We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem Across the Street from Windsor Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Across the Street from Windsor Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed recently at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. The hotel is a converted department store that was newly renovated in the last few years.
If you are going to Windsor Castle and also want to do some shopping the location couldn't be better.
They did a first rate job in renovating the rooms, though don't expect any views. You are likely to be looking across to another room or local building. Otherwise the rooms are very nice, and though not large they are reasonable in size and the use of space was well designed.
When we checked in the hotel was packed with a luncheon event, but we nevertheless experienced friendly and helpful service.
About the only negative to the hotel is the parking. If you park in the hotel parking lot (limited space) it is 25 bps per night and the alternative they offer is some distance away and is slightly less at 20 bps per night. Also, you need to plan ahead to figure out where to best unload/load your car. Don't try the front of the hotel. There isn't any real space, the street is busy and the sidewalks can be packed. Instead, use the back entrance. It is a little convoluted finding it, and also has limted space, but you won't be as rushed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Colovoyageur

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team helpful.

I was sorry to note that you were disappointed with the parking charge. Parking is limited in Windsor, and we offer a full valet service. We would never intentionally hide our costs, and offer parking as an additional option when guests book with us. By pre-booking a parking space, we can assure guests of a smoother and easier arrival experience with porterage.

I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,118
    335
    72
    29
    9
See reviews for
216
815
37
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wakefield west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at Macdonald Windsor after winning a nights stay with breakfast in there Olympic Medal competition. We decided to add an extra night with dinner onto the stay this was a very reasonable special friday night rate. Our room was stunning and we received a lovely card from the staff which was a nice personal touch, and to my husbands delight a bottle of wine. I was more impressed with the scrummy caley cup cakes and our chocolate gold medals nice touches.
All the staff were very efficient but human as well, breakfast was usual Macdonald great standard and our meal was also excellent.
Having health problems I found the hotels location spot on a short walk from the station and on the High street facing the castle could not have been better.
We had memorable stay Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear nobbys

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My Daughter and I stayed here for a week during the Olympics. We live in the USA. We traveled to London on the train each day, except when we went to an event at the Rowing Venue. The hotel had a very small street exposure. The room was very nice. We did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel because there were many other choices in Windsor. I am sure the restaurant was very nice, but it was also expensive. We were greated each morning by the staff, and each evening. Our room was always well kept.

Room Tip: You can get trains to London direct from the Riverside station, but if you go to the other station i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Hugh C

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

If anyone thinking of visiting this hotel, hesitate no more. It truly was a wonderful experience with started with a valet parking on arrival, the complimentary glass of wine on arrival to stunning rooms. This hotel photos do not lie.......just as you see them online they are that and so much more in reality. The bedrooms, bathroom are stunning and definately worth every penny spent. The staff were so polite and made you feel special.The location couldn't not be more perfect. Twenty steps from reception to the front door brings you to the stunning view of Windsor Castle on your doorstep.....WOW. All your needs are a stone throw away......honesty this is no hype, this truly was a trip of lifetime. My friends and I are planning a return trip in May 2013 and bring 10 more friends with us to experience what we experienced.....more than words can say. Thank you so much Macdonald Windsor for a "Simply" a unforgettable experience

Room Tip: We were situated on the 3rd floor and our room overlooked a courtyard.......very quiet and didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Audree D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, decor and location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just stayed at this hotel and it was a big success. I had arranged a private party to celebrate my wife's birthday consisting 15 adults and three young children. The main ingredient for the success is the hotel staff and the hotel managers. They were helpful, flexible, and efficient, and nothing was too much trouble. Without exception they all made a difference - the concierge, valet parking, reception, waiters, bar and cleaning staff, the Events team, and the managers, provided an amazing service. Every member of our family and friends would like to return to Windsor and they all said that they would definitely come back to this hotel. The hotel itself is immaculate. Good room sizes and in particular the Executive rooms and suites were very comfortable. The beds were very comfortable too, bed linen was squeaky clean as were the rooms and the bathrooms. Breakfast and dinner were all presented and cooked well and the quality of the menu is a high standard. Great weekend. Thank you to all at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear GrandandG

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your visit, in particular the service from the team, your bedrooms and the meals you experienced. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having booked an overnight stay as a birthday treat for my husband we arrived at our room to find two complimentary bottles of locally brewed beer in an ice bucket, a card wishing him a Happy Birthday and two boxed (and very delicious!) cupcakes, one with a candle in it. A very thoughtful touch and all from from a casual comment I made when reserving the room - impressive. Our feature room was outstanding...tastefully furnished and equipped with all that one could wish for; a speaker in the large en-suite to provide music to accompany/drown one's singing, a most invigorating shower in an immaculately clean bathroom. Robes and slippers were also provided and thankfully an umbrella! Front facing we had a great view of the street, The Guildhall and quirky Crooked House and any concerns as to street noise were unfounded, we slept exceedingly well in the large and comfortably firm bed. Our slumber having been aided and abetted by an excellent meal in the restaurant where the staff were attentive and the food delicious. Infact we found the staff in all areas of the hotel quietly efficient and helpful especially Stuart the Concierge who cheerfully brought our bag to the room and Gary, Front of House Manager, who guided us through the hotel to the underground car park (saving us the walk outside in torrential rain). The location and the high standards in all aspects of the hotel made this a most enjoyable...although too short, a stay. Although we do have one small negative comment to make...having listened to the music in the restaurant during dinner it would have been nice to have had a different selection playing at breakfast, or perhaps we are overly sensitive, personally we do not enjoy Jazz anytime of the day or night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear monty1951

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your room and the location.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from our second stay at this wonderful hotel and cannot praise the hotel and staff highly enough. The hotel rooms are spacious, very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast has been outstanding, likewise the food in the restaurant in the evening. This is a very busy hotel, but manages to maintain a relaxed atmosphere with a modern bar and lounge area. The staff, from the time we arrived were outstanding. I look forward to returning later in the year and will recommend this hotel over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear ctcant69

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your room, the food in the restaurant and general atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.