shower cubicle... A bit disappointing to see screw holes in the door from replaced door handles though!

Safe, iron and ironing board, in big enough closet for a couple of days we'd guess.

Breakfast in the morning was OK. English breakfast but the beans were severely "watered down"/cheap and one of the staff members was friendly if not a bit overly "chipper"

All in all, not a bad stay. Good location for our needs just a bit pricy for it's "rough edges"

Room Tip: Room 19 if you're not fussed on a view and want character (has a fireplace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest.
Many thanks for your review. I am glad you booked our hotel over a local budget one and therefore would like to take this opportunity to respond to your points raised.
The hotel is over 300 years old and as such it does offer some unique features like the fire place in room 19 or the sloping floorboards.
I am pleased to report that room 19 will be undergoing a refurbishment program in the spring this year but in the mean time the maintenance team shall attend to the items mentioned in your review.
I have spoken in detail to the head chef and we will be changing to a major baked beans brand to avoid future disappointment.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having stayed for a long weekend in Windsor, we'd chosen the Royal Adelaide because it is pet-friendly. And they're really are: the room we had was slightly secluded to avoid too much barking, the staff (cleanign and reception) were understanding.
Great breakfast (tasty eggs benedict, indeed) and welcoming place. Good location to stay away from the town centre hustle and bustle but with direct access to Windsor Great Park.
Highly recommended, will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, ask for Adelaide House (an annex just outside the main building) or a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night before visiting the RHS flower show at Hampton Court Palace. We were so disappointed. The hotel was well below our expectations - especially the room, it was small, the bed very uncomfortable, extremely hot - and in order not to suffocate we opened the window and as we had the pleasure of being under Heathrow's flightpath it was very noisy, which was not the only thing that kept us awake. The walls/ceilings were extremely badly insulated so had to suffer the noisy couple on the very noisy bed in the room above. The breakfast was just ok but the restaurant staff were very helpful. The overall experience was that of a cheap back street B&B in some grungy area in some grungy city - which Windsor is not and the position of the hotel is good. We can not remember having such a bad experience in a hotel. We have stayed in very good Best Western hotels - this one is shameful. We would not stay again and regret having stayed there at all.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest.

I write to you in response to your review on TripAdvisor the contents of which have been noted.

Firstly I would like to convey my apologies that your visit to The Royal Adelaide Hotel was disappointing and not what you had hoped for.

As always it would have been preferential for me to speak to you personally during your stay enabling me to listen to your concerns and hopefully turning a negative into a positive experience.

We usually are able to move guests to a different room should they not be satisfied with the allocated bedroom.

Windsor is in the direct approach of London Heathrow Airport and therefore all hotels suffer from some noise pollution during the day.

I would like to take this opportunity to advise that the hotel is an AA 4 star rated property and as such we pride ourselves with genuine hospitality, great service and good food.

All rooms at The Royal Adelaide hotel are equipped with a modern air-conditioning system enabling guests to sufficiently cool the room during the summer months (I note that you stayed in July 2012)


Yours sincerely

Philipp Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desk s, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which attracts a pre booking and a small fee. We are the first hotel in Windsor and can be found on the way to the famous Windsor castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Adelaide Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.