We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Way to Spend the Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Day Tours

Windsor Day Tours
Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PJ, England
+44 (0)7749 270737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 activities in Windsor
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Windsor Day Tours offers small, personalised private day tours for up to 6 people from Windsor, Heathrow, Southampton and surrounding areas. Whether it's a day's sightseeing, or a Heathrow Layover, or transfer to your hotel, make the most of your day with a guided visit to the Cotswolds, Stonehenge, Hampton Court Palace, Jane Austen country or similar. Travel in comfort in my top-of-the-range Peugeot 807 and enjoy a day created with your wishes in mind, as well as the ability to get off the beaten track and visit the countryside the big coaches can't reach. Heathrow layovers and Southampton Cruises a speciality.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Delightful Way to Spend the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Jill developed a tour itinerary specifically to meet the needs of my party of three, which included one person with significant mobility issues. My mother had only spent time in central London and wanted to see some of the countryside during our transit day on our way to Southampton for a cruise. Jill took us to a quaint village, giving us the opportunity to take a quiet stroll to enjoy the peace and quiet, then on Winchester Cathedral for some history. We lunched near Jane Austen's home. Our attempt to visit Windsor Castle was thwarted by large crowds and long lines so we moved on to Eton and points beyond. We finished our afternoon with a visit to farm market and a cream tea. It was fabulous and I definitely recommend Jill and Windsor Day Tours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quick but Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had only limited time at the very end of a long trip but Jill's tour was fantastic!! We only had an afternoon to visit Stonehenge and environs so our time was quite compressed. On top of this there was a major traffic snafu which required a detour. Jill managed to find an alternate route and we made it to Stonehenge. Jill's knowledge and interest in helping us in spite of the compress time was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed this visit. On the return to Windsor we stopped in Wherwill for a short visit and dinner at The White Lion inn/pub. All in all a great but compressed visit that would not have been possible without Jill. If you visit this area without the help of Jill, you are making a mistake!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilliganuk, Owner at Windsor Day Tours, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your whirlwind tour. At least the sun came out for it. I hope I may have the pleasure of your company for a longer tour some time. I certainly know some more places you would love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mystery Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We would highly recommend Jill for any type of tour but we chose the half day mystery tour. We were looking for something different and not your typical sightseeing tour. Jill came through and provided us with a fantastic afternoon of unique out of the way spots that we would have never seen if it wasn't for Windsor Day Tours. Along our journey Jill provided us with the history of our stops and fascinating facts. We also had our first taste of afternoon tea with amazing scones topped with strawberry jam and clotted cream!

Thank you Jill for the great afternoon and if we are ever in London again we would not hesitate to contact you about setting up another great tour!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilliganuk, Owner at Windsor Day Tours, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your day ... and clotted cream! And it was as much fun for me putting together a mystery tour for you, trying to think what you would enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun customized all day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Absolutely loved Windsor Day Tours. Jill was right at the port to meet us after we disembarked a P&O Cruise. She was so friendly and hospitable! Our first stop after seeing freely roaming animals (donkeys, cows, horses, pigs, etc) as we drove through New Forest was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's grave (author of Sherlock Holmes) and Jill provided interesting and funny facts about the cemetary. We then headed to Salisbury to see the town and tour the Cathedral. Beautiful. We then headed to Stonehenge. The weather was miserable so we made a brief visit, but it was very interesting. Our final leg of the tour was the town of Bath. Jill dropped us in the bustling town center right near the Roman Baths and gave us free time to tour, eat and shop. We stocked up on snacks at the grocery store for our hotel stay that evening. We then drove through Bristol over into Wales just for a view and quick picks (basically just to be able to say we've been to Wales-haha). Then Jill dropped us at Thornbury Castle where we were staying the night. All in all perfect tour (except the weather, but hey what can you expect in England during winter?).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful day with a great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a day to spend in the Southampton area and booked a tour with Jill. Prior to meeting her, she was a great communicator, always answer my questions promptly. She was waiting with a sign at our arrival and off we went. We had arranged with he to pre-purchase the tickets for Windsor Castle so we got there as it opened and avoided the long lines that had already formed. We spen tseveral hours at the castle and then headed for the home of Jane Austin. It was in a charming town with thatched roof houses. Jill also had a table waiting for us at the tea room and we had a wonderful cream tea. Then it was on to Winchester Cathedral. Jill knows so much history and folk lore and kept up a wonderful dialogue the whole tour. We were back at the ship in plenty of time. Jill is so honest that when we overpaid her she ran back to catvh us. I can't say enough good about this lady and her tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Day Tours also viewed

 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Windsor Day Tours to your Saves list