We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here with my wife from 31st December till 4th January. Overall we had a wonderful break. Windsor is so stunning and really friendly , even in January.
The hotel itself was very, very good .
We normally try to avoid hotel chains , but this one will make us re think.
The hotel situation is perfect , a 2 minute walk to the castle and right amongst all the shops and restaurants.
Our " feature " room was magnificent and the package we had for the Hogmanay party etc was not cheap , but really good value for money.
The staff were all, very helpful and attentive , in particular , the bar staff and reception.
The quality of food was very good and we thought the ambience and decor was in the same category.
There were a couple of minor issues with room service and breakfast , but , these were minor and did not spoil an excellent short break. We would have loved to stay a bit longer and hope to return again soon which I suppose is a reflection of how much we enjoyed being there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear John A

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    335
    72
    29
    9
See reviews for
216
815
37
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for my husbands 40th Birthday on January 1st. I have to say that the customer service, room, ambiance, cleanliness were all excellent. The young lad who checked us in was very helpful and remembered our name when we saw him later on in the day. We were really pleased to get upgraded to a suite with complimentary cupcakes waiting in the room. Everything in the room was of high standard and we loved the heated tiles in the bathroom.

The only downside was the room service which i thought was a let down. It was very old, stringy and not worth having.

The valet parking was worth it. I booked it before hand and there was no waiting when we dropped it off or checked out. It was very efficient and nice to know that the car was safe.

I would recommend it and will use the hotel again, well if i can afford it as i have noticed that the prices seem to have jumped since entering 2013.

Room Tip: I asked for a room at the front in the hope of getting a view of the castle but i don't think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear DebMichael

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service from the team, your room and the ambiance of the hotel.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

stayed Christmas eve and Christmas day Hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful disappointed with Christmas eve dinner had the stake, 4 chips 1 small mushroom half a tomato and that was it stake was very nice though.I think the staff that were on that night must have been under pressure had to Waite a long time between starter and main course but manager did come out and apologize.Same with Christmas dinner very meager potions had what i think ?was turkey, two small rolled up pieces hard and dried up 3 Brussels sprouts and 3 baby carrots 3 small pieces of potato very disappointing food and expensive i have had better food in a travel lodge.As stated hotel was very clean and comfortable but seemed very clinical not very Christmassy.On checking out on the Boxing day i was twelfth in the Queue there were 3 check out desks but only one poor girl Manning it she had to keep apologising to customers for the delay come on McDonald's you knew you were going to be busy.Nice Hotel But would suggest eating else were.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear bazer1859

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel recently, especially the cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of the team and the food you experienced in the restaurant. I was however extremely sorry to note that you experienced some service delays and you were disappointed with the portion sizes of your meals.

Please be assured that your feedback has been the subject of our weekly departmental management meeting to ensure that any future disappointment could be avoided.

I appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel - indeed to contact me direct when you have a date in mind.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

i regularly stay at this hotel and stayed again just before Christmas. As always my bedroom was lovely and very comfortable. What really stood out for me on this visit was the fantastic customer service. When I got to the hotel I didn't feel well and rang room service for something very light to eat and mentioned that I didn't feel well. The duty manager Rob was very concerned and offered to bring me some hot water with honey and lemon. A simple gesture but it made such a difference. A pleasure to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths so ask at time of booking if that is your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear 89Lynne

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you so well and you enjoy your stays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed between Christmas and New Year - couldn't find hotel despite its excellent location almost opposite the castle - weirdly it has "Hotel Entrance" written above the door instead of "Macdonald Hotel". Called reception and was directed to valet parking at rear - valet very helpful indeed - he took car and brought bags to room. £25 for overnight parking.

Check in was efficient too, room modern and well decorated. Double bed slightly small. Only gripe is that it was a cold day and the aircon / heater goes off when you leave the room. When we were in the room we set it to 23C heat but after a while it would reset itself to 18C cooling so it was impossible to heat the room up.

Breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast (£17.50) was also good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear JoolianP

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, however was sorry to note your disappointment with the heating system in your bedroom. I have discussed this matter with our maintenance manager so that he may look into the settings of the air cooling and heating system.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Deal through Secret Escapes for the weekend before New Year 2012. Super hotel in superb location almost opposite the Castle right in the centre of town. Room was large,comfortable and very well appointed and the staff friendly and efficient. nothing was too much trouble and we felt truly spoiled . Breakfast (included in our deal) was excellent quality, and the dinner we had was equally good. If you use the hotel be aware that parking in their own car park is very expensive so use the car park at the Riverside Railway station which is very reasonable.Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear northamptoncouple13

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here over the Christmas period as we were spending Christmas Day with nearby family. Therefore didn't spend a lot of time in the Hotel but we were pleased with our choice.
We arrived in the evening and struggled to find the hotel, there is no designated parking for drop off in front of the hotel but the receptionist directed us to the rear of the hotel and we briefly parked in the underground car park to drop off luggage. Having stayed in many luxury hotels I have never been asked for £25 a night to park. Lucikly we left the car at my sisters nearby. This charge is extortionate.
The classic room for 2 adults and 1 child was located in the rear of the hotel, with an unattractive view of the backs of buildings. We also heard the kitchen staff filling up the bottle bank periodically during the night. Attractive decor, adequate storage space and reasonable bathroom. The child's bed had been set up for our arrival. All contact with reception staff was pleasant and friendly but slow.
We were pleased with our stay and felt we had value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear nickihof

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall however I was sorry to note that you were disappointed with the parking charge.

Parking is limited in Windsor, and we offer a full valet service. We would never intentionally hide our costs, and offer parking as an additional option when guests book with us. By pre-booking a parking space, we can assure guests of a smoother and easier arrival experience with porterage.

I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.