We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food / great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna - CLOSED

La Taverna
2 River Street, Windsor SL4 1QT, England
01753 863020
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food / great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Had a family meal here and the food was great and staff very helpuful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a lunch here on a wet afternoon and it was lovely to be welcomed out of the rain by such friendly staff. We had pasta, I had salmon cream, deliciously decadent and my daughter had spaghetti bolognese, her favourite and it did not disappoint. We had a nice bottle of reasonably priced wine, and started with olives and garlic bread. We didn't have a pudding as we were full up. The price for this was about £45 without a tip. Very pleasant atmosphere looking out onto the little square of restaurants and pubs, a great way to start our weekend in Windsor.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family run restaurant, great service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Following the reviews on TA, we took a look through the window during the daytime and didnt think the restaurant looked up to much, but thought we would go back in the evening. We were so glad we did, it was a Monday night and it was quite busy, the food was excellent and the waiting staff were very attentive. Would definitely recommend La Taverna.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service let down our visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Group of us went pre theatre and on arrival I was very hopeful but it was short lived. It took three a temps for the waiters to remember what we had all ordered. Some of us just had starters and mains and some had main plus dessert. This confused them and they initially said no to dessert. Very terse NO. When we complained they said OK but then the old man came bowling over and said just two desserts and not the strawberries! From the other reviews I guess this was a one off but for me I won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food - busy Italian, with very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I chose La Taverna to celebrate my father's birthday based on Trip Advisor reviews.

Good menu choice, excellent and friendly service (very attentive staff), flexible in adjusting some elements of the menu which was good to see (and welcomed by my mother!).

The restaurant was pretty much full, but the service didn't suffer.

Criticisms...perhaps a little pricey: 4 x people, 3 x courses, 1 x bottle of wine (£37) & 2 x aperitifs, overall came to £220 which included an automatic (albeit optional)12% service charge. The dessert trolley is maybe a little "1980's" - although that's probably being a bit too picky!

Would I go there again - probably.......if it were 15-20% cheaper, definitely.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.