We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parkie's pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belgian Arms

The Belgian Arms
Holyport Street | Holyport, Maidenhead SL6 2JR, England
+44 1628 634468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 111 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Price range: $2 - $2
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated in the pretty village of Holyport, set back from the green and overlooking the pond, The Belgian Arms is a favourite with locals and visitors to the area alike. We offer really tasty British food that's beautifully cooked, a great selection of wines and a really good pint. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and no one is standing on ceremony. The Belgian Arms is the ideal spot for meeting up with family and friends, an informal business lunch or dinner and simply having fun.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Parkie's pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Run by friends, now becoming more restaurant, quite expensive and a bit celebrity...however nice garden and pond in the pretty village of Holyport.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    62
    28
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hertfordshire snails al a Francais thoroughly enjoyed, and chicory, walnut, cheese, pear salad just for starters. Steamed juicy mussels, very yummy. Good selection of wines available in half carafe and quality coffee to finish. Service just right, thank you

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Belgian Arms is a delightful pub squirrelled away in cosy part of Holyport on the outskirts of Maidenhead. We stopped off there to have lunch not knowing what to expect as it had been many years since our last visit. Quite simply a superb lunch spent in a very nice atmosphere and we will definitely return to sample the evening menu. It was a special lunch and our only criticism was that no one asked us during or after our meal if everything was alright which was the only let down and in our books most important.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Classy decor, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been to the Belgian Arms on many family occasions and the service has always been efficient and friendly. The food is lovely and the new decor is very contemporary and relaxing. I would recommend this pub for it's chilled atmosphere and warm welcome.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First visit since takeover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit for a little while. We sat in the conservatory which looks great since the refurbishment. Two of us popped in for lunch. My friend had the burger and said it was great. Great thick burger, onion rings were skinny and delicious and the chips were great too. I'm vegetarian and was looking for something similar. The special of the day was a steak sandwich and there were no veggie equivalents. I asked if it was possible to have a vegetarian sandwich, maybe cheese, and was told no. It was a Wednesday and it wasn't quiet but not busy. I'd happily have paid the equivalent of the steak sandwich but the chef was asked and he said no! There was a cheese board so clearly they had cheese! I ordered the soup which was delicious as was the bread and croutons. I left though feeling disappointed with the vegetarian offerings and the lack of flexibility.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Belgian Arms also viewed

Holyport, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Holyport, Windsor and Maidenhead
Fifield, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Belgian Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belgian Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.